8 Reviews

Loved this dressing! It is the BEST Thousand Island I have ever eaten. I used plain ole Heinz relish.....just think what it would be with a great relish. I used this on a salad with mixed greens & also as a dressing on some cocktail Reuben sandwiches (#28630). Many thanks to you, Aroostook!...(why did I buy bottled dressing all those years?)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda B February 23, 2004

This is a great dressing and now is asked for at least once a week! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka March 09, 2011

My Grandma used to make her own Thousand Island dressing and it was wonderful. I was always eyeballing measurements and needed this one to be more on. So I came across yours that had some similar ingredients. I did omit the sugars, vinegar, salt and pepper. I used the mayo, ketchup, sweet pickle relish, and dried onions. I then added a couple shakes of garlic powder and 2 teaspoons of Sriracha sauce. Served it over my own version of Shrimp Louie Salad with hot garlic bread. DH LOVED it. Thanks so much for a great starter recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sky Hostess August 06, 2009

Really a nice little recipe. Outstanding for reubens- might want to thin it with a little pickle juice or extra vinegar for salads. Tastes like restaurant quality dressing. As per my own taste, I did use 1 Tbs of onion flakes and 1 heaping Tbs of relish and omitted the brown sugar. If using onion flakes, it must sit at least an hour to soften them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaylee August 27, 2008

I used Splenda white and brown sugar. Came out excellent. I also use it for my homemade version of Steak n Shake's Frisco burger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Get's Alot February 24, 2008

This was good on the turkey reubens I made for dinner. I didn't think it was good on my salad, though. Too thick I think. I'd make a quarter recipe for reubens again, but probably wouldn't use it on salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit August 02, 2007

I really liked this! I left out the brown sugar and don't think it needs it. It's quite tangy and yummy! The only thing I'd change is a bit more sweet pickle relish and maybe fresh onion instead of dried. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elainegl January 14, 2005

This was pretty good stuff... better than the bottled kind for sure. 5 stars for ease of preparation and simple on-hand-ingredients list, 4 stars for overall taste (I might try adding a little more zing next time, dry mustard or worchestershire perhaps, as i've seen in other 1000 Island versions).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
incdeb April 25, 2004
Thousand Island Dressing