Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Three Onion Soup Gratinee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Three Onion Soup Gratinee

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2012

      Good soup Paula! I used shredded Parmesan cheese and added a little white cooking wine.
      Made for Chef Alphabet Soup game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      Absolutely fantastic flavors in this onion soup. It was suprisingly sweet. I had to modify the cooking method as I don't have broiler proof soup bowls so I toasted my bread than baked it in my mini oven with slices of Provolone Cheese as I could not find Gouda in Dardanelle AR then transfered that right into the soup. The end result was fantastic and I thank you so much for posting. A recipe I'll make again. Made for the Diabetic Forum tag game for September 2011.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      This was so good! Hit the spot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      I was so happy to see that you had an onion soup in your recipes cause I wanted to cook one. And we were very pleased with the result. So much flavor. I used dry thyme (1 tsp). And instead of gouda, I used emmenthal. So yummy. Thanks Paula :) Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap October 2010 Group Aussie Rum Balls

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      My housemate absolutely loved this, I'm not a fan of onion soup but tried it and sadly it wasn't for me, but she was quite happy to eat the rest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This was a hit with my whole family, which tends to be pretty picky with onion soup. I wasn't sure how it would turn out with primarily chicken broth, but it had a rich and traditional flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      Wow, what an easy tasty onion soup recipe. This is my first attempt at making homemade onion soup, and it turned out great. The three types of caramelized onions and the crunchy cheezy toast on top really make this soup all come together with a rich flavor. Perfect soup for dinner guests or a cold winter evening. Thanks for posting this recipe PaulaG.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I can't believe I haven't reviewed this one already! It's a regular in our household. It made it into the family cookbook, and that is a very select selection, believe me. Savory and not too salty. The kids like the little toasts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I love onion soup. This is my first attempt at making it at home and it went over very well. I used 5 yellow onions and one red onion as that is what i had on hand. This made a very sweet soup....very good. I will make this again. We served this with panini sandwiches....just like sitting in a deli....lol......Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Wonderful soup. A huge hit at dinner with guests asking for more. I replaced the gouda with gruyere. I also reduced the chicken stock by 1/2 cup and added red wine. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      Great even without the french bread and gouda. We were having Grilled Turkey Parmesan Sandwiches #127576 so I skipped them. I froze the extra soup so we'll have the goodies when we enjoy the leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2005

      Made this soup for lunch today it was very good. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      WOW, this was GREAT! I copied teh recipe to my shopping list and went to the store. It took me thre stores to realize that the needed ingredients were not available locally. I had to substitute the Gouda Cheese for a Motzerella/Parmesean mix, the Baguette bread with Italian. The recipe still turned out awesome. It had a rich buttery taste, sweet onion taste and was loved by the whole family. There were no leftovers. I will have to search for the proper ingredients but can't wait to make this again. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2005

      This soup has got the most wonderful flavor. It is very very yummy! I agree that the gouda cheese makes this soup spectacular. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2004

      I have to give this soup 5 stars - its almost the same as my own recipe!! Aside from scaling the quantities in half, I made no changes. Thanx Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2004

      This is such a GREAT soup !! I have always always wanted to make onion soup and this one was a real wasy one to do. This will be a regular recipe in my house !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2004

      This has to be the best onion soup I have made, I think it is fabulous. Here in Australia I used 2 red onions, 2 brown onions and 2 white onions and then followed the recipe exactly. This soup had a sort of buttery sweet flavour, just great. I usually put sugar into onion soup, you don't need it with this. I think finished off with the Gouda cheese (usually I use parmesan) just makes this supurb. I can't recommend this highly enough .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Three Onion Soup Gratinee

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.5
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    23%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 18.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 677.9 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gouda cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes