Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Three Bean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Three Bean Salad

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2002

      This was a really tasty and easy to make salad! The flavor is right on the mark for the classic bean-salad taste. If there was a little extra dressing, I used it up by putting in a couple extra cans of beans: I used 6 cans total, which seemed just right, and all the different beans looked just beautiful. Thanks for a great recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      Very good flavor. Will use this recipe a lot this summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2002

      Good flavor. I thought it made just a bit too much dressing, but everyone loved it. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      This is a great simple recipe that I'm using with all kinds of beans. It keeps in the fridge forever so it makes dinners and lunches a little easier if I make a big batch on the weekend and use it throughout the week. I've found that I can reduce the oil to 1/4 cup without much of a difference and drop a lot of calories. Also adding parsley and dill has been very successful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Very tasty! Based on some others reviews, I made a few very minor modifications. Some others stated there was too much dressing, so I decreased those ingredients to 1/3 cup each, and that amount seemed just right. Increased the seasoned salt to 1 tsp, added a can of garbanzo beans and a chopped green pepper. This is going in my permanent file. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2004

      This is great! My store doesn't carry wax beans, so I made it with pintos. I also didn't have red wine vinegar, and thought balsamic would make the dressing too sweet, so I used cider. I think I'll make a point to use the red next time. I also think this recipe needs a lot more salt, especially where I tried this with a total of 6 cans of beans as Sue L. suggested in her review. I may try the salad with 5 cans of beans next time as there wasn't quite enough dressing to suit me. I think I'll also add a whole small sweet onion instead of just half of it. The flavor is all there, and I'll definitely be making this a lot! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      This was very good. I used a white balsamic vinegar and slightly less oil, just based on personal preference (1/3 cup). I'll be making this again. It was a nice addition to a summer picnic! Upgraded stars to five after my boyfriend's father said he's never had better three-bean salad. Also, I took it to work today for a picnic lunch we had and it was ALL gone!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      This was great! I used chickpeas, kidney beans and a can of mixed beans. Loved the flavor of the tangy sweet marinade and it was super easy to make. It will become a definite go-to salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      I am getting a little tired of macaroni or potato salads and wanted to give something different a try. This salad was very good and the dressing worked well with the beans. I used kosher salt instead of seasoning salt, garlic red wine vinegar, and minced a red onion. I had cut green beans and liked the size of them next to the wax and kidney beans. Refrigerated the salad for about 8 hours and enjoyed it a lot. Made and reviewed for the Game Forums - I Recommend Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Yummy! I didn't have wax beans so used pinto beans like Two Socks did. I also left out the onion and added cilantro. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      This was really good. I only used 1 can of kidney beans and I left out the onion. I also used slightly less than 1/2 cup of oil instead of the full 1/2 cup because I prefer my bean salad to be more vinegary and less oily.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      This is the same recipe that my mom always used when I was a kid and I still use today. I like to add chopped pimentos and lima beans to mine for a change of pace. Very good recipe thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      This is amazing and we can't stop eating it.I use fresh green beans and add canned beans..chick peas /black beans and kidney beans.The next day I throw in corn and add more beans as this makes a lot of dressing.Thank you.This is a staple at our house now.Very healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      This is a classic Three Bean Salad with a nice twist. I made it following the recipe almost to the letter, except I drained the kidney beans. I used balsamic vinegar which gave it a nice updated flavor. Super easy and quick to make. My husband loved it! This is a keeper. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      A classic three bean salad taste! A easy recipe to put together that looks pretty and tastes good! The only change I made was making half the dressing~~just a personal taste. A delicious recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      Easy and delicious, I love this recipe. As per other reviewers, I used 5 different cans of beans (cut green beans, black beans, red kidney, canneli and garbanzo), reduced the amount of dressing by half and substituted Stevia for sugar. Tasted great. I will add fresh herbs (parsley, cilantro or green onions) just before serving. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2012

      Just made this using green beans, chick peas and kidney beans as that is what I had on hand. Very good and I'm sure will be even better after it sits awhile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      Yum, a family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Really good! I used dried onions for convenience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Great salad. DH kept eating and eating as he just loved it. I only had one can of kidney beans but it was still great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Three Bean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (242 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.4
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    42%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 343.9 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites