24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this using a mess of bluegill filets from fish my husband and I caught last month. Since my filet were so thin, I cut down the cooking time in step 3 to about 30-45 seconds and added the mushrooms at that time. When I removed the fish in step 7, I left the mushrooms in the pan, then added the cream and mustard, brought to a simmer and added two handfuls of fresh spinach and let it cook down a bit. It got wonderfully thick and delicious. Oh, and I used soy milk, just because that's all I had in the house! The sauce was wonderful and perfect served over our bluegill filets. I served this with green beans and pasta. My husband and I loved it, I'll certainly be making this again (I have 5 more pounds of bluegill filets in my freezer!). Thanks SkinnyMinnie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude November 02, 2006

Delish! Used soy milk and just a splash of half and half, so it needed a little tapioca flour to thicken. I threw in some spinach and used less Dijon. I love recipes like this that can be altered some and still taste great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcrozier May 26, 2013

The sauce in this dish was very good. It even retained some of the fish flavor (but not too much!) from the pan. That said, however, I felt the mustard over powered the tilapia. I would prefer this sauce over chicken or pork.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GirlyJu October 11, 2011

Pretty good! Think I will lesson the amount of dijon slightly next time as it was overpowering and since I used fat free half and half in place of the whipping cream, will consider substituting a little ff sour cream or adding a little cornstarch to thicken. Served it on top of linguine and spinach sauteed with garlic and tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bzsoccermom June 12, 2009

I didn't enjoy this dish. I really like the individual ingredients, but combined it didn't work for me. I felt the sauce really brought out the "fishy" taste. And my husband compared eating the mushrooms to eating slugs. Sorry, I won't make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 November 19, 2008

I didn't care for this at all! Sorry. I followed the recipe exactly, but did add spinach. I didn't think the sauce was anythig special and I didn't even want finish my dinner. I won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ELS June 03, 2008

This sauce is great! I made a double batch of the sauce because I used smaller tilapia filets that added up to the recommended 24oz. I figured I had more surface area to cover. I did the portabello mushroom and also added some frozen spinach. I also used fat-free creamer instead of whipping cream. It's so good with the ff creamer I can't IMAGINE how good it is with the real stuff! Next, I can't wait to try this sauce on chicken! Thanks!! I want to add that I think next time I will bake the filets while I make the sauce, to save on time and also because the flipping and in-and-out of the pan action took its toll on my tilapia and it was in pieces by the time the dish was done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa and Her Pants May 05, 2008

This is one of the best sauces ! I joined recipezaar just to write a review about this one. I didnt use any ginger but the flavor was still wonderful. I used a bit more cream, mushrooms, and spinach and it turned out perfect. I dont even like tilapia but my boyfriend and I ate all of it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinkhazel456 March 26, 2008

This was very tasty and I am sure that we will use the same sauce technique over chicken some time. I went overboard on the portabellos, as DH likes them and I think for me, it took away from the dish, so next time I will stick to the recipe fully, because I know it's a winner. Also---- for calorie counters- I used light cream, and it was still really wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsMM December 13, 2007
Tilapia in Mustard Cream Sauce