Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!.... White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!.... White Bread

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2014

      Best ever! It's so versatile, it's practically the only recipe I ever use. It's my default recipe for soft white sandwich bread, but it's also fabulous with half whole wheat flour + vital wheat gluten. It makes perfectly soft and fluffy burger and hot dog rolls. One thing to note, it rises so high that you'll only need 2 ounce portions for hot dog rolls. I like using milk or milk powder for extra flavor, but that's just personal preference, it's delicious as written. This should be everyone's very first bread machine recipe. If it were, there'd be a lot fewer machines sitting idle or showing up in thrift shops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2014

      This is the easiest bread to put together! I did follow my bread machine instructions (I think it's ingrained in my head) and used all butter, no oil. I also used regular white flour (subbing 3 teaspoonfuls with 3 teaspoons of wheat gluten) I used the 'dough' setting on my machine, and ended up with TWO loaves because the first rise was a big rise, let rise for the second time, and followed previous reviews by baking at 350 for 25 minutes. I think I will bake a little longer next time as mine were still fairly light. But still, they were beautiful loaves, great texture, soft yet chewy. Can't wait to use them for sandwiches!! I think this may be a staple recipe in this house now. Thank you for another amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2014

      any recipe that uses the bread machine needs to give the poundage - so we know what setting to use and if we need to cut it down to a smaller size for our bread maker

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2014

      Unbelievable... best bread I have ever made in my bread machine, and it totally went against all instructions. Couldn't believe how fluffy and soft it was and how high it rose. My family went nuts for it. Making it regularly now. We might even use it to replace our sandwich bread altogether. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2014

    • on April 24, 2014

      Perfect bread. Would recommend the light crust setting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2014

      I liked the method--I hate having to remember the yeast last. But as for the flavor...it was nothing special to me. Not even as toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      Easy recipe for a beginner! This made great sandwich bread. I used my bread machine on dough cycle then baked it in a 9x5 loaf pan for 35 min at 325. Next time I'll do a egg wash on the top, forgot the first time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      Delicious! I doubled the recipe to make it in my double (1 lb each) insert pan. I would not recommend doing that, because I wound up with two fantastic loaves, joined by a huge mushroom top that stuck to the top the the bread machine and didn't darken. However, after cutting it off and browning the top in the regular oven, there was a lot of tasty bread (and the plus side was a lot of crust, LOL). Next time in the 2lb insert. Cheap, easy, and very, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Excellent! I added 1/4 t extra yeast, 4 tsp wheat gluten and 1 tsp of flax seed. It was gone before it was cool. Great recipe and it was fail proof even playing with it a little the first time I made it. Nice big, soft scrumptuous loaf, obviously, since it is gone already! I am getting ready to mix the next loaf now. Thanks for a yummy recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      By far the best white bread recipe I have used for a bread maker! This produces bakery quality bread that is fluffy, light, and sweet. I will be using this on a regular basis?thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      Another amazing Kittencal recipe! I've made it every day for the past three days. It doesn't last 24 hours at my house. The full recipe over-topped my bread pan, but I think the issue is my 15+ year old bread machine and the fact that I only had "quick rise" yeast. I decreased it by a 1/4 tsp., but maybe needed to decrease it a bit more. I made a half-loaf yesterday and that worked well. I used all butter, no oil, in my bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      First try a couple of days ago and this recipe was so easy to follow. It was an ok loaf just a little dry for us. I am making again today and it might have been dry as we live in Las Vegas but was in a bag. Hmmm not sure. Any hints from anyone wound be great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      My bread machine died some time ago and I've been on the hunt for the perfect "made by hand" recipe. This is IT! Last night, hubby ate almost the entire loaf with our dinner! I kneaded it for about 8 minutes and used about 1/4 cup extra flour during the kneading. Dough came together like a breeze just as recipe is written. It was MOIST and FLAVORFUL! Great crumb! Have another dough ball on the first rise right now in the warm oven! Thanks for posting this simple, tasty recipe. I'll look no further!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

    • on December 08, 2011

      O M G this is gooooooooood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      I bought a bread machine at a resale shope, and it didn't come with the instructions. I tried this and it was perfect! fool proof, seriously! I didn't have bread machine yeast, so I used a package of regulare yeast, and I didn't have bread machine flour, so again, I used regulare (great value walmart brand) flour, and it was perfect. I did use only butter, not the oil. I set the machine before we left for church, on the 1.5 lbs setting, and when we came home a wonderful warm loaf was waiting for us! My two kids, age 7 and 4 ate the whole loaf that night! I had to make more to pack for lunches the next day! This is so easy! SO yummy! (I have the toastmaster 1148x)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      My first non-boxed mix machine recipe. I must say we were very pleased with this recipe. It comes out just the perfect size and light and airy! At first though, it seemed to not have much flavor to me but by suppertime the flavors had really come together very nicely. Next week I'm going to try adding herbs. Thank you very much for my new go-to bread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This was my first attempt using by bread machine. It was "perfect!" The loaf was light and airy - tasted wonderful! Thank you for starting me with a fabulous beginning. I will make this bread and share with my friends definitely! Thank you for making this so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      This is the best bread recipe I have found! It is absolutely awesome! I also bake it in the oven and it's great! I've also started using this recipe for making dinner rolls and buns! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!.... White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.8
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    25%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 212.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites