17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The smell was making me hungry while it was cooking! It was so easy to make and it tasted great! I served with a salad and Dale's Deviled Eggs. My husband loved it and was estatic that there was leftovers. I didn't have lima beans, so I used northern beans instead. Excellent recipe that anyone would love!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeAnne Conaway September 23, 2002

My husband thought this was a little bland, but I liked it! Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feathered Fury September 08, 2011

I gave this recipe 4 stars. My family liked this bake. My husband liked this the best. I thought it was a little to sweet for me. I did like the idea of meat and beans. My beans turned more out to be like chili. The copy of this recipe I have came from Taste Of Home. They used black beans instead of lima beans (which my family do not like anyway). Since TOH says to use red wine vinegar or cider vinegar I choose to use the cider vinegar. The baked beans did not say to drain them so we did not. Overall I think I will make these again. Thanks for posting Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut March 16, 2011

This was really good. (I kept sneaking spoonfuls of it while it was cooking in the skillet!) I did not have any baked beans in my pantry, so I substituted pinto beans (rinsed and drained) and added a little more brown sugar. I served this with mashed potatoes; husband suggested skillet cornbread would be good too. Leftovers were a bit hit as well. A keeper! Thanks for posting! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FattyFat August 03, 2010

My aunt makes this recipe. She always adds a pound of bacon also. Instead of kidney beans she uses chili beans, I guess they add a little more flavor. She doubles it to fit in a 6 qt crock pot. She cooks hers in the crockpot for 2-3 hours on low, I think.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel June 17, 2009

I didn't think it would turn out as well as it did. The first thing I tasted was a bit of sweetness which was a bit surprising but very good! I added a bit more ketchup (1 tbs.) and vinegar (1 tbs.) because I read the previous reviews that this turns out a tad dry. I also added 1/2 cup of cooked bacon, 1/2 tbs. hot pepper flakes and 1 tbs. of chili paste to give it a nice kick. I didn't think so but my fiance thought it was a bit dry so I would add more vinegar and ketchup as Roxygirl suggested. This is definitely a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbglo June 01, 2009

This was really good- a nice blend of textures (with the beans). I found the mixture to be on the dry side, so I added about another 1/3 cup ketchup and 2 more tbs. vinegar, which made it a bit more "saucy." I used Heinz Veg. beans and they didn't have as much liquid as pork and beans. Thanks Princess Buttercup, for posting. Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado March 11, 2009

I'm always looking for something tasty to make with ground turkey. This fit the bill. Even my BF, who is a chef, liked this comfort food! I upped the mustard to 1 TB, added 1TB of smoky BBQ sauce and skipped the lima beans because I don't like them. I also skipped the sweet ingredients (sugar and molasses) but based on another review about the caramelization properties, I may add them next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
one_of_t2 June 21, 2008

Superb mix! I love ground turkey as a beef sub, and this recipe does it great justice. Not to mention the fact that it is loaded with beans and seasonings that taste wonderful too :) No substitutions needed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peachie Keene February 28, 2008
Three Bean Turkey Burger Bake