Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thousand Island Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thousand Island Dressing

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2013

      This is the best recipe! I've made it several times and haven't purchased bottled thousand island dressing since. <br/>HERE IS A TIP:<br/>The first thing I do is dissolve the sugar completely in the vinegar. That way I don't have to wait several hours for the sugar to dissolve while in the refrigerator. Mine is ready to go as soon as I make it. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Wow, I am so glad that I ran out of salad dressing! I made a huge green salad for dinner topped with shrimp, tomatoes, avocado and sliced hard boiled eggs - and then realized I had only greek dressing in the fridge. This might have been okay in a pinch, but this dressing made it awesome! I left out the sugar, because the relish gave just the right amount of sweetness. One of the best salads I have ever had (if I do say so myself)!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      Better than store bought! Thanks for sharing. BTW, you can substitute the white vinegar with white balsamic vinegar and leave out the sugar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2010

      Thanks for an AWESOME dressing!! I think it tastes just like dressing from O'Charley's. Without the High Fructose Corn syrup. Of course the ketchup and pickles had it though. I added a diced boiled egg and it was awesome! 1 recipe was enough for me, my 4 year old and my husband with just a bit left over. We all LOVED IT!! Much much better than store bought. I am going to try and make my own pickle relish and ketchup this summer without corn syrup. I can't wait to try this dressing with those!! We WILL be making this OFTEN!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2014

      An oral sensory explosion culminating in a moment of perfect mayonnaise and ketchup glory. Perfect as a midnight snack or as a drink to go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      I've made this recipe about 10 times already and I love it! I use Vegenaise instead of regular mayo and had a little extra relish. It takes 100 times better than the bottled stuff. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2014

      I just made this dressing.....it was really good. We added 1 teaspoon of jalapeño peppers to it fora little kick. Wow...we had black bean burgers and quinoa and brown rice. Will try yogurt instead of mayo next time....yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2014

      This was perfect! I substituted honey for the sugar and onion powder for the minced onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2014

      Turned out great to put on our Reuben sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      This is awesome! Instead of ketchup, I used Heinz chili sauce and left out the vinegar and I highly recommend it. It's much better than store-bought! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2014

      The best recipe ever and so, so simple. My family loved it and like the others I will never buy store bought again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      I used this super easy recipe to throw together as a sauce for the reubens I was making from our leftover St. Patrick's Day corned beef.... Not only was it fantastic on my reubens but I couldn't help to notice that it was better than the normally greasy/ oily store-bought version... I am not a fan of thousand island as a salad dressing personally, but I love it as a sandwich sauce. I will totally be using this recipe again and again for my cheeseburgers, reubens and other sandwiches. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      This is DEFINITELY better than that bottled stuff. I saw where someone left out the sugar. I tried it with and without the sugar, and I believe it offsets the salt added in the recipe and the salt in the ketchup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      Super yummy. Thanks for posting Graybert. I needed some for a recipe but forgot to get a bottle at the store as it is not my regular dressing. This tastes just like the way it was when I was a kid and my mom made it.The color is a titch lighter but the flavor is spot on. Definitely better than bottled. I will make again when the need arises as the ingredients were in my pantry or fridge already. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      Thanks for sharing. I had everything to make a Reuben Sandwich except the dressing. I will never buy store brand again. I only buy the dressing for these sandwiches, so I usually end up wasting a half a bottle or so. With this recipe I can make only what I need and it tastes so much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      This is by far "the best" homemade 1,000 island dressing. This recipe definitely deserves more than 5 stars. I always double the ingredients, except for the onion, salt, and pepper. I only add 2 teaspoons of the minced onion, 2 pinches of salt, and just the dash of pepper. I may even add a pinch of paprika. The dressing tastes even better when refrigerated over night, plus it thickens up a bit more. This recipe is definitely a keeper! Thank you Victoryred for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2013

      Astonishingly good. Added a tbs of Sriracha and served it over a wedge of iceberg lettuce. Sensational!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2013

      Easy to put together. It is a thin Thousand Island Dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      So much better than store bought! I was making a single corned beef sandwich (Boar's Head First Cut Corned Beef is fabulous and virtually fat-free) and couldn't justify buying a bottle of dressing - also didn't want to over power the meat with mustard - excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      Great dressing, we added a little horse radish to it to give it a zest & it's amazing. Left out the sugar. Best shrimp Louie ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thousand Island Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (37 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 108.9
     
    Calories from Fat 71
    65%
    Total Fat 7.9 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 6.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 308.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites