17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good soup Paula! I used shredded Parmesan cheese and added a little white cooking wine.
Made for Chef Alphabet Soup game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 January 31, 2012

Absolutely fantastic flavors in this onion soup. It was suprisingly sweet. I had to modify the cooking method as I don't have broiler proof soup bowls so I toasted my bread than baked it in my mini oven with slices of Provolone Cheese as I could not find Gouda in Dardanelle AR then transfered that right into the soup. The end result was fantastic and I thank you so much for posting. A recipe I'll make again. Made for the Diabetic Forum tag game for September 2011.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ September 09, 2011

This was so good! Hit the spot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChelseaW January 15, 2012

I was so happy to see that you had an onion soup in your recipes cause I wanted to cook one. And we were very pleased with the result. So much flavor. I used dry thyme (1 tsp). And instead of gouda, I used emmenthal. So yummy. Thanks Paula :) Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap October 2010 Group Aussie Rum Balls

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 03, 2010

My housemate absolutely loved this, I'm not a fan of onion soup but tried it and sadly it wasn't for me, but she was quite happy to eat the rest!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glorfindel March 26, 2010

This was a hit with my whole family, which tends to be pretty picky with onion soup. I wasn't sure how it would turn out with primarily chicken broth, but it had a rich and traditional flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Near January 10, 2010

Wow, what an easy tasty onion soup recipe. This is my first attempt at making homemade onion soup, and it turned out great. The three types of caramelized onions and the crunchy cheezy toast on top really make this soup all come together with a rich flavor. Perfect soup for dinner guests or a cold winter evening. Thanks for posting this recipe PaulaG.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CarolAT January 05, 2010

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this one already! It's a regular in our household. It made it into the family cookbook, and that is a very select selection, believe me. Savory and not too salty. The kids like the little toasts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donut Chef February 19, 2008

I love onion soup. This is my first attempt at making it at home and it went over very well. I used 5 yellow onions and one red onion as that is what i had on hand. This made a very sweet soup....very good. I will make this again. We served this with panini sandwiches....just like sitting in a deli....lol......Stephanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 06, 2008

Wonderful soup. A huge hit at dinner with guests asking for more. I replaced the gouda with gruyere. I also reduced the chicken stock by 1/2 cup and added red wine. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-GEORGE- October 15, 2007
Three Onion Soup Gratinee