8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These mints are great! But of course it all depends on what sort of extract you use. They're basically butter mints. I melted the butter, then added the extract, then added some of the powdered sugar and some water, and from there treated it like making pie crust (make it into a coarse crumb mixture that is somewhat dry, then press together). Then I put the finished mint in a bowl of powdered sugar to help the outside dry out.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather Sullivan November 26, 2002

I made this in a pinch for my sister in law's baby shower. The only thing was when I made them the mint flavor was too much. I had to double the recipe and omit the additional mint to get the flavor we liked. However, they were delicous and a hit. For the last few mints (about 25) I added some chocolate flavoring for mint choc. taste--they were yummy and so simple to make!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shuey April 20, 2006

Just had to submit a 2nd review - I made these again using 1 teaspoon mint, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon butter extract, added a few drops red food coloring and used a teeny heart cookie cutter for Valentine's Day - THESE WERE FABULOUS!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker February 07, 2005

This is a great recipe! I had so much fun making these mints. Everyone loves them! I plan to make mints for years to come. Very easy to make. The thing that took the most time for me was shaping the mints :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sleepygrl December 22, 2004

Made these at christmastime and forgot to review! They are really neat little minty-melty things that are so easy to make. They really are just like those buttery dinner mints you see at restaurants sometimes. Terrific!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock March 12, 2004

I just finished making these, and they taste wonderful. I used 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, and 1 teaspoon of mint.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
89240 October 11, 2003

I made these for my co-workers and they all loved them. I made a thumb-sized hole in them and filled it with chocolate and it added a nice touch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loriebee December 27, 2002

These are great! I made two batches. One using my Home Brewed Vanilla (thank you, Renegade)for flavoring and the other using mint extract and adding a couple of drops of green food coloring. I did find that by adding liquid in very minute amounts and working it in completely gave a much creamier texture, so don't rush the mixing time. I left them out overnight to dry and into the freezer this morning for the holidays.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cloudtears November 28, 2002
Tingle Mints