61 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This bread is absolutely delicious! The first time I made it I forgot to choose a loaf size so my machine defaulted to 2 lbs. which resulted in dough that rose excessively and collapsed -- but it tasted awesome so I tried again on the 1.5 lbs. setting with better results. After that I tweaked the recipe a bit, using the oil to make it easier (I bake bread every other day or so) and decreased the yeast to 1.5 tsp. as I prefer a denser loaf. I process the ingredients in the bread loaf until the dough is kneaded the final time then let it rise in a greased bread pan and finally bake it at 350° for 31 minutes. After baking, I let the bread cool for half an hour or so then place close it in a bag to soften the crust for easier slicing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
insulin resistant carb addict December 17, 2013

Another masterpiece from the master chef. Made exactly as directed and turned out exactly as expected. Beautiful and delicious! Thanks, Kitten, for another great one. :] Made again and it rose so high it pushed the top of my bread machine open. Best bread machine recipe I have ever made. :]

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Messy44 January 21, 2012

Gosh Kitt, this recipe was wonderful! I used dough cycle, put in greased loaf pan, let rise again and baked in a 350 degree oven for 25 minutes. It produced a very high loaf. It was a perfect texture for sandwiches which is was I needed it for. 10 stars if I could. It was easy, quick, tasted wonderful and was just beautiful!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anne~ October 20, 2012

Perfection !!! My second loaf just finished. For my first loaf I used all-purpose flour and 4 tsp of vital wheat gluten. The top fell but everybody said it was the best white bread they had ever had. For my second loaf I used the suggested bread flour and no vital wheat gluten. I followed the directions and selected dark crust. The loaf is absolutely perfect My bread machine bread usuallly turns out too dense for my liking so I'm going to try these direction for my other recipes. Thanks so much for sharing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy de Bears February 19, 2012

I'd given up on making bread. I didn't like the bread machine results, or shape, and the instructions always sounded too vague. Dissolve yeast in warm water? How warm? How long? My bread would never rise. This recipe sounded more specific. I bought a Breadman machine from the thrift store and tried it, using all butter instead of oil and butter. Rolled it up jelly roll style for the final rise in a bread pan. It rose sky high and the results were perfect! I was so excited I posted the photo to Facebook so my family could see it. I think the temperature for dissolving the yeast and the 10 minute wait before adding the other ingredients is key. I'm so inspired I have since adapted the basic instructions to wheat bread and swirled cinnamon-raisin bread with great results.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchencastaway April 23, 2013

I made this exactly as directed and it was wonderful. For the first time since getting my bread machine I had fluffy, chewy, flavorful white bread. As a variation, I now substitute maple syrup for sugar and 1 cup oats for 1 cup of the flour. It's slightly different and still delicious :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mzkuhfuss February 10, 2013

Completely fail proof method! I've made it a number of times, and added some variations but the basic method works every time. The biggest difference is that I do on the dough setting and bake in the oven to avoid the bread machine hole! One change I've made that I really like is to use the basics of this recipe for whole wheat. To do so I cut the sugar to 1tsp and then added 1.5TBS of honey to the water before I add the yeast. I also cut the oil to 3 TBS and used 2cup of Whole Wheat Bread and 1 cup on White. One thing that really helps the texture is the use Bread Flour. AMZING!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherlath1 January 13, 2013

This was a HIT!!!!! Have made 3 loaves in the past 2 days and they keep disappearing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cst1996 January 24, 2012

i've made this recipe 4 times now - perfect EACH time! Its Betsy-proof!<br/><br/>The first 2 times, i made it with all purpose flour, because thats all i had, turned out just fine- then made it with bread flour and wowzers! Fluffy, light with a nice golden crust. It lasts about 2 days in a cereal bag, decent softness after 2 days, its never stuck around for more than four days in our house. Day three it was more like crusty bread but still just as good. I havent frozen it yet so i cant comment on that.<br/><br/>I use my electric knife to cut it and it slices beautifully.<br/><br/>i like that its so easy to memorize with not a lot of ingredients in this recipe. When im in a hurry i can just throw it together.<br/><br/>good job. this is my go-to white bread recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betsy952 August 13, 2013

That bread was wonderful! I used half whole wheat flower and half all purpose flower and added some seeds, the bread had just the right consistency, not too dense but not spongy either. Makes great toast! This is my new "go to" recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gemini08 June 26, 2013
Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!.... White Bread