Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thin Salsa Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thin Salsa

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2013

      This was good, but it was missing something. After preparing, I did spice it up quite a bit, but both my partner and I thought it was just OK. Tasted fresh though. Yes, I will vary the ingredients and try again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2012

      Amazing SALSA!! I've been looking for a thin but good spicy salsa and I finally found it! I will definitely keep this recipe! I had to add a few more peppers than it called for, but that's okay. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Hubby asked me to search Zaar for the thin salsa we get a mexican restaurants and yours turned out great! He loved it. I added some diced jalapeno and more cayenne pepper -- we like spicy. Will make again and again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      This was really good and does really taste like the stuff you get in Mexican restaurants. I made it for some tacos because I don't like paying a lot for the the sub-par taco sauce and salsa you get in the supermarkets here. I added a bit of sugar as one of the reviewers suggested. I would suggest letting it sit overnight because you get the full flavour then. Update: Oct 24 - I decided to try something a bit different with the recipe and left out the cayenne and instead put in a very finely chopped bird's eye in a double recipe of it for more of a kick. It made a wonderful hot salsa without overpowering the other flavours. You could do this with any other hot chili pepper, I just prefer the flavour of bird's eye chilis over very hot ones. I am looking forward to this in my Mexican dinner tonight. Thanks again for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This was so good and so easy! I didn't bother dicing or chopping anything - just threw it all in the blender. When I tasted to see if it needed anything, I kept dipping my spoon back in for another taste - perfect as is. Instead of whole tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes with green onion and peppers. Mixed this salsa with some light sour cream to go on my tacos tonight. I can barely wait for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Cheap, good, tasty. Iliked that it was thin. I did add some jalapeno hot sauce to zip it up a bit. Good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      This was delicious. I have had this in my recipe box for a long time(waiting for someone to review). I wasn't crazy about it right away but the longer it chilled the better it got. I did add some sugar,it was bitter from the tomatoes, reduced the salt and cumin. I didn't really measure the cilantro and onion. I put it on Nachos(the supreme kind with all the good stuff)and think I liked it better using it that way instead of just a plain chip dip. The more I ate though the more it grew on me. I made it too mild at first because kids wanted some so after they took theirs I dumped in a whole bunch of cayenne, Yummy! I did blend in a Jalapeno also. Thanks John

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2007

      YUMMY! I accidentally added about 2 teaspoons of cumin, and wow was it ever strong, next time i will use only 1/2 a teaspoon. Also i used garlic powder and minced onion (dried) cause i didn't have any fresh. I added a can of green diced chilies and it added a lot of flavor. So easy and so much cheaper than buying salsa from the store! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2007

      YUMMY! I only used 1/2 the amount of cumin. I also bought parlsey by mistake, so I used it instead of cilantro. Very good! I will try making it again with the cilantro. Thanks John!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      This is a great winter salsa that worked well for us - increased heat by adding 2 partially seeded green jalapenos & some diced sweet pepper to balance. Used entire lime. This is mighty tasty as a tortilla dipping sauce as well as on tacos & burrittos. Next batch will use 1/2 the cumin - seemed abit strong(could be we ground ours fresh). Thanks for posting John.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thin Salsa

    Serving Size: 1 (84 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 25.6
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    10%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1169.5 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.6 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites