60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My kids just devoured this bread before I could get the camera! This was perfect, I even accidentally missed the 10 minute yeast step (although I still see the need for it) best flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
248Cooked February 02, 2015

This is the third bread recipe I found online. The first was a brick, the second overgrew the top...this is the perfect recipe. Tasted great, had a perfect density. I used King Authur bread flour. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauracapps1_12375376 December 27, 2014

Best ever! It's so versatile, it's practically the only recipe I ever use. It's my default recipe for soft white sandwich bread, but it's also fabulous with half whole wheat flour + vital wheat gluten. It makes perfectly soft and fluffy burger and hot dog rolls. One thing to note, it rises so high that you'll only need 2 ounce portions for hot dog rolls. I like using milk or milk powder for extra flavor, but that's just personal preference, it's delicious as written. This should be everyone's very first bread machine recipe. If it were, there'd be a lot fewer machines sitting idle or showing up in thrift shops.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy Toes October 26, 2014

This is the easiest bread to put together! I did follow my bread machine instructions (I think it's ingrained in my head) and used all butter, no oil. I also used regular white flour (subbing 3 teaspoonfuls with 3 teaspoons of wheat gluten) I used the 'dough' setting on my machine, and ended up with TWO loaves because the first rise was a big rise, let rise for the second time, and followed previous reviews by baking at 350 for 25 minutes. I think I will bake a little longer next time as mine were still fairly light. But still, they were beautiful loaves, great texture, soft yet chewy. Can't wait to use them for sandwiches!! I think this may be a staple recipe in this house now. Thank you for another amazing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu August 31, 2014

any recipe that uses the bread machine needs to give the poundage - so we know what setting to use and if we need to cut it down to a smaller size for our bread maker

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
peachs34d_3910627 August 17, 2014

Unbelievable... best bread I have ever made in my bread machine, and it totally went against all instructions. Couldn't believe how fluffy and soft it was and how high it rose. My family went nuts for it. Making it regularly now. We might even use it to replace our sandwich bread altogether. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ScottandSarah G. July 21, 2014

Perfect bread. Would recommend the light crust setting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morgen S. April 24, 2014

I liked the method--I hate having to remember the yeast last. But as for the flavor...it was nothing special to me. Not even as toast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em April 11, 2014

Easy recipe for a beginner! This made great sandwich bread. I used my bread machine on dough cycle then baked it in a 9x5 loaf pan for 35 min at 325. Next time I'll do a egg wash on the top, forgot the first time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Micahsmommy! in St Cloud, MN February 01, 2014
Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!.... White Bread