44 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We just finished dinner 15 minutes ago and I had to get on the computer right away to let you know this was absolutely WONDERFUL!!!! We used about 2.5 pounds of chuck, cut into chunks. We browned the meat first, before putting everything in the crockpot, which we then turned on high for 3 hours. I had my doubts about something so simple tasting special, but it sure does! I served this on mashed potatoes made with a little sour cream. NO leftovers, except sauce, which we are keeping to make a little stew with carrots and potatoes tomorrow. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe. It's going to be made many, many more times in our home.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quokkagirl April 21, 2003

Very good and easy to do. Added garlic, onion, and mushrooms and had a hearty meal! Thanks for the great recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee in WI May 14, 2003

We used a 3.5 pound 7 bone chuck, and it was really good. I think next time I will add a few mushrooms (or use a mushroom brown gravy) and a little italian seasoning, but the neighbors appreciated the smell just the way it was :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwirlyGirl May 17, 2003

Do I love easy & delicious recipes, or what?! For using only four ingredients, this was excellent. I decided to make this last minute so I pulled a (yup) frozen roast out (ok - it was a *small* roast!) and tossed it in the crockpot first, set it on high to let the meat thaw. Then I added the other ingredients, set pot to low, and let cook for 8 hours. Served with mashed potatoes and string beans - yum! Already have given the recipe out - it's a keeper!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee April 23, 2003

this was really good and so simple. i did add some potatoes. we loved it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeahG July 23, 2003

Great recipe - we loved it. I used apple cider instead of apple juice. Yummm.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Eric on the Side November 27, 2009

Wow--I was shocked at how tasty this was. I was worried that my husband would be able to detect the apple juice taste & veto this dish, but he loved it. The picky kids too. My only complaint is that a 2-lb roast wasn't enough! This is definitely my new standard for slow cooker beef roast!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gatorchef July 22, 2009

This was a good recipe, but I didn't think it tasted all that much different from any other roast recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise Nachtigal June 02, 2003

This is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
graymojocat March 05, 2012

Very Good ,But seared mine first .:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
golddigge-wally July 30, 2011
ThunderBird Roast