Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Three Ingredient Italian Sponge Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Three Ingredient Italian Sponge Cake

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2011

      Lovely sponge cake. Update: since discovering this recipe over 2 years ago, it is my most FREQUENTLY BAKED CAKE...EVER! I must make this recipe 2-3 times per month, for every kind of occasion! I've served it plain with berries, topped with whipped cream, torn apart for trifles, or for making a "proper" Victorian sponge cake that is split, spread with raspberry jam and then slathered with whipped cream. If any of you want to elevate this cake into another realm, try adding two drops of Fiori Di Sicilia flavouring from King Arthur Flour. People will beg you for more! One of the best recipes I've found on this website!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2011

      We have 6 hens that lay an egg each a day so this recipe is a great (and tasty) way of using excess eggs. It's a quick, easy and fool proof recipe.
      Note: My grandma always said sponge cakes turn out best if you don't use fresh eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      First attempt at making a sponge cake, and it turned out perfect! So easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      This was a fast and easy version of a sponge cake. It's just fabulous! I am serving it with fruit and whipped cream this time and I mean that I will make this at least twice a month until I can no longer drag my old body to the stove. It is soooooooooooooo easy! I did use my vanilla sugar instead of plain and it was a tiny bit sweet so next time I will cut the yolk half-cup of sugar to 1/3 cup of sugar. But that's just my personal taste. Thanks Marie! SA ;) UPDATE: the next day it was kind of dry BUT I sliced it and covered it with vanilla pudding and strawberry jam topped with whipped cream and boy, DH LOVED it! Thanks again Marie! OOOPS! my stars vanished so I am re-adding them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      This was absolutely fantastic! Light, airy, and a hint of sweetness that we couldn't get enough of! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      I ran across this recipe last summer after trying 7-8 others. We LOVE it!!! We use it for strawberry shortcake. It's MUCH cheaper than the store bought. I can't believe I never rated it. My only regret is that I have but 5 stars to give. It freezes extremely well too. I make it up in a regular cake pan, cut into smallish squares and freeze. Then just get out pieces when we're ready for shortcake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Fabulous recipe! I absolutely love it! Anyone can impress their guests with the cupboard's usual suspects at the very last minute! I've put some poppy seeds and baked them in muffin tins, cut them in half and made mini victorian sponge cakes with whipped cream and summer berries! A MUST TRY for anyone who's searching for a fail-proof cake! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      try making this recipe with 1 and half cup all purpose flour. it will be more chewy and fluffy =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      How can something so simple be so incredible? I've already made this twice in three days--the first time it was gone in less than 24 hours! Lovely texture, consistent results, just-right sweetness...need I say more? For the second cake I mixed in 1/2 cup homemade nectarine preserves into the yolk mixture and added an extra 1/4 cup of flour to compensate for the extra moisture. I covered it with a simple pineapple juice/powdered sugar glaze when it was cool--YUMMERS! Also, when I combine the ingredients I just dump all the yolk mixture and flour into the egg whites at once and fold--works great. Thanks for this amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      This is actually the very first time I ever write a review but seriously this recipe is extremely WONDERFUL! It's light, fluffy, tasty, spongy, and most importantly it is not sweet at all. Really, if you just hate sweet foods as much as I am you gotta love this recipe. The best things of this recipe are I always have the ingredients ready at home, only 3 ingredients, how incredible it is. Also, it is so easy to make that the whole thing will be done within an hour. Really thank you for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      This tasted similar to angel food cake to me, though not as sweet. It was drier than I was expecting it to be, but I think it would make a very good strawberry shortcake. It is a fairly healthy option as far as cake goes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      This is a fabulous cake recipe. I am not a huge baker but I found this recipe easy and fun to make. I added a layer of raspberry preserves and lemon curd (from lemon mousse recipe mentioned) in between the layers. I frosted with the lemon mouse from Lemon Mousse Cake I will shorten the baking time by a few minutes, next time. Just delicious! Thanks for posting Marie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      Fantastic! I can't believe how good a cake with only 3 ingredients and no leavening can be. I baked it in a bundt pan that was buttered and dusted with flour. The 30 minute baking time was perfect despite having all the batter in one pan. I'm going to be making this cake for my contribution this Thanksgiving. I'll probably make a filling for it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      This Cake is the easiest sponge cake to make and tasty too! I use it in Tres Leche Cake and it is well loved!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      I made this cake for tiramisu but it was so good we ate it with whipped cream and strawberries before I could ever get the custard made for tiramisu. This will be made time and time again. Thanks for sharing. It's fab!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      The most fabulous cake I have ever baked. I made it for my husband's birthday... He loved it!~ I made the custard filling and frosted with whipping cream. Topped with peaches and blueberries... Couldn't have been more beautiful. You score with this recipe. I have been sharing this recipe with all my friends. Baking another today.. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      This was a really tasty, easy recipe. And by easy, I mean straightforward. I didn't have an electric mixer, so beating the egg whites was quite the work out! But, actually, that's a plus - because now the calories don't count! :D Thanks for a delicious and simple recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      I added a scant teaspoon of pure lemon extract. Wonderful! I can see brushing it with Madeira or a simple syrup. I think making a filling of fresh berries would be nice too, also a tiramisu filling. Very yummy and simple. Make sure to be patient when beating the egg whites, having them very thick and forming stiff peaks is key. I also think FOLDING in everything makes fore the wonderful texture, make sure to fold in everything gently and thoroughly. I made mine in a bundt pan, greased and floured. When I went to invert it onto a bottle the whole cake plopped out in its entirety so didn't stick at all. It is beautiful as you can see in my picture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2013

      My DH likes the sponge dessert shells with strawberries so I decided to try this for our shortcake this year. He loved it! I baked it in 2 loaf pans. It is very simple and not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      Very light sponge and a great base for a variety of fillings and toppings! Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Three Ingredient Italian Sponge Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 212.3
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    15%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 139.5 mg
    46%
    Sodium 53.8 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.6 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 25.1 g
    100%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites