68 Reviews

That bread was wonderful! I used half whole wheat flower and half all purpose flower and added some seeds, the bread had just the right consistency, not too dense but not spongy either. Makes great toast! This is my new "go to" recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemini08 June 26, 2013

This recipe is absolutely delicious! I usually write reviews with all sorts of substantial comments about what is or is not great... but this one is just, simply, white bread at its best. Tasty, fluffy, and absolutely perfect for sandwiches. The only problem is that my one-year-old doesn't seem to want to eat anything else anymore!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cm2530 June 22, 2013

So easy; it baked while we slept! Toast this morning was delicious! Used 2lb setting, but looks more like 1.5 lb loaf. Perfect size for family of three. Threw ingredients in bread maker and went to sleep! Woke up with perfect loaf size, shape and color. Chewy texture. Golden color. Thanks again for another wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1stimeMom January 02, 2013

Great dairy-free bread Kitten! The proofing method produces a super soft, light & soft-crusted bread. Thanks for the keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz January 09, 2012

Super easy! I did what others did and made this on the dough cycle then baked in the oven. It's the best white bread I have made yet. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CapedChef January 01, 2012

Really good bread! I've noticed variations in the results according to how closely I follow the 10 minute rule. A minute or two longer gives it almost a sourdough taste. I have it memorized now so I can share it wherever and whenever opportunity arrises.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rodney h. February 04, 2010

I made this today and we really enjoyed it. I used all butter and used the dough cycle on the machine and then baked it in the oven at 350* for about 30 minutes. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJAY January 25, 2010

Just want to add one more review to all the previous ones. I have made bread for years with my bread machine with limited success until I tried this recipe. Previously I would use the dough cycle and bake my bread in the oven. When we want a good basic bread, this is the recipe I go to with total success. It never falls or has a sunken top. Thank you for sharing this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dnhkouba June 17, 2009

The bread rose beautifully and it has a wonderful texture. When I toasted it and served it to my husband he said he really liked it because it reminded him of the bread his granny made by hand. That's high praise coming from a man who normally say "it's okay" whenever you ask him if he likes something! Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annsmithbell April 02, 2009

Thank you! Proofing the yeast before hand made all the difference in my bread machine bread! I made this on the dough cycle and then split it into two for two little loaves. 325 oven for 20-25 mins - delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
p.ferrell March 28, 2009
Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!.... White Bread