18 Reviews

Every once in awhile I snoop around to see what new recipes reviewer Gerry has tried. If they get her okay, then I know they're good. This was no exception--first off, it came out of the oven looking picture-perfect. I could tell by my husband's face this was his kind of meal. He ate two helpings with clear instructions to SAVE leftovers. Getting any reaction out of this food-insensitive man is alone worth five stars! Thank you for sharing an easy to prepare meal that has that old-fashioned look and comfort food appeal.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers April 26, 2011

Great oven fried chicken with all the fixings!!! I made this using 4 chicken breasts. After reading the reviews, I made the dressing different, by first cooking the onions and I added sliced celery, in the 1/2 cup butter. I then added salt, pepper and sage to the bread cubes and added them into the pan with the veggies and to lighten up the dressing, I used some chicken broth as the binder and baked it in a separate dish. I followed the directions for the chicken and gravy as written. My whole family really enjoyed this for a wonderful dinner!!! Thanks for sharing your recipe BK!!! Made for Went to the Market Tag Game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 April 15, 2011

WINNER! Not much I can add - Andi, FT and the previous five star reviewers about said it all! The chicken so wonderfully tender and moist, the chicken and dressing delicious. Easy to make and has that old fashioned taste only those grandma dishes seem to have. Seems like comfort food but company worthy fare for sure. Can't beat those old fashioned recipes! Thank you for sharing - another Baby Kato recipe to my Family Favourites.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry April 08, 2011

This is excellent chicken and was extraordinary for us on the farm. As FT commented, this was picked up faster then a butter to milk. I used a whole pack of chicken, bone in, and skin on. (Had a great $$ deal on this pack!) so I just did as suggested in the recipe, but browned in electric skillet until the chicken was almost done. Popped in the oven for the last 15 minutes, on top of the dressing and what came out was so delicious! Served with fresh spinach, and the gravy on the side. Just delicious, Baby Kato! You have a winner here! Thanks so much! Made for *Everyday is a Holiday* March 2009.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm March 03, 2009

What a fantastic recipe, and what a lovely story about it being your grandmother's favourite dish - we all loved this BK! I made this to serve to friends who came for dinner last night, and it was wolfed down! I made a couple of very minor subs - I used homemade breadcrumbs to coat the chicken before frying (left over from the stale baguette I used for the cubed bread!) and I had to use a packet soup, which I made up with milk to get the creamy flavour! Everything else was as posted and my goodness, what a wonderful flavour and texture. You get a "stuffing" like taste and texture underneath the chicken with a lovely creamy taste with the mushroom soup. I served this with piles of fluffy mashed potatoes and fresh green beans - a REAL keeper for me BK - made for Went To Market Tag game.......so glad I found this recipe! I am so sorry I have NO plated photos - just photos of it in the pan - it was hard to keep all the greedy hoards off the chicken before serving, so there was NO chance of taking photos once it was on their plates! :rofl: Thanks! FT :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart September 18, 2008

Well I over ate tonight and it was football practice. This chicken was so nice and moist and the gravy over mashed potatoes and corn has to be the greatest. The juice from the chicken makes this a nice golden brown sauce, and the top of the chicken was nice and sticky too. We will make this often. Thank you for a nice family recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dinglebop June 03, 2008

Growing up in Thunder Bay, we had this a lot ;) This recipe is great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee_73 August 19, 2005

The first time I made this dish I followed the recipe to a "T" and it was delicious, the whole family loved it. Then I made it with pork butt chops, and mushroom soup, and it was really good too! Thanks for an excellent recipe, I will be making this a lot, and trying all differant variations.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lois M September 15, 2004

This will be on our rotation! Loved the juiciness of the chicken and the flavors all together. Lord it was good. Such a simple dish, fried chicken in the oven and it was great. I did make a double batch (of the chicken only) and followed directions to a T for all else. DH said no stuffing for him next time although he did do a taste. He is watching himself. I watched myself take a full helping LOL. Served with smashed sweet potatoes and asparagus. Now I have leftovers for tomorrow's lunches and dinner Saturday. Made for AUS/NZ Dec 2013 Swap

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie December 11, 2013

Absolutely delicious! This is my new favorite for oven fried chicken -- so tender and flavorful. And, that bonus stuffing on the bottom is wonderful. This is comfort food at its best and DH loved it. This recipe is going into my Best of 2012 recipes for sure. Made for Fall PAC, 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration October 23, 2012
Thunder Bay Oven Fried Chicken