18 Reviews

I have been making this for years, and it is a great "give-away." We call it Tiger Butter Bark, I don't know why. It is one of my favorites, the right blend of peanut butter I guess. Looks like something you've spent a lot of time on, but is so simple to make.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbasol October 28, 2002

The whole family loved this! I made this for Christmas. I used a pound of milk chocolate chips, and a bar of white chocolate. The flavor was that of a Reese cup. If you love peanut butter and chocolate, you should try this. Yummy!! SilentCricket we are still enjoying your recipes, thank you.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Paula January 15, 2010

This is great!! I halved the recipe and used an 11x7 pan, which was perfect. I did use semi-sweet chocolate instead of milk and I think it helped temper the sweetness of the white choc/pb combo. Will definitely make again (and again!)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 July 12, 2009

Really great tasting candy! Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get the tiger striped look with the fork. It just ended up looking like a bottom layer of milk chocolate & a top layer of pb white chocolate. It was also really difficult to cut because the top layer was softening so quickly. It also got really soft on the Christmas Eve buffet at room temperature.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb December 26, 2006

I made this for my husband, and he gives it five stars. By the way, I added toffee bits in between the layers and it is good, but I will make it again without them since the toffee made the finished product so very crispy/crunchy. I guess it just depends on what texture you are craving, eh? Anyway, I didn't use a double boiler to melt my chocolate (hardly ever do), I just nuke it for 1 minute and then 10 seconds thereafter, stirring well each time until melted. Less mess and quicker for me to clean up after. We ended up paying about 10.00 with taxes for all the ingredients because my husband wanted real white chocolate and not almond bark...so MY humble opinion is that it is very good, but for a price. Is it worth it? My husband thinks so. Thanks so much for this recipe and I will be sure to put this in my 'Tried and True' recipe book.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Dalton July 01, 2005

I love the name of this butter.This is really yummy! I gave this this year to my Best Friends' on Best Friends' day (June 8th)and they really loved it. Thank you for sharing. A real keeper! Update: I made this again today and it was gone sooo quick! I guess it gives you the appetite of a hungry tiger;)!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani June 18, 2003

Of all the tiger butter recipes, I chose this one because it called for milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet, and a whole pound of it instead of 8 oz. (or less). The increased amount of chocolate is necessary because of the 1 cup of peanut butter, which softens the white chocolate mix quite a bit. The flavor a lot like a peanut butter cup, but smooth and creamy throughout. It softens fairly quickly at room temperature (upper 70's with the A/C on) so I keep them in the fridge. I made these so I could play around with some chocolate molds I bought, and had fun trying to keep the "tiger striping" visible in the candies. Great recipe - thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chilicat April 24, 2011

The best! Will treasure this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia Bella December 21, 2007

My son's friends like it so much that I gave containers of it to their families for Christmas (with the recipe of course).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen McGee March 27, 2007

Just like I remembered it. I used to pay 75 cents a piece for this at our local bakery. Wow so easy, beautiful and easy. Thanks so much for sharing. Jenn

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenn December 21, 2004
Tiger Butter