20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent meatballs. I changed the sauce using beef broth with cream for added flavor. Also, I did not have heavy cream so I used evaporated milk (a bit less as substitute states). Turned out great and my husband loved this meal.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieCat March 18, 2002

These were pretty good. As in many other recipes, they lacked dill (an essential ingredient!) but overall tasted very similar to my family's recipe, if a little bland. When I reheated them, I added a teaspoon and a half of crushed dill to the sauce, simmered it for awhile, and it was divine!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abcdefg December 16, 2002

When we made these, I could barely save any for our dinner... everyone started picking out of the casserole before I could get the rest of it done!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spaceace July 23, 2002

These were very good! I did add 1 tsp. dill to the meat mixture. Also, I added nearly 1 cup of beef broth to the sauce in order to achieve desired consistency, which was still quite thick.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misfit February 03, 2003

It was OK.......a little on the bland side. I doubt I will make this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tsmith70 May 19, 2002

This recipe tasted exactly like my grandmother's Swedish Meatballs that she used to make when I was a little girl.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nkpappas March 14, 2002

The meatballs are great as is, but the sauce is very bland. I've made these twice, and I they've been good both baked and pan fried as suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicia250 October 08, 2011

My DH and I thought this was just okay. The meatballs had good flavor (I added dill as others suggested). However, neither of us cared for the sauce, which was barely even enough to cover all the meatballs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StarShackr October 06, 2008

These were great. Had a 1lb of gr. beef & 1/2 lb of gr.pork. Browned in the oven.Used dill & 1 cup of beef broth. You posted this in a thread on the day I was looking for meatballs. This is the answer to my dry meatballs!! Thanks Lennie will be making these often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit^..^ty Of Canada March 25, 2005

Foget the dill. I think they're perfect just the way they are. I don't fry them in a skillet. I simply place the sheet pan in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes and they turn out perfectly.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rakow February 08, 2005
Time/Life Swedish Meatballs