86 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I got this recipe from a girl I used to work with - after one bite I had to know how to make these! Now my family and friends have nicknamed them "crack" because you just can't stop munching on them. I use the butter snap pretzels made by Snyder - they are shaped like square checkerboards and are perfect for this candy. These make great gifts :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee May 06, 2009

I can't have sugar, so I tried this recipe with Russel Stovers Sugar Free Carmel Drops and they were great. I took them to a party last night and they were the first things gone. Thanks!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
honeycutt.family December 13, 2008

These are so good! I made them with the square Dove chocolate caramel candies and Snyder's Snap (square) pretzels to take to a Memorial day BBQ. Of course we had to sample a few. :) Just to know, a bag of Snap pretzels is more than enough for 2 (9.5 oz) bags of Dove squares, and I got about 50 or so. I could've probably used about 3 bags of Dove candies. My husband suggested Peanut butter Dove candies, sandwiched between two pretzel snaps - I might try that next time! Thanks for the idea!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 May 27, 2008

This is exactly the recipe that my MIL made one Christmas and passed on to my husband and myself. I still can't believe how fabulous they are given how ridiculously simple they are! We always use square pretzels for bases (just easier in our opinion) and they take about five minutes to soften in our oven. They do get a little tedious to build but it's so worth it in the end - your patience will be rewarded! If you can't find Rolos (only one store in our area has them!) you might try using Hershey's Kisses with caramel, they're pretty close to the same thing, though I would guess that they'd melt a little bit faster than Rolos.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenofeats January 29, 2008

put foil on the pan for much easier clean up. This will be my new staple to take to work for potlucks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmh99 January 06, 2008

Love these. I place parchment paper on the cookie sheet before baking. Also, for a major time saving tip: buy the Rollo bars in the candy isle rather than in a bag so you don't have to unwrap each Rollo individually (there are 8 candies per bar, so buy as needed).

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AngieME December 20, 2007

My 5 year old daughter and I just made these for the first time tonight. It was so easy and she was able to do it all by herself except for the oven work. She didn't want my help at all. She kept saying "I can do it by myself, okay?". It was too cute. She was so excited about these and they came out picture perfect. It was such a confidence booster for her! Oh, yeah....and they tasted yummy too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
"mom of girls" April 06, 2012

I was informed about this recipe for a pet bake sale to make. They turned out to be a great hit!

Since that time I have made numerious batches for us and our friends

We love it with peanut butter m&m's.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLUE ROSE December 29, 2011

I made these to take to work for Valentine's day. They were a big hit. I used Valentine M&M's instead of pecans. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanita February 14, 2010

so easy and so yummy! i used parchment paper tp make the clean up easier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skssandy December 29, 2007
Those Pretzel Things ( Pecan Rollo Bites)