Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / ThunderBird Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    ThunderBird Roast

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2003

      We just finished dinner 15 minutes ago and I had to get on the computer right away to let you know this was absolutely WONDERFUL!!!! We used about 2.5 pounds of chuck, cut into chunks. We browned the meat first, before putting everything in the crockpot, which we then turned on high for 3 hours. I had my doubts about something so simple tasting special, but it sure does! I served this on mashed potatoes made with a little sour cream. NO leftovers, except sauce, which we are keeping to make a little stew with carrots and potatoes tomorrow. Thank you, thank you, thank you for this recipe. It's going to be made many, many more times in our home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2003

      Very good and easy to do. Added garlic, onion, and mushrooms and had a hearty meal! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      We used a 3.5 pound 7 bone chuck, and it was really good. I think next time I will add a few mushrooms (or use a mushroom brown gravy) and a little italian seasoning, but the neighbors appreciated the smell just the way it was :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2003

      Do I love easy & delicious recipes, or what?! For using only four ingredients, this was excellent. I decided to make this last minute so I pulled a (yup) frozen roast out (ok - it was a *small* roast!) and tossed it in the crockpot first, set it on high to let the meat thaw. Then I added the other ingredients, set pot to low, and let cook for 8 hours. Served with mashed potatoes and string beans - yum! Already have given the recipe out - it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

      this was really good and so simple. i did add some potatoes. we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Great recipe - we loved it. I used apple cider instead of apple juice. Yummm.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      Wow--I was shocked at how tasty this was. I was worried that my husband would be able to detect the apple juice taste & veto this dish, but he loved it. The picky kids too. My only complaint is that a 2-lb roast wasn't enough! This is definitely my new standard for slow cooker beef roast!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      This was a good recipe, but I didn't think it tasted all that much different from any other roast recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      Very Good ,But seared mine first .:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Very moist, makes a lot of gravy and smells as good as it tastes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      I made this recipe to have for dinner with my son. We both agreed it was too sweet for us. Next time I will leave out the Apple Juice. Just not for us! Thank you for sharing your recipe though. Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      I made the oven version. So easy and delicious! I added quartered potatoes and baby carrots, and within an hour the smell was wonderful. In 2 1/2 hrs, dinner was ready and it was tender and tasty for a cheap little roast! The gravy was fantastic too. I bought 2 roasts (buy one - get one free sale) so I will be making this again! Thanks for posting a keeper Ang! Made for Harvest Moon Apple Festival.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      I liked it ok, but it was a tad sweet for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2009

      Delicicious and so easy! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      turned out great...will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      What an interesting combination of spices. Who would have thought apple juice in a beef roast! This turned out really nice. I did brown the roast first with a bit of a mixed medley pepper and a light sprinkle of sea salt and added onion and celery to the crock pot. Thank you for such a tasty dish - I'm sure we will be having this regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Ang, this recipe certainly deserves more than 5 STARS. I can't believe how good it was. I mixed a bit of cornstarch and water together, and then added it to the liquid/pan juices to make a gravy. The gravy was absolutely superb! I made this with a (4 lb. 4 oz.) ham roast (bone-in) and mixed together, 2 pkgs. of the brown gravy, 2 pkgs. of the dry onion soup mix, and added 3 cups of apple juice. Poured it over the roast, and cooked it in the oven for 3 hrs. & 50 minutes. I had enough gravy and meat leftover, so I cut the meat into small pieces and mixed it in with the gravy, and plan on reheating it for tomorrows dinner (serving it in between hamburger buns). Thank you Ang for posting this recipe. It's a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Delicious and simple. A keeper for when I don't want to fuss.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I loved this, I think the apple juice gives it a great kick, I will be making again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for ThunderBird Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (221 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 400.5
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    32%
    Total Fat 14.4 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.3 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 149.8 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1014.0 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 49.1 g
    98%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes