22 Reviews

I've made this a few times now, and I love it. I always skip the milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird July 03, 2010

I probably would give it 4 stars for my own taste by my picky 4 year old and my 2 and a half year old ate it so I HAVE to give it 5 stars. I forgot the milk like the other reviewer but it still came out great. I did make several changes due to what I had on hand and my picky family. I skipped the red bell pepper but still sauteed the mushrooms (which I had to puree) and onions (pureed aswell...picky, picky). I used dried oregano, substituted the penne for farfalle and used monterrey jack instead of cheddar and kraft parmesan crumbled cheese instead of the fresh. I also used about 300 g of frozen spinach like another reviewer. For the chicken, I used the frozen, precooked tenders I get from Costco to cut some of the prep time down. So, pretty much most of the ingredients were there, just in another form and it still turned out great. I still am in total awe that my 4 year old ate it...all of it except the chicken pieces, but that is amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
motherknowsbest July 01, 2010

Made this using my own white sauce instead of canned soup. It was good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianegrapegrower February 13, 2011

My fiance loved this! For a "light" dish it was extremely creamy and indulgent tasting. We also have a ton of leftovers for lunches (always a plus). I forgot to add the milk, and I don't see any benefit to adding it when I make this in the future. The only downside to this dish for me was that it seemed to take quite a long time to prepare. Overall, great flavor for a healthier dinner option.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug June 03, 2010

Great Cooking Light comfort food! I love that some extra veggies are worked into the dish. Made as directed, but used a little less chicken than called for. I did use the canned soup the recipe called for, but next time would use my favorite sub Cream Soup Substitutes and sacrifice the few extra fat grams. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 17, 2010

Very good! Made a few substitutions according to what we had on hand, and it came out GREAT! Here's what we did: sub green bell pepper sub dried oregano 12 oz. of cottage cheese sub trecce dell'orto pasta cubed chicken (for chunkiness) sub regular sharp cheddar sub skim milk sub cream of mushroom soup It did take 1 hr 30 min total time, but it was EASY cooking. Tasted great! Will definitely make this again. Next time will season the chicken.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahoof January 14, 2010

I didn't have fresh oregano but did everything else exactly as directed..............can't wait for the left overs for lunch tomorrow!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VA August 18, 2009

OMG this is the best recipe EVER! Everyone in my family ate it up. Thank you sooo much for posting and I cant wait to make it again with our own favorites. Bless you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennybug June 16, 2009

I liked this recipe, but don't think DH cared for it too much. I made a half recipe to use up some spinach that was about to go bad. Subbed bowtie pasta and dried oregano since that's what I had on hand. DIdn't have a lot of cottage cheese so added some leftover ricotta. Cheesy and delicious. Oh, and I seasoned up the chicken breast that I sauteed in olive oil with some Emeril Chicken rub. I think this added some to the flavor. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 March 11, 2009

Yum-my!! We absolutely loved this dish. My husband said it was in the top 3 of everything I've ever made. :) That's a major compliment coming from someone who thinks number one is Totino's pizza rolls. Two of my kids gobbled this down and two didn't, but wow---we adored it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Doozer February 10, 2009
Three-Cheese Chicken Penne Florentine