Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Three Bean Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Three Bean Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on December 11, 2013

      Great recipe. I used less oil and sugar than called for. I also used celery in place of green pepper because our green pepper went bad. Love it. So easy and yummy. I blanched fresh green beans and submerged in iced water to keep the bright green color and snappy taste. This is so versatile. I've used different types of beans (cannellini, northern beans, butter beans, black eyed peas, etc...).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      Simple, quick, and unexpectedly tasty. We made this a part of our cooking club, and while looking at all the beans not screem, eat me - all of loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      Very good recipe. I did cut the sugar to 1/4 cup and this morning it tastes perfect! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      What a fabulous recipe. I used canned green beans and made certain they were well washed with the chick peas and kidney beans. Added red capsicum as I find it's a bit sweeter and reduced the amount sugar. Inceased the pepper to about 3/4 teaspoon as I like freshly ground pepper. I did let it sit in the fridge for 24 hours to allow flavours to develop. It kept very well for 4 days. Great for work lunches. My partner is not a huge salad eater and really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      I made this today as a side for Easter dinner and my family really liked it. I did, too. My mom is recovering from a recent heart attack so I found no salt added beans and used those instead. I also added a can of wax beans. I put in a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes because I thought it would benefit from a little heat. I also added some freshly ground black pepper. I missed the salt but it was a really yummy side. Full of healthy fiber. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      This is super easy and very good. I used canned green beans instead of fresh because thats what I had on hand. Decreased the sugar a little bit too. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This was the best 3 bean salad I've ever had. Everyone went back for seconds and even thirds! I followed the recipe except I used White Wine Vinegar because that's all I had. I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      perfect - just like my mom's. I subbed can of wax beans for garbanzos, and used red bell pepper instead of green as I don't like green. Yummy perfect for summertime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      I will cut the sugar down to 1/4 - 1/3 cup next time as I thought it was just a little too sweet. I added a can of yellow wax beans and 1/2 of a red pepper I had on hand. Colorful and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

    • on April 05, 2007

      I use this dressing with any type of canned bean assortment. I make sure I rinse the canned beans well, especially the black beans and have thrown a can of kernel corn in too. I also add 2-3 TBSP chopped fresh parsley to the mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Tastes just like deli bean salad. I substituted white onion for red, didn't have green pepper, cut the sugar some, and used black pepper. Mmmm. A great way to get fiber into the diet! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2005

      This was very easy to prepare. For personal preference I left out the gr. pepper and used black pepper in place of the white called for. This was very tasty. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      I cut the amount of oil in half and replaced the sugar with Splenda. The sweet and sour balance was just wonderful and made a perfect dressing for this bean salad. I had some at 5 hour and again after it sat overnight. The later was definitely better as the red onions had released more of their flavor and mellowed into the rest of the dish. Yum. Thanks Kaarin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      I put this all into a large jar, i did have to add 1 more cup of vinegar and then topped it all with some cold water to cover.Added 4 cloves of garlic slightly crushed. This is Delish a must try good for you side!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      Excellent version of this classic recipe. It had the perfect mix of sweet/sour tang, and just the right amount of dressing for the beans. I'm placing this one in my favorite salads cookbook, and you can be sure it will be made often, because it's so easy to make before chilling it overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Three Bean Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.6
     
    Calories from Fat 105
    41%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 458.4 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.0 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 11.1 g
    44%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites