39 Reviews

I wanted to like this so badly, but it turned out bland. I followed the recipe exactly so I don't know what went wrong. I won't make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lincoln_rose March 15, 2010

Delish! I loved the flavors. I did add caramelized onions as a garnish

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christie Hadden January 27, 2010

love it!!!! will probably add some finely chopped caramelized onion next time. you do have to be very careful not to overheat it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brianak December 25, 2009

This recipe turned out to be wonderful. It was not grainy when cooked to the correct temperature and my family loved it! It is going into my cookbook for future use. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Preschool Mommy October 13, 2009

I'm sorry, we didn't care for this soup.... as many other reviews mentioned, it was very grainy. Me being the texture freak that I am, didn't care for that...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaddieLC January 15, 2009

Good stuff! This isn't the kind of soup that I could eat all of the time, but it was great for a change of pace. It had quite a kick with the pepper flakes. We enjoyed it served in a bread bowl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy December 07, 2008

Yummy! I just tried this and it turned out really well. I did not have Tillamook beer cheese soup so I used extra sharp cheddar. I did do 3 tablespoons on garlic....I sauted the garlic with the butter & flour (2 tablespoons) and then added one addl tablespoon while I heated the milk. I also added worshestchire (sp?) and skipped the flakes. I do not like anything but cheese in my soup (no veggies) This was a great soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hungrymom&dad November 22, 2008

We had great hopes for this soup, but to our way of thinking, it was only just so-so. We followed the recipe exactly, used Guinness beer, and Tillamook cheese. But it didn't have much taste. Our main problem was the garlic, which didn't get very cooked at all. I would certainly agree with one reviewer who sauteed it with the flour and butter. That should be part of the instructions, we think. I don't have any other ideas about how we would change this recipe, but I don't think we would make it again. The little bit of heat from the crushed pepper flakes was the only thing that made it interesting to us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisherself November 20, 2008

Excellent! I have tried beer cheese soups several times in restaurants only to be disappointed ...NEVER AGAIN! This recipe is everything I have ever expected from a beer cheese soup! The quality of the cheese really makes a difference so don't skimp on cheap cheese. I tossed chunks of stale sourdough bread into it and it was YUMMY. I like this type of soup nice and thick so I recommend using all of the Roux. I also sauteed the garlic in olive oil before adding it. Thanks Kristin!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JCK September 15, 2008

I followed the directions to the letter except I did not use Tillamook cheese - can't get it in my area. Therefore, I've decided not to give a rating. I found the soup to be grainy and I made sure not to let it boil, as other reviewers had mentioned. I also found the taste to be very bland. I wish I could give it a good review but we really disliked this soup and couldn't eat it. We ended up throwing it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northern Cook November 12, 2007
Tillamook Beer Cheese Soup