21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the most fantastic Bake Bean Recipe. Just like you, it is a frequent request with family and friends. You won't go back to regular bake beans again. It is even better as a leftover which can be eaten as a meal with fresh bread.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M April 10, 2003

Oh man, this was incredible. I could not find a can of butter beans so I used a can of navy beans instead which was stupid because that's what pork and beans is made of, but it was really good anyway. Next time I'll use a different type...I prepared this exactly as written except for the bean substitution, and I was well pleased. This will be the only baked bean recipe I will use from now on. And it's super easy too. Thank you so much!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TrinkDawg April 21, 2003

A wonderful baked bean dish. I used 6 slices of bacon instead of 5 ('cause I love bacon ). I baked this in the oven, but covered it first; other wise the beans themselves will dry out. The next time I hope to cook this in the crock pot. "Thanks DDW for the recipe; it was GOOD"!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Domestic Goddess April 16, 2003

I took this dish to work today for our Nurses Day celebration and it was a huge hit. I got numerous requests for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jazz Lover May 11, 2010

I have to say this was AWESOME. I did make 2 subs though. I didn't have ground beef, but I had some leftover baked ham, so I chopped up about an equal amount on tossed it in. Also, no butterbeans, so I just used 2 cans of kidney beans instead of 1. After it was all in the crockpot, I noticed a jalapeƱo in my fridge, so I seeded and chopped it and added it to the pot. It wasn't spicy at all and maybe added a little extra flavor. Overall, I was worried this was going to be too sweet, what with 2 kinds of sugar, molasses and all the corn syrup in the ketchup and BBQ sauce. It was on the edge, but delicious. I might back off on the sugar next time, but maybe not. Wife and kids loved it. I don't know if I'd use the ground beef even if I had it. Guess I'll have to try to find out.

This was very easy to put together and it was really great. Highly recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evil Genius July 03, 2011

I have been using this recipe for the past 2 years and figure it's time to write a review. This is the best baked beans recipe I have ever had!! Every person who has tried them has agreed. I make them just the way you say, except I always double the recipe. I have never tried them in the crock pot, but love them from the oven. Sweet and salty, thick and creamy...what can I say? I love these beans!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookinMama304 April 22, 2011

This recipe is excellent! Very easy and delicious. I was looking for a homey meal but didn't have the time to throw into it and this was fantastic! Everybody enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Minxy24/7 August 15, 2008

I made this in the crock pot and have since frozen and reheated portions. Very tasty, quick and easy to prepare and freezes / reheats well. In my part of the world I needed to sub a couple of the ingredients, so for any South Africans out there, I used HP Sauce for the barbecue sauce, tinned baked beans for the pork and beans and treacle for the molasses. Thank you for a really delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shazzie August 07, 2008

made these with 107786 and we loved the whole meal!!! i will use grouhd turkey next time to save calories though. very yummy!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thebrumms April 03, 2008
Three-Bean Baked Beans (Oven or Crock Pot)