47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was very good. I used a little less cajun seasoning because my boyfriend doesn't like spicy food. I also didnt have onion flakes so I minced some fresh onion

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mpumphrey1 December 23, 2009

i hesitate to write reviews when i don't follow the recipe to a T but still this was good. I also used old bay instead of cajun seasoning as that's what i have on hand. this was great and simple because it uses what you already have around. i may even try this with fresh ingredients. i can imagine it would be even better.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calla Flower September 16, 2009

Terrific taste. I usually apply the seasonings directly on the fish but this recipe's method of adding the seasonings to the melted butter with olive oil worked out great. After I removed the cooked fish, I had some extra 'sauce' in the pan so I grilled a piece of bread in the sauce. Yum!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon July 11, 2012

Wow, this was unbelievably good. I served it with Field Peas and Corn. It was so simple and easy and yet one of the best fish recipes I have had in a long time. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler July 10, 2012

My entire family really enjoyed this recipe. I'm not too big on spicy foods but this was just spicy enough that I liked it but not too spicy that my mouth was on fire. My husband and son agreed that this was their new favorite fish recipe. My 18 month-old also ate a bunch of it. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used the Tony Chachere's brand Creole seasoning since I didn't have any Cajun seasoning on hand (and we ALWAYS have Tony's in the fridge) and I wound up adding about 1/4 tsp lemon pepper seasoning to the dry mix. I cooked six pieces of fish in my large electric skillet at 350 for three minutes per side and it came out perfect. The edges even got a little crispy and delicious. I served it over jambalaya (prepared with pinto beans and corn) and squeezed a little bit of lemon juice on it before I served it. The jambalaya took longer to cook than it took me to thaw, prep and cook the fish! Thank you for posting such a quick and delicious recipe. I will absolutely make this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSU Lioness December 21, 2011

I mixed all the seasonings together and applied to the tilapia then browned in a pan. It was perfect! We don't like the taste of fish and this covered up that fishy taste. Will be making this one again. I even left off the butter and it was still delicious. (Trying to cut down on fat). Thanks for finding a way for us to eat more fish!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty September 13, 2011

This is fantastic! Like someone else I used Old Bay seasoning for the cajun seasoning, and it was very tasty. I added some boiled baby potatoes to the pan with the spice and cooked them for a few minutes before taking them out and adding the fish. It was nice for that too, and really tied to meal together. I'll be using this again for chicken too. Can't recommend it highly enough. Well deserves all the stars!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Britican August 27, 2011

This is the best tilapia recipe I've tried, and I've tried a few. It's EASY, uses the stuff you have, and even if you don't have it all, use as much as you can and it still comes out delicious. Love it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tm81663 June 22, 2011

I have made this three times now and it is absolutely delicious! Tilapia can be very boring as it does not have much fat however the mixture of spices, oil and butter really make it tasty! I used a basil paste instead of chopping the basil which helped with the flavor. I didn't measure the spices; more just added to taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YummyNina March 22, 2011

This was absolutely delicious! I cooked exactly as instructed and wouldn't change a thing. It was perfect!! It's been added to my cookbook and I will, without a doubt, be making it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa1764 March 21, 2011
Tilapia