12 Reviews

I made this one for my party and everyone had compliments for it. It's pretty easy to make as well. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie Tolzien October 23, 2002

This is a great dip! So easy to make. I served it this afternoon when I had some of the girls over...they LOVED it!!! The next time I make it, I'm going to fill Tostitos Scoops as you suggested which will make a nice presentation. Thanks for sharing this recipe. :-)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merlot August 12, 2002

really enjoyed this recipe... will use this one again..

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podapo December 28, 2002

This is one of the most offensive names I've seen referring to Mexican or Mexican-inspired food. How could this website even allow such a thing? You are equating a people's food and culture with feces. I'm sure most of the reviews and the author herself is white. Please take this recipe down or at the very least change its name.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous October 01, 2015

What a great dip! I made some changes. I didn't have any green chilies so I substituted salsa. I think this addition made a big improvement because the end result was more dip like, it wasn't too thick. Instead of using hot sauce, I used some mild taco sauce. The dip reminded me of a Burrito Supreme from Taco Bell. I think the dip as I made it would be perfect if I put it in the oven topped with cheese for about 15 minutes, and then topped it with green onions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
butter69 November 14, 2013

I made this awhile ago for a Mexican ethnic night (appetizer). It was gobbled up quickly and I received several good comments on it. I find this dish quite addicting. It's also simple to make and easy to bring to parties. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 April 21, 2009

This was a great casual dip for my Super Bowl gathering. Friends aren't crazy about overly spicy things, so I subbed some of my home-canned mild salsa for the hot sauce. I did add the entire can of diced green chilies, though. The sour cream really brings the flavors together and finishes the dip. We served with corn chips, but plan on spreading the few leftovers into flour tortillas to make burritos. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. February 07, 2006

Excellent! I also layered the refried beans on the bottom and put the mixture on top. It's very delicious & definately party material.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wise Rita September 24, 2005

I can't say I loved this recipe, but my kids and their friends raved about it and ask for it frequently. On the plus side, it's easy and cheap, and I love the name. On the minus side, it can't possibly be good for you. I'm giving it 5 stars because of the reaction of my "audience."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windhorse23 April 29, 2005

Great dip! I added some chopped tomatoes on top and their sweetness really seemed to enhance the other flavors. My only problem was that the directions don't state when to add the refried beans...? I cooked them and then spread them across the bottom of the pan and added the mixed ingredients on top. Delicious - thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mermaid May 07, 2004
Tijuana Poo (mexican dip)