11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Update: We have this recipe at least twice every month. It is wonderful. I serve it with pasta Aoli. This recipe is outstanding if you like Bagna Cauda. This is very quick and the flavor is awesome. I served it with steamed broccoli and ciabatta bread Ciabatta (Italian Slipper Bread) to get all the juices. I did substitute lemon juice for the orange juice. You must try this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound July 16, 2009

All of the prior reviews here are correct. Heavenly is right! Yes, you cannot tell, so, if you are an anchovy avoider, do not leave them out. Made half the fish but the same amount of sauce but used extra anchovy fillets. I agree that would not be enough sauce for 6 fillets. Double it if you are making that many,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lorendajames@aol.com February 20, 2014

Simply delicious, light and healthy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MurphyGirl January 01, 2011

Out of this world delicious! This will be in regular rotation in our dinner menu at home! A word about anyone who is hesitant to use anchovy (filets or paste) I have found that many people who say that they don't like anchovy-really don't. But I have also found it's because they have eaten dishes where too much was used or an actual fillet made it's way into their mouth. No, No! Use it as a seasoning. The richness and depth anchovy used as a seasoning bring to a dish is indescribable. Yum...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katrosado5 November 20, 2009

This was delicious! But, I wish I had paid attention to the other reviews - there was not nearly enough sauce. Also, the directions were not clear on how to "fry" the fish - 2tsp for 4 large fillets wasn't enough. By the time I was done pan-frying these, I had probably used about 1/4 cup of oil and they still stuck to the pan, so I recommend a non-stick skillet for this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply October 22, 2008

Very good!! I doubled the lemon zest because I didn't have an orange and increased the OJ by about 1-2 tbs. but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and served it with brown rice. Definitely increase the amount of sauce if you are making 6 fillets. The anchovies are what make the sauce..don't omit them! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn July 17, 2007

Tried this and it is superb! Don't be scared away by the anchovies, you wouldn't even guess that they're there from the taste.Gives a great flavor to a slightly bland fish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laury2000 May 26, 2006

Delicious - a great recipe. I omitted the anchovies since I didn't have them on hand. But next time I think I would add a little more orange juice. Thanks for posting, Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainiac October 01, 2005

Although this was my first experience with Tilapia & my first experience with Bagna Cauda, it will definitely not be my last - it WAS heavenly! I included the anchovies & used fresh-from-the-garden lemon basil leaves. I cooked 4 smallish fillets for the 2 of us but maintained the full amounts for the sauce which was absolutely delicious on plain, steamed white rice. Thanx for this winning recipe Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady August 04, 2005

I love this recipe. I was hesitant about the anchovies (I had never had bagna cauda before). But this was amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Staceyy July 20, 2005
Tilapia W/ Citrus Bagna Cauda