11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful pizza! With the olive oil and tomatoes instead of tomato sauce it had the feel of a gourmet pizza. I would strongly recommend including all the tomato called for in the recipe, as it gives the pizza a sweet flavour. We will certainly use this recipe again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
br2brown September 23, 2009

I love peppers so this pizza is for me! Colorful, tasty, healthy. I really liked using fresh tomatoes instead of pizza sauce. I used a Boboli prepared crust and left off the sausage. Loved this quick and fresh pizza - thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof November 06, 2008

This is an amazing tasting pizza! I dont care for a lot of pizza sauce so we always order "light" but loved this pizza without any sauce at all. I used Pillsbury Classic Pizza Crust and Jimmy Deans mild italian sausage. Ran out of olive oil so sprayed the crust with Mazola Olive Oil spray and that worked ok but I think the olive oil would have given me a crispier crust. DH does not care for bell peppers so I didnt add them to one half. Also, I didnt peel, seed or dice the plum tomatoes, just sliced them thinly than added pepper and salt. They were sweet and tender, went well with the fresh flavors of the pizza. Wish I could give this more than 5 stars! Thank you hon for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 September 22, 2007

Very good, but very high calorie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D April 28, 2013

Delicious pizza! I did have some pizza sauce so used just a shmear of that with the fresh tomatoes. I had one large tomato so used that and only made a small pizza. I used soy chorizo and it was great in this recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 December 05, 2011

Hummmm....this is unusual ~ I posted a review with this along with the picture about 1 month ago. I don't know where it went, but the memory of this pizza was outstanding. We had an unusual amount of three different peppers this year from the garden, so for Saturday Lunch at the Farm I made this. Everyone fell in love with it, the taste was out of this world. Since I had just freshly grabbed tomatoes and peppers from the garden the taste was intense, the flavors so vibrant, as vibrant as all the colors of the pizza. We have now made this 3 times and each one is truly special and always a bit different depending on the vegetable. I highly recommend this pizza to anyone and everyone~ it goes beyond what you want a pizza to be. Thanks so much ~ Nimz. Will continue making this, I suspect for a very long time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm August 20, 2007

This was excellent.... I was unsure about not placing a pizza sauce on it.... WOW... This was so much better... My DH always complains that their is to much sauce anyway.... Without the sauce, you were able to taste more of the topping and got a taste of the different flavors instead of just sauce.... This is the new way we will be making pizza from now on... I used a store bought crust and made two pizzas.... One was placed in the freezer for later enjoyment....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gertc96 August 01, 2007

Very nice pizza. I used a prepared crust. The toppings made this a very, very attractive pizza, with a good, fresh flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens October 30, 2006

This is a wonderful combination of fresh! I used the fresh plum tomatoes which were dipped into boiling water to make peeling easier, fresh mozzarella cheese, fresh green peppers from the garden and the red peppers were ones that I had roasted and packed in oil. I served this at a small get-together and everyone really enjoyed it. The crust was "almost" Boboli Pizza Crust.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 06, 2006

Just got up from the table from eating this and it was wonderful. I have one sister that this is the only way she will eat pizza. So I have had something similiar before, but this was much better. Thanks for posting such a wonderful reicpe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacqueline in KY July 24, 2006
Three-Pepper Pizza