70 Reviews

Lovely sponge cake. Update: since discovering this recipe over 2 years ago, it is my most FREQUENTLY BAKED CAKE...EVER! I must make this recipe 2-3 times per month, for every kind of occasion! I've served it plain with berries, topped with whipped cream, torn apart for trifles, or for making a "proper" Victorian sponge cake that is split, spread with raspberry jam and then slathered with whipped cream. If any of you want to elevate this cake into another realm, try adding two drops of Fiori Di Sicilia flavouring from King Arthur Flour. People will beg you for more! One of the best recipes I've found on this website!

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The_Swedish_Chef January 01, 2011

We have 6 hens that lay an egg each a day so this recipe is a great (and tasty) way of using excess eggs. It's a quick, easy and fool proof recipe.
Note: My grandma always said sponge cakes turn out best if you don't use fresh eggs.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bongo 77 January 26, 2011

First attempt at making a sponge cake, and it turned out perfect! So easy!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meggy Boo September 27, 2010

This was a fast and easy version of a sponge cake. It's just fabulous! I am serving it with fruit and whipped cream this time and I mean that I will make this at least twice a month until I can no longer drag my old body to the stove. It is soooooooooooooo easy! I did use my vanilla sugar instead of plain and it was a tiny bit sweet so next time I will cut the yolk half-cup of sugar to 1/3 cup of sugar. But that's just my personal taste. Thanks Marie! SA ;) UPDATE: the next day it was kind of dry BUT I sliced it and covered it with vanilla pudding and strawberry jam topped with whipped cream and boy, DH LOVED it! Thanks again Marie! OOOPS! my stars vanished so I am re-adding them!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent September 19, 2010

I ran across this recipe last summer after trying 7-8 others. We LOVE it!!! We use it for strawberry shortcake. It's MUCH cheaper than the store bought. I can't believe I never rated it. My only regret is that I have but 5 stars to give. It freezes extremely well too. I make it up in a regular cake pan, cut into smallish squares and freeze. Then just get out pieces when we're ready for shortcake again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrirod June 07, 2011

Fabulous recipe! I absolutely love it! Anyone can impress their guests with the cupboard's usual suspects at the very last minute! I've put some poppy seeds and baked them in muffin tins, cut them in half and made mini victorian sponge cakes with whipped cream and summer berries! A MUST TRY for anyone who's searching for a fail-proof cake! Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fiirejp July 09, 2010

This was absolutely fantastic! Light, airy, and a hint of sweetness that we couldn't get enough of! Thanks so much!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cocoakrispies July 04, 2010

try making this recipe with 1 and half cup all purpose flour. it will be more chewy and fluffy =)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
izza_zanab June 30, 2010

How can something so simple be so incredible? I've already made this twice in three days--the first time it was gone in less than 24 hours! Lovely texture, consistent results, just-right sweetness...need I say more? For the second cake I mixed in 1/2 cup homemade nectarine preserves into the yolk mixture and added an extra 1/4 cup of flour to compensate for the extra moisture. I covered it with a simple pineapple juice/powdered sugar glaze when it was cool--YUMMERS! Also, when I combine the ingredients I just dump all the yolk mixture and flour into the egg whites at once and fold--works great. Thanks for this amazing recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theodwyn September 06, 2009

This is actually the very first time I ever write a review but seriously this recipe is extremely WONDERFUL! It's light, fluffy, tasty, spongy, and most importantly it is not sweet at all. Really, if you just hate sweet foods as much as I am you gotta love this recipe. The best things of this recipe are I always have the ingredients ready at home, only 3 ingredients, how incredible it is. Also, it is so easy to make that the whole thing will be done within an hour. Really thank you for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caramelights September 04, 2013
Three Ingredient Italian Sponge Cake