137 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good recipe, and very tasty. The tilapia itself is a softer fish, so if it's baked just long enough, the batter gives it a slight crust. I don't mind spicy foods at all, but thought it was going to be too spicy for my wife as written. However, I went ahead and made it to recipe anyway, and it turned out fine.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jon Edwards December 15, 2002

Great recipe, my family loved it! I melted the butter in a pan, added the lemon then sprinkled with the spices, and baked it in the butter .. prep time was less than 5 minutes ..

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa July 09, 2002

This is very similar to the spices I use when blackening fish, without all the fuss, mess and smoke in the kitchen! We like spicy, and this was. I made the recipe as written, and it turned out very good. I think next time though,I will drizzle a little of the melted butter/lemon over the fillets before cooking, as the thinner parts of the fish came out just a tad dry. Very good none the less. It was quick an easy. I served it with a spicy rice and beans dish and sauteed zucchini, onions and tomatoes. Next time I'll make some cornbread too!Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ronamay May 08, 2003

Huge hit at our house! Hubby, 14 yr old, 3 yr old, and neighbors LOVED this fish! I tripled the recipe and cut back on the cayenne and chili powder since we had young ones eating it and I am not into too much heat. It had a kick and was fantastic. I should mention I have been a vegetarian since I was four and am just trying to eat fish now...I ate a whole fillet! Great flavor.
Made with the saffron couscous with herbs, and broccoli like a previous poster suggested and the outcome was wonderful!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SimplyStacey April 21, 2011

Made this for Zaar Cookbook Tag and I'm glad I did! I followed the directions except for adding some parmesan cheese to the bread crumb mixture and adding some garlic powder to the herb mixture (we love garlic) and using all the lemon/butter mixture to the pan when cooking the fish like a previous reviewer did. Served with Saffron Couscous with Herbs #428285 and broccoli. Definately a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf January 26, 2011

I doctored this recipe a little bit, but ended up with excellent results. I used blue snapper fillets, then I went ahead and combined all of the remaining ingredients, but I reduced the chili powder in half. Then I poured everything over the fish and "marinated" it in the fridge for about an hour. Then I just baked it with the butter sauce according to the recipe. I will be making this again for sure. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp March 28, 2010

Great recipe! I made a few small changes -- added adobo, parmesan cheese, and bread crumbs to mixture. Brushed butter on fish intead and added olive oil to spice mixture with lemon juice until it was a bit pastey but not too thick. I then brushed the mixture on the fish, baked per recipe, AND then broiled for 2 minutes. It was DELICIOUS! The best fish I have ever had, in fact. - Chickalicious

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chickalicious_NYC February 13, 2009

Super Easy! Gives fish, like tilapia, with not a lot of flavor a spicy burst! My husband loved it! Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
garner898 November 15, 2002

Great recipe! Very flavorful. I served this with white sticky rice and asparagus.. It was a delicious meal! Can't wait to make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ladybug II April 16, 2002

Turned out great. I did not alter anything. Thanks Julie !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GBowling_USA March 01, 2002
Tilapia