14 Reviews

Easy to make with wonderful flavor - such good flavor that no salt,pepper or other seasonings are needed. I used Jarlsberg cheese with the egg, and put whole wheat toast on the side. A non-stick skillet is essential. Thank you, Tia, for such a fresh, healthy new way to prepare eggs. I look forward to making this with other cheeses as well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Northwest Lynnie April 02, 2004

I've had my eye on this recipe for a few days now, but was really skeptical to try it. But, I gave it a shot this morning. A nonstick pan is ESSENTIAL for this to work. The cheese and water seemed really weird while they were cooking but I kept on going. I added the egg, and started scrambling. As the egg started to set, it seemed weird. And it was bubbling, like cooking cheese! I was starting to wonder if this was going to end up being a flop, all the protein from the eggs and cheese seemed to be squeezing water out. BUT LO! I put the eggs (still kinda.....fluid like) on top of an english muffin I had toasted and buttered, and they began to set up! So a little black pepper goes on top along with a dash or two of Tabasco, and breakfast is served

I just finished the last bite, and though it was good, I'm still not sure if I'm 100% sold on this recipe. The eggs were definitely cheesy (I used Tillamook Cheddar), and I really enjoyed that, but I'm not sure about the texture. They weren't rubbery, but definitely more firm than your typical scrambled egg. I'll have to update once I try them again, perhaps minus the bread, that way I can get a better feel for the texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayori September 09, 2011

Super easy-really good tasting!! I made a "newbie" mistake of adding the water to a VERY hot skillet and it all boiled out before I could add the cheese! LOL! I figured it out and the results were tasty! Thanks for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bgdawg995 July 27, 2007

This was very yummy! We all liked it...me, kids, husband...it's a winner! I love how quick it is. I'm a teacher so school day mornings are rushed at our house with both me and the kids getting ready which usually means quick breakfast. This will be great this fall for those times! I think next time I make it I'll add some crisp crumbled bacon, onions and maybe some garlic. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teachermomkim July 14, 2007

Made this the other morning for breakfst and was pleasantly surprised. This is a nice change from regular scrambled eggs. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susiehomemaker March 07, 2007

This was very easy to make. We enjoyed it. Thanks Gina*S Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle May 17, 2006

I too wondered about using water but it really works :) I used a mix of Edam Cheese and Parmesan Cheese. Served sprinkled with a little chopped parsley on top and sliced tomatoes. Yummy for our quick light tea (supper). Thanks for this keeper :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T February 11, 2006

This is a very quick & simple dish that can be thrown together in minutes, so is great for a filling and relatively healthy snack when you're in a hurry. I suspect that the flavour depends a lot on the cheese you use; I expect it would be a bit bland if you used a very mild tasting cheese. I used mature cheddar and it was very tasty. I did grind on a little black pepper, just because I like it with this sort of thing, but I think it would have still been tasty with no seasoning (it definately doesn't need salt if you use tasty cheese). The kids both enjoyed it, despite the fact that my daughter is sometimes not keen on eggy things.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Dipsy October 19, 2005

I got to say that I was looking over the reviews this morning and came across this recipe and wanted to give it a try. The photo grabbed my attention along with the reviews and than I noticed the ingredients. When I saw water I was a bit nervous but honestly it works most excellent. I usually use butter but now I see I don't need butter anymore. This is so delicious and quick to make. Thanks for sharing this amazing recipe! Its a keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha D. May 17, 2005

Thank you for posting this, GinaS...I'm sorry that my kids are just too picky...They didn't care for the bland taste, although I think it may be because I made it with plain white bread...Perhaps I didn't cook it long enough, but the kids complained about it being to "plain and runny"...so I tend to blame me, but I'll try it again because it is a really easy breakfast recipe, and thank you again! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stacky5 May 17, 2005
Tia's Favorite Toast