Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!.... White Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!.... White Bread

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2012

      Another masterpiece from the master chef. Made exactly as directed and turned out exactly as expected. Beautiful and delicious! Thanks, Kitten, for another great one. :] Made again and it rose so high it pushed the top of my bread machine open. Best bread machine recipe I have ever made. :]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      Gosh Kitt, this recipe was wonderful! I used dough cycle, put in greased loaf pan, let rise again and baked in a 350 degree oven for 25 minutes. It produced a very high loaf. It was a perfect texture for sandwiches which is was I needed it for. 10 stars if I could. It was easy, quick, tasted wonderful and was just beautiful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      This bread is absolutely delicious! The first time I made it I forgot to choose a loaf size so my machine defaulted to 2 lbs. which resulted in dough that rose excessively and collapsed -- but it tasted awesome so I tried again on the 1.5 lbs. setting with better results. After that I tweaked the recipe a bit, using the oil to make it easier (I bake bread every other day or so) and decreased the yeast to 1.5 tsp. as I prefer a denser loaf. I process the ingredients in the bread loaf until the dough is kneaded the final time then let it rise in a greased bread pan and finally bake it at 350° for 31 minutes. After baking, I let the bread cool for half an hour or so then place close it in a bag to soften the crust for easier slicing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2013

      I made this exactly as directed and it was wonderful. For the first time since getting my bread machine I had fluffy, chewy, flavorful white bread. As a variation, I now substitute maple syrup for sugar and 1 cup oats for 1 cup of the flour. It's slightly different and still delicious :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Perfection !!! My second loaf just finished. For my first loaf I used all-purpose flour and 4 tsp of vital wheat gluten. The top fell but everybody said it was the best white bread they had ever had. For my second loaf I used the suggested bread flour and no vital wheat gluten. I followed the directions and selected dark crust. The loaf is absolutely perfect My bread machine bread usuallly turns out too dense for my liking so I'm going to try these direction for my other recipes. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      I'd given up on making bread. I didn't like the bread machine results, or shape, and the instructions always sounded too vague. Dissolve yeast in warm water? How warm? How long? My bread would never rise. This recipe sounded more specific. I bought a Breadman machine from the thrift store and tried it, using all butter instead of oil and butter. Rolled it up jelly roll style for the final rise in a bread pan. It rose sky high and the results were perfect! I was so excited I posted the photo to Facebook so my family could see it. I think the temperature for dissolving the yeast and the 10 minute wait before adding the other ingredients is key. I'm so inspired I have since adapted the basic instructions to wheat bread and swirled cinnamon-raisin bread with great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Completely fail proof method! I've made it a number of times, and added some variations but the basic method works every time. The biggest difference is that I do on the dough setting and bake in the oven to avoid the bread machine hole! One change I've made that I really like is to use the basics of this recipe for whole wheat. To do so I cut the sugar to 1tsp and then added 1.5TBS of honey to the water before I add the yeast. I also cut the oil to 3 TBS and used 2cup of Whole Wheat Bread and 1 cup on White. One thing that really helps the texture is the use Bread Flour. AMZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      This was a HIT!!!!! Have made 3 loaves in the past 2 days and they keep disappearing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      i've made this recipe 4 times now - perfect EACH time! Its Betsy-proof!<br/><br/>The first 2 times, i made it with all purpose flour, because thats all i had, turned out just fine- then made it with bread flour and wowzers! Fluffy, light with a nice golden crust. It lasts about 2 days in a cereal bag, decent softness after 2 days, its never stuck around for more than four days in our house. Day three it was more like crusty bread but still just as good. I havent frozen it yet so i cant comment on that.<br/><br/>I use my electric knife to cut it and it slices beautifully.<br/><br/>i like that its so easy to memorize with not a lot of ingredients in this recipe. When im in a hurry i can just throw it together.<br/><br/>good job. this is my go-to white bread recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      That bread was wonderful! I used half whole wheat flower and half all purpose flower and added some seeds, the bread had just the right consistency, not too dense but not spongy either. Makes great toast! This is my new "go to" recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      This recipe is absolutely delicious! I usually write reviews with all sorts of substantial comments about what is or is not great... but this one is just, simply, white bread at its best. Tasty, fluffy, and absolutely perfect for sandwiches. The only problem is that my one-year-old doesn't seem to want to eat anything else anymore!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      So easy; it baked while we slept! Toast this morning was delicious! Used 2lb setting, but looks more like 1.5 lb loaf. Perfect size for family of three. Threw ingredients in bread maker and went to sleep! Woke up with perfect loaf size, shape and color. Chewy texture. Golden color. Thanks again for another wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      Great dairy-free bread Kitten! The proofing method produces a super soft, light & soft-crusted bread. Thanks for the keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Super easy! I did what others did and made this on the dough cycle then baked in the oven. It's the best white bread I have made yet. Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Really good bread! I've noticed variations in the results according to how closely I follow the 10 minute rule. A minute or two longer gives it almost a sourdough taste. I have it memorized now so I can share it wherever and whenever opportunity arrises.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      I made this today and we really enjoyed it. I used all butter and used the dough cycle on the machine and then baked it in the oven at 350* for about 30 minutes. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      Just want to add one more review to all the previous ones. I have made bread for years with my bread machine with limited success until I tried this recipe. Previously I would use the dough cycle and bake my bread in the oven. When we want a good basic bread, this is the recipe I go to with total success. It never falls or has a sunken top. Thank you for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      The bread rose beautifully and it has a wonderful texture. When I toasted it and served it to my husband he said he really liked it because it reminded him of the bread his granny made by hand. That's high praise coming from a man who normally say "it's okay" whenever you ask him if he likes something! Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Thank you! Proofing the yeast before hand made all the difference in my bread machine bread! I made this on the dough cycle and then split it into two for two little loaves. 325 oven for 20-25 mins - delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      Thank You Kittencal! You saved my bread machine from the trash bin. Wonderful recipe. No more hockey pucks for me. Makes the greatest toast too, which my husband truly appreciates. I wish the bread machine instructions would tell you, you can proof your yeast. I think the sugar makes all the difference. Of course I don't think you could do it this way on Delay Start, but I never do that anyway. Love the name too. Really caught my attention and was true. Followed your instructions to a T. I do so appreciate your posting this. Terry

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Throw Away the Bread Machine Instructions!.... White Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.8
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    25%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 212.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites