15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is what we call a basic pecan pie in KY. To really spiffy it up add a little bourbon and some chocolate chips. yummy

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KyJo September 12, 2002

The pecans tasted noticeably buttery (I made sure they were well-coated with butter before adding to the syrup mixture) and the pie as a whole is a bit less sweet than most. In other words...PERFECTION!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef cmpinco December 26, 2009

Ok so this tasted great! My only recommendation would be to bake the crust only for 3 min, take it out and then pour the batter in. Otherwise, it will seep through the crust and well there won't be much of a crust. Also, do not forget to put a cookie sheet on the bottom because it oozes out. Don't fret if it's done and the center is still a tad liquidy as it cools it hardens. It's best to cook it the night before you eat it. Do not be in a rush to eat this, it needs to set for several hours, until completely cooled.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Veganista November 18, 2009

Great recipe! One of the prettiest pies I have ever baked. Not too sweet and a good consistency. It took the 50 minutes in my oven. I covered the crust with foil until the last 20 minutes. It then had a nice browned crust, not burnt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca C. November 29, 2008

I just made this recipe for Thanksgiving and found it very easy to follow and make.It got rave reviews at the table and had everyone fighting over who got the leftovers.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veruca salt November 28, 2003

This was my first attempt at pecan pie. We have a friend who owns a pecan orchard, so we had top quality goods to work with. i increased the nut content to 2 cups. It was absolutely incredible! Thank you, Bergy for the perfect end to our Thanksgiving dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Emstar December 10, 2009

One word describes this pie....DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrbennett May 15, 2009

This is how a pecan pie should be! I made it for a charity silent pie auction and the couple that bid and won it called me the next day to tell me how WONDERFUL it was! They are now convinced that I am the "Pie Queen" in Crested Butte, Colorado! Thanks for posting this, Bergy, and for making me look so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leslie in Texas February 13, 2008

We liked this at the Thanksgiving table.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe November 23, 2007

This is a wonderful pecan pie recipe. I made it today for our early Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it. I, infact, am having trouble not getting into the leftover pie right now! Thanks for the post Bergy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MiaJean November 18, 2007
Thunder Thigh Pecan Pie