Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Three Meat Calzone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Three Meat Calzone

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2012

      My husband really liked this! I subbed some spicy tomato marinade for the tomato juice (trying to use up open bottle before opening a new can of anything), the rest of the recipe I stuck to tightly. He was quite happy and said it was not too spicy, couldn't have been, 18 month old son gobbled it up with him.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2012

      I made this just to try the crust and we loved it. I doubled it and made 3 large and 2 small calzones so everyone could pick their own filling. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      Absolutely loved the dough; however, I found it wasn't pizza'ish enough and it was too meaty. I think I'll add more tomato paste and less ground meat next time. Nevertheless my boys loved it. Thanks I will keep this for sure. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Great Calzone. I made as written but I think it serves 4. We each had half of one and it is very filling. So I have one in the freezer for future use. Served it with Chopped Italian Salad. Great meal and will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Made this for my DD and her family while they were visiting as they love Italian food and this was wonderful. Even the picky DGSs enjoyed it. I used spicy V8 and while you couldn't really taste it (thank goodness as then those boys wouldn't have touched it) there was that something extra in the taste and the color was lovely. I used pepperroni for the boys and for the adults fried up hot italian sausage with the onion and garlic. Then instead of mixing the tomatoe paste spread store bought pizza sauce on the dough, layered it with the desired meat mixture, topped with shredded mozzarella and sealed. Instead of using separate top & bottom I rolled it out and just folded over, sealed and then slashed the top. Before placing in the oven I brushed with a beaten egg white & water mixture just to give it a glaze. It turned out wonderful and was enjoyed by all. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      I enjoyed the crust of this recipe. I used a spicy V8 juice and you would not even know it was used. I also sprayed the pan with pam and dusted it in cornmeal to make a crunchy bottom :) I did overstuff mine (figures lol) so it was a lil moist on the edges when sealing it but it turned out good. I used different ingredients to suit what we had on hand but this is a good recipe :) Thank you so much. I hope to try the meat version next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

    • on July 11, 2008

      I am rating the crust - fantastic! I don't bake...not good at it usually, but this turned out and was super easy. I used diluted tomato sauce instead of the juice and italian seasoning instead of oregano. I brushed the whole thing with garlic butter before baking. SO easy!!! I filled mine with italian sausage, pepperoni, bacon, Prego, parmasan and mozzarella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      I looked up this recipe mainly for the crust. The recipe is fairly simple as long as you have the time to invest. I substituted the regular flour for whole wheat and actually didn't add the oregano. When it was almost finished baking, I brushed the calzones with olive oil and sprinkled garlic powder over it. Bottom line? The crust was incredible... Instead of the Three Meat Filling, I chose random ingredients: spinach, red & yellow bell pepper, ground turkey, various cheeses, cilantro and tomato sauce. As far as the filling goes, I think this is one of those recipes you can let your imagination run free with. I will definitely be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I absolutely loved this recipe. However, I didn't make calzones, I made a delightful pizza crust with the dough. The family loved it and I had to make it again the next week. The only alteration I made to the dough was to substitute with whole wheat flour. Thanks for a great recipe that I will be using regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Three Meat Calzone

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 761.8
     
    Calories from Fat 305
    40%
    Total Fat 33.9 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 119.7 mg
    39%
    Sodium 1352.7 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.5 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 44.6 g
    89%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hot Italian sausage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites