Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Tilapia in Mustard Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Tilapia in Mustard Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2006

      I made this using a mess of bluegill filets from fish my husband and I caught last month. Since my filet were so thin, I cut down the cooking time in step 3 to about 30-45 seconds and added the mushrooms at that time. When I removed the fish in step 7, I left the mushrooms in the pan, then added the cream and mustard, brought to a simmer and added two handfuls of fresh spinach and let it cook down a bit. It got wonderfully thick and delicious. Oh, and I used soy milk, just because that's all I had in the house! The sauce was wonderful and perfect served over our bluegill filets. I served this with green beans and pasta. My husband and I loved it, I'll certainly be making this again (I have 5 more pounds of bluegill filets in my freezer!). Thanks SkinnyMinnie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      Delish! Used soy milk and just a splash of half and half, so it needed a little tapioca flour to thicken. I threw in some spinach and used less Dijon. I love recipes like this that can be altered some and still taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

    • on October 11, 2011

      The sauce in this dish was very good. It even retained some of the fish flavor (but not too much!) from the pan. That said, however, I felt the mustard over powered the tilapia. I would prefer this sauce over chicken or pork.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Pretty good! Think I will lesson the amount of dijon slightly next time as it was overpowering and since I used fat free half and half in place of the whipping cream, will consider substituting a little ff sour cream or adding a little cornstarch to thicken. Served it on top of linguine and spinach sauteed with garlic and tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      I didn't enjoy this dish. I really like the individual ingredients, but combined it didn't work for me. I felt the sauce really brought out the "fishy" taste. And my husband compared eating the mushrooms to eating slugs. Sorry, I won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      I didn't care for this at all! Sorry. I followed the recipe exactly, but did add spinach. I didn't think the sauce was anythig special and I didn't even want finish my dinner. I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      This sauce is great! I made a double batch of the sauce because I used smaller tilapia filets that added up to the recommended 24oz. I figured I had more surface area to cover. I did the portabello mushroom and also added some frozen spinach. I also used fat-free creamer instead of whipping cream. It's so good with the ff creamer I can't IMAGINE how good it is with the real stuff! Next, I can't wait to try this sauce on chicken! Thanks!! I want to add that I think next time I will bake the filets while I make the sauce, to save on time and also because the flipping and in-and-out of the pan action took its toll on my tilapia and it was in pieces by the time the dish was done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      This is one of the best sauces ! I joined recipezaar just to write a review about this one. I didnt use any ginger but the flavor was still wonderful. I used a bit more cream, mushrooms, and spinach and it turned out perfect. I dont even like tilapia but my boyfriend and I ate all of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      This was very tasty and I am sure that we will use the same sauce technique over chicken some time. I went overboard on the portabellos, as DH likes them and I think for me, it took away from the dish, so next time I will stick to the recipe fully, because I know it's a winner. Also---- for calorie counters- I used light cream, and it was still really wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      We enjoyed it but it wasn't as good as I was expecting from the reviews. Cooked as directed, except added a little more cream per BF request and used canned mushrooms and some pimentos along with a little frozen baby spinach for presentation. Served over thin spaghetti with a side of the remaining frozen spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      The mustard sauce was wonderful! I used more mushrooms, added spinach, and used half the broth and compensated with half sherry. I also used fat-free half-and-half, since I am watching my calories. I really enjoyed this eye-pleasing and wonderfully tasting dish. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

    • on June 15, 2007

    • on June 03, 2007

    • on January 24, 2007

      I made this last night and I am soooooo thankful I found this recipe! I want to make it again tonight! I used fat free half&half (dietary reasons) and it was fine. I doubled the mushrooms, so I took the fish out before adding the mushrooms, and then I let the sauce reduce a little too and it became nice and thick. (added the fish back in to heat through). Next time I would add a dash of cooking sherry to the sauce. Thanks for a great recipe! This would be great with chicken and pork tenderloin too! I'll try that next!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Made this tonight- very good. Added some red bell pepper for color- served over wild rice. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      Oh my! This was to die for! I loved sopping up the sauch with my french bread too. :) Excellent way to cook Tilapia and side sauce. YUMMY! I used dried herbs, still delicious, and I used portobello style canned Shiitake mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      Great sauce!!! Used whole milk and it still turned out great. Definitely want to try out the suce with other meats...maybe pork chops?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      Way too easy to be this good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Tilapia in Mustard Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (238 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.9
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    27%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 95.3 mg
    31%
    Sodium 462.4 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.2 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 35.7 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites