Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Three Layer Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Three Layer Casserole

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2012

      I used low fat turkey italian sausage and 1% cottage cheese for this which reduced the calories but not the taste. This was very good and we will be making this again. My DH needs to gain weight so we put his on top of noodles. I found that it was a little runny however after cooling it set up very nice much like lasagna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      Great recipe for ingredients that I often have on hand. Yummy and adaptable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2006

      I only just liked it but my fiance really liked it. Next time, I will add more seasoning and maybe try ricotta cheese & an egg instead of the cottage cheese. Mine didn't turn out watery at all. I used frozen spinach and canned mushrooms. I did find that using a 7x11 pan was too big had to use all the spinach mixture on the bottom and then just layered meat mixture and cheese on top. I got 6 servings from the recipe...but we aren't big eaters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      I really liked this dish. Because others found it watery, I made sure to drain the cooked spinach well (I used fresh). I sauted fresh mushrooms before adding to the sauce. I added a little freshly grated nutmeg to the cottage cheese mixture, as well as an egg. On the top layer I added parmesan with the mozzarella, and I used extra-lean ground beef and low fat cottage cheese and part skim mozzarella. In the end it was slightly watery, but nothing to complain about. My kids who usually can't cut lasagna noodles, gobbled this down. The best part is it fit into my low carb diet so I didn't have to cook a second dish. A keeper for sure! Thanks Whisper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      Turned out a little watery, but I just dished it on top of a slice of cornbread. I added a small handful of an asiago-romano-parmesan cheese blend to the spinach mixture, and a couple dashes of hot pepper sauce to the tomato sauce mixture. I will probably make this again; thanks Whisper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      I love this casserole! It is tasty, yet low in carbs...essentially it is lasagne without the noodles. I have made this twice so far. The first time, I was well into preparation before I realized that I had parmesan cheese rather that mozzarella and that my "fresh" mushrooms weren't as fresh as I thought. I made it anyway, using the parmesan and a jar of marinated mushrooms. It was OK, but the second time, I made sure I had mozzarella and it was great! I like the marinated mushrooms, though. They add an intriguing nuance to the dish. I also added a beaten egg to the spinach/cottage cheese mixture (because that is what I do when I make lasagne). My mom was recently diagnosed as diabetic and needs to restrict carbs, so I am going to pass this recipe on to her. Thank you for sharing Whisper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2004

      This was very good and low in carbs, which is another plus. I used fresh mushrooms and spinach. It was a little watery (perhaps from the fresh veggies) but that didn't affect the taste. We just dipped it into bowls and enjoyed it that way. We're putting this on the regular menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2004

      This is a delicious, quick and easy casserole and I and my family loved it! I made this as written, using canned mushrooms and 8 oz. of cottage cheese (bought an 8 oz. container of it and didn't want that little bit leftover). I served this with macaroni noodles and we had a nice, Saturday night supper. Thanks Whisper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Three Layer Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (358 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 420.3
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    55%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 107.3 mg
    35%
    Sodium 773.6 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 36.8 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites