Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Three Milk Cake (Tres Leches) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Three Milk Cake (Tres Leches)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2010

      I made this for a farewell gathering and it was so popular there was absolutely none left at the end of the night. Despite the length of the instructions and the planning required, the recipe is not very time consuming at all. The most complicated techniques are separating the eggs and knowing when the egg whites are ready. The only changes I made were to use less of the topping; I had to skim off quite a bit, but didn't feel that the flavor or texture suffered at all. I would definitely make this cake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I tried this recipe and another Tres Leches recipe at the same time. This came out too soupy for me. It was still a good cake but I was looking for one that is more presentable. I even poured out the extra milk but it still leaked out. I used coconut extract because I was scared to use the almond because of other reviews. My tasters and I chose the other cake I made since it is more like the Tres Leches we're used to (just the right amount of milk absorbed). For both being Tres Leches, they were totally different. We still ate this one because it was a different flavor to us, we just preferred the other one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      This is a great cake and a great recipe. I omitted the Almond in the frosting as I thought it would be too much. Also I poured the milk mixture over the still warm cake. It turned out great. I brought this to a party and it was a huge hit. I'm actually about to make it again right now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Thank you, thank you, thank you! Was bringing this to a dinner party a friend of mine was hosting and thought oh this will be fun. Mid way through baking i realized how involved it really was and became very nervous. I baked the cake the night before as directed. Around 8am the next morning poured the milk mixture over it, leaving out the corn syrup. Around 4pm drained the excess milk, placed back in the fridge and started making the icing, I subbed brown sugar and left out the icing sugar all together. At about 5:30 I iced the cake, we served close to 8:30/9. When I arrived my hostess informed me this was her husbands favorite cake, I was very nervous since this was the first try. To my delight EVERYONE loved it. The husband had two pieces that night and I was told he had another the following morning for breakfast! I should also add, this is a traditional hispanic family, who KNOWS what this cake should taste like! Many thanks kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      i made this cake and it was delicious, particularly the interesting icing of whipped cream and sour cream! used only 3/4ths cup of sugar as my husband and i are trying to eat a "little" better and i did soak oatmeal in hot water for twenty minute (as in "lazy daizy cake) which totally absorbed all of the wonderful topping and made for a dense, chewy cake. also left out the corn syrup. it was pleny sweet, added some cinnamon (which raises metabolism and the oatmeal is fiber and slows absorption of sugar). even though i did these things, the cake was a wonderful - a harvest cake and my husband wants another one this weekend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I made this for an engagement party at work and it was really good. I soaked the cake the night before, kept in the fridge and then topped it in the morning. It is very rich and I didn't think it was too wet at all. I especially loved the topping on this. Thanks Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

    • on April 17, 2008

      I made this cake for an "Almost Cinqo de Mayo" party at my office today. While the taste was good, several of us felt the almond extract was overpowering, and I had cut it back to half of what the recipe calls for. Also, there was too much of the liquid topping and the cake was somewhat soupy. I may try this recipe again - substituting vanilla for the almond and using about 2/3 of the topping as the overall taste was good. Adding to this review later: The longer this cake stood, the better the texture got. I had stolen a piece to take home to DH, and it was much better 9 hours later. I put the topping on at 6:30 am after the cake was refrigerated overnight, then put the icing on at 9:30 to serve at noon. We ate the other piece at 10 pm, so I would recommend allowing plenty of time in the refrigerator. Still too much almond extract for me, though. I'm upping my rating to 4 from my original rating of 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      I made this cake for my local supper club group and it was a hit. I was even told it was better than what you can get in at least half of the restaurants in Dallas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      This is a very good traditional recipe,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      Incredible! My cake was the hit of my neighbors' Memorial Day party. Thank you thank you KittenCal!! Good for Mexicans and gringos alike! (p.s. if you accidentally pour in the whole can of evaporated milk, just scoop about a half cup out and all will be well, I found out the hard way!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2006

      This is very yummy. I did make some changes. I sub. one cup of flour with whole wheat flour, used coconut milk instead of sweetened condensed milk and used light cream instead of heavy cream in the topping. For some reason the topping did not completely absorb into the cake, it stayed pretty thick on top so I did not make the frosting. The milk mixture was very much like a frosting itself.Don't know if it was one of the changes I had make that caused this or what. I think next time I will try pouring it over the cake when it is still warm. Thanks for this recipe, I had been looking for one since I had milk cake in a restaurant last year, but that restaurant was out of town and it has since closed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      this cake was very easy to make except i didn't like the overnight wait. this cake has a wonderful taste. My family is gobbling it up. It definately a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2005

    • on December 07, 2004

      What a lovely cake! Makes a change from the usual. I shall definitely be making this again. I did find the "icing" a little sweet, so next time I think I'll use 1/4 cup sugar for 1/2 cup whipping cream. As well, I found the almond extract very strong.. so next time I'll omit that from the "icing", since there is already a spoon full in the cake. Thanx Kittencal :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Three Milk Cake (Tres Leches)

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 633.3
     
    Calories from Fat 257
    40%
    Total Fat 28.6 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 16.9 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 196.0 mg
    65%
    Sodium 335.6 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.8 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 59.5 g
    238%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites