40 Reviews

This was a really tasty and easy to make salad! The flavor is right on the mark for the classic bean-salad taste. If there was a little extra dressing, I used it up by putting in a couple extra cans of beans: I used 6 cans total, which seemed just right, and all the different beans looked just beautiful. Thanks for a great recipe! :)

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau June 05, 2002

Very good flavor. Will use this recipe a lot this summer.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlise June 10, 2002

Good flavor. I thought it made just a bit too much dressing, but everyone loved it. Thanks.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsKittyKat May 19, 2002

This is a great simple recipe that I'm using with all kinds of beans. It keeps in the fridge forever so it makes dinners and lunches a little easier if I make a big batch on the weekend and use it throughout the week. I've found that I can reduce the oil to 1/4 cup without much of a difference and drop a lot of calories. Also adding parsley and dill has been very successful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irish Fraulein October 18, 2009

Very tasty! Based on some others reviews, I made a few very minor modifications. Some others stated there was too much dressing, so I decreased those ingredients to 1/3 cup each, and that amount seemed just right. Increased the seasoned salt to 1 tsp, added a can of garbanzo beans and a chopped green pepper. This is going in my permanent file. Thank you for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beth A. July 04, 2009

This is great! My store doesn't carry wax beans, so I made it with pintos. I also didn't have red wine vinegar, and thought balsamic would make the dressing too sweet, so I used cider. I think I'll make a point to use the red next time. I also think this recipe needs a lot more salt, especially where I tried this with a total of 6 cans of beans as Sue L. suggested in her review. I may try the salad with 5 cans of beans next time as there wasn't quite enough dressing to suit me. I think I'll also add a whole small sweet onion instead of just half of it. The flavor is all there, and I'll definitely be making this a lot! Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Two Socks March 21, 2004

This was very good. I used a white balsamic vinegar and slightly less oil, just based on personal preference (1/3 cup). I'll be making this again. It was a nice addition to a summer picnic! Upgraded stars to five after my boyfriend's father said he's never had better three-bean salad. Also, I took it to work today for a picnic lunch we had and it was ALL gone!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie July 12, 2011

This was great! I used chickpeas, kidney beans and a can of mixed beans. Loved the flavor of the tangy sweet marinade and it was super easy to make. It will become a definite go-to salad!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook April 09, 2011

I am getting a little tired of macaroni or potato salads and wanted to give something different a try. This salad was very good and the dressing worked well with the beans. I used kosher salt instead of seasoning salt, garlic red wine vinegar, and minced a red onion. I had cut green beans and liked the size of them next to the wax and kidney beans. Refrigerated the salad for about 8 hours and enjoyed it a lot. Made and reviewed for the Game Forums - I Recommend Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 June 30, 2010

Yummy! I didn't have wax beans so used pinto beans like Two Socks did. I also left out the onion and added cilantro. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty May 16, 2010
Three Bean Salad