Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tile and Grout Cleaner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tile and Grout Cleaner

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2012

      I have a medium gray textured tile kitchen floor with a very light gray grout. Five years of grime, coffee, tea, etc. has left it pretty nasty looking. Found this recipe and thought I'd give it a try. And WOW! It not only works, but it works great! My floor now looks like it did when new. I submitted a picture of the floor half done to show the results. Hopefully it'll be approved and posted.
      Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Wow, I am stunned. Easy, inexpensive, and best of all - it works! I made 1/4 of a batch and put it in a well-rinsed Kaboom bottle. The Kaboom had never touched the soap scum, but this formula dissolved it in under a minute. I took a tip offered by another reviewer and added two drops of air freshener oil so the scent was pleasant. I'm never going back to those harsh chemicals that trigger my asthma and don't work well - this has just become *my* cleaner! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      A MILLION STARS - This is AWESOME! We are renting a house with old yucky kitchen tile. Throw in 2 yrs of living here with 3 kids and yucky grout!! I had tried a ton of products including an entire can of Scrubbing bubbles on just the grout and nothing even made a tiny dent. Now I have gone from black to white grout!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      I was skeptical, but not after I used the first batch!
      1. This is the best floor cleaner I've ever tried; by a mile!
      2. It got my stainless steel sinks absolutely gleaming with just a wipe
      3. It renewed (actually lightened and deep cleaned) the ancient faux marble vanity tops in the bathroom
      4. When I was done, I poured the bucket out in the toilet and it got that gleaming too!
      5. I think I love you for sharing this 'recipe' :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      100 stars. . .ummm, can you say LIFE SAVER. You all will not believe this, but my hubby uses a LOT of Dial soap and that grease/soap scum has been lingering in our shower downstairs for about 4 years now as I try EVERY cleaning product on the market. Today out of desperation (because we need to re-grout it), I tried this recipe and didn't have any ammonia, but thought I might as well give it a whirl. . .it WORKED!!!! I so wish I would have taken before and after photos. This is fabulous and I will be using this from now on. You seriously made my day!!!! THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe, my light grey grout looks like new. I used a small toothbrush type wire brush and just wiped up the dirty solution. The only drawback is if you have a glazed shiney tile, the baking soda leaves a white haze on it that needs to be rinsed off. Well worth the trouble.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      What surprised me about this homemade cleaner is that the ammonia smell didn't linger once wiped off with a damp towel. Most of the store bought cleaners have a heavy chemical smell that lingers. If you have grout that is white then this cleanser will be perfect because it tends to leave a white residue (this was after wiping 2-3x with a damp towel). I left the grout cleaner on for about 20 mins before scrubbing my tiled bathroom floor and shower. When my husband saw our shower he said, "Wow! This looks like a brand new shower!" The tile was sparkling, the grout whitened (it didn't get all of the stains) and the tub was clean. Good stuff! I used half of the recipe for our master bathroom shower and floor (with a good amount left over in the spray bottle).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2012

      This just did not work for me...I tried scubbing with a tooth brush after letting it sit for a couple of minutes and I only saw a small difference;(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      Excellent! My kitchen floor looks as good as new. For those who complained that it does not clean the grout. It did for me... with a little elbow grease. Yes, you have will to use a brush and scrub, but if you use the spray bottle and soak the grout really well and let it sit for a few minutes, you do not even have to scrub that hard. After this dried, it looked like it did when we first moved in.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      This worked just as well as any purchased brand cleaner. I did find that it wasn't as tough on the grout staining as I would have liked, will have to stick with bleach for that, but great on the tiles, shower & bath.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      I have light colored porcelain tiles and a light colored grout. The grout lines have become black. I used this cleaning formula with a steam vacuum I just purchased and had good results not much effort on my part. Mainly with the tile and grout recipe and steam vac. Did have to mop up afterwards to get the residue off the floor. Second thought, a little more effort on my part than previously stated. BUT good results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      Ammonia is a base, vinegar an acid. Mixing these yields salt water that's either mildly basic or acidic depending on the strength of the ammonia and vinegar you use, but not like ocean salt. The salt in this case is Ammonium Acetate. Don't worry, it's not too dangerous, (don't drink it, the effects are similar to drinking ammonia), it's a mild irritant, and some countries label it as a safe food additive in small amounts. However, if you heat it up, at 329 F it starts breaking down into a carcinogen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      This worked well cleaning my tile, but I am disappointed that it didn't clean the stains in my grout.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      Simple Green works way better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      OMG!! This stuff is amazing! I just cleaned the grout in the house we just moved in and I'm disgusted by how much dirt I got up off the floor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      This sounds amazing, but ammonia's too harsh for me. Does anyone know if you can replace it with hydrogen peroxide? I know you can use it in place of bleach for some cleaners, but I have no idea if it'll work as an ammonia replacement.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2013

      Clean tile and grout + seal as an owner/operator for over 13 years in Las Vegas, NV...Keep doing this to your floors, watch your grout disintegrate...There are safe/practical ways in cleaning your tile and grout back to near 100% when first laid...Call a Professional Tile and Grout Cleaning company today! Very effective and efficient...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

      I believe ammonia and vinegar can form a poisonous gas. Beware!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      This was amazing! My light green grout that had turned black was disgusting. Sprayed it on and let it sit for 10 minutes. Scrubbed the grout with on old tooth brush and used almost no "elbow grease" and the grout looks brand new! Going to try it on my shower grout next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2012

      This worked super well on the kitchen floor (have submitted a before and after photo - bit embarrassing how dirty the grout had become. Yuk!) Left it to work for 15 mins and then scrubbed with a toothbrush. Fantastic recipe although didn't find it as successful on bathroom wall tiles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tile and Grout Cleaner

    Serving Size: 1 (1864 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3613.0 mg
    150%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites