Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Three Bean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Three Bean Salad

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2003

      I made this for the crowd at work. I doubled the recipe and it was enough for 20 people. Everybody loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2004

      I love this recipe, I add chickpeas too it also but sometimes leave out the green pepper if I don't have it. It still tastes fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      I was very frustrated at having lost my Three Bean Salad recipe and decided to look through Zaar to see if I could find something similar. Well, this is it. I will also add garbanzo beans, and sometimes leave out the green pepper, but it is the dressing that makes it so good. You are right, the red wine vinegar is what makes all the difference. This is the best stuff. I would often have just a big bowl of this with some crusty bread for a meal. Thank you for posting this recipe here. It made my day to find it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2003

      I consider my father's approval very hard to win-this got his attention! He said to me "I always pass this salad by when I'm at a salad bar, I guess I don't know why". I told him to try some and he LOVED IT! Asked me for three days if "I still had some of that salad around?". The only hint I'd give is-Buy high quality beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2004

      I have always liked 3-bean salad, but over the years I've just forgotten about it until I saw this recipe. I made it tonight along with pork chops and potatoes, grilled, and what an incredible meal it made! I couldn't wait for the beans to marinate and I picked at it all day long (it called me from the refrigerator). Lucky I had enough for supper when my DH got home! EXCELLENT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      This recipe calls for all the ingredients that I love. I made this salad for my husband's summer birthday party and it was a crowd pleaser. I will keep this recipe right with my most used recipes and will make it again and again over the years.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      This has become my husbands favorite... Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      I also used Splenda sweetner instead of sugar and white vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. Passed it on to a friend and they used a splash of Italian salad dressing and said it was tasty both ways.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      I hate giving such low rating but I'm sorry that we did not like the dressing at all. I had to throw the whole batch out, so sorry I will not be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      Pretty good, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Great recipe and has been become a family favorite. Tripled the recipe, but only used 1/2 cup total oil. Also, used a combination of light & dark red kidney beans and chick peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I got many compliments on this at my BBQ. I didn't have red wine vinegar, so I used Basalmic instead. I was afraid it would be too tart, but the sugar balanced it well, and my friends said they liked the basalmic vinegar. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2007

      It was good. I added some garlic, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      i misplaced my mother's three bean salad recipe and when i came across this one on Recipezaar i was amazed how similar they were. the only difference, the type of vinegar used. my mom uses cider, but i prefer the red wine. thank you country lady for posting this wonderful family recipe that has been handed down for generations on my mom's side of the family. we all love this easy to make, plentiful side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      I tried this for the first time and I must say very YUMMY!!! Thanks for sharing it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2006

      The perfect balance of tart and sweet. I used an extra can of green beans since I didn't have yellow ones and a can of garbanzo beans instead of green pepper. The red onion and red vinegar are key for flavor, but I'm going to see if I can get away with using a little less sugar next time, just to be healthier (tastewise, I wouldn't change a thing!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2006

      Just plain yummy and so easy to prepare. I did eliminate the pepper as the company didn't like it. I will definitely make this one again and have saved the recipe to My Cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      I can't rate the original as I made too many changes! I used one can green beans and one can navy beans (it was all I had), one green onion, half the dressing recipe plus a little more vinegar, a squirt of lemon juice and about two teaspoons of stone ground mustard. It was great. Thanks for the perfect base recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      We love bean salads and this was a delightful change from a very similar recipe that is favorite at our house! The red wine vinegar was a nice change of pace,will be adding this to my Bean Salad collection. Thanks Country Lady for a Bean Salad that we all enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2004

      This is an old geezer's delight! This is a terrific recipe, even without the onion, which wasn't in the refrigerator. I substituted 5+ tsp of Equal for the sugar and reduced the oil for dietary reasons. It will be perfect for my Bible study luncheon. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Three Bean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 261.5
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    33%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 298.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 22.2 g
    88%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites