161 Reviews

amazingly soft, even the day after. for anyone who doesnt have/like shortening... i used all butter (1 cup) instead of half shortening and they turned out great. i also made them a little smaller than 2 tbsp which i found corresponded better to the baking time of 10 minutes (though i did about 12). the best soft cookie recipe ive tried!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tea_for_too March 06, 2011

I have been searching for just the right recipe that makes a soft chewy crispy chocolate chip cookie & this is it!! They came out so perfect & my family loved them! Not too flat, not too crisp, but just right! You will not be disappointed soft chewy & delicious

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixieshimmer July 02, 2011

I don't give five stars for ANYTHING. My boyfriend and I love trying new recipes and when we decided to make cookies we started with a Rachel Ray recipe and a Bobby Flay. Neither of them were even half as good as these. The description on these is perfect and the directions are too. Wouldn't change a thing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmart056 July 14, 2011

This was not a bad recipe. The first time I made it, I did it exactly as the recipe called for. They were good, but there was room for improvement. The second time, I did 3/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening, and swapped out one or two tablespoons brown sugar for white granulated. I thought there was too much of a hint of molasses with all brown sugar. Other than that, great recipe and a delicious treat. Thank you!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Miss Rachel. November 06, 2008

These Cookies are AWESOME. My family LOVES them, and will only eat these cookies now. They stay nice and soft even to the next day, if they last that long. In my oven I have to bake them at 350 for 9 minutes, but it varies from oven to oven and baking sheet to baking sheet. Thanks for a great cookie.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
snook25aj December 25, 2011

Very tasty cookie with a rich flavor from using all brown sugar. Mine were between 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick, dense & chewy, and soft (but not puffy or cake-like). The chewy- & moist-ness is retained for several days if stored in a sealed container/bag. The dough is nice to work with & freezes well for later use. These were greatly enjoyed by my fam & me, thanks for posting Marg! :)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Almond July 27, 2010

Ok, if I could I would give this one 20 stars!!!!! I am a very picky chocolate chip cookie eater, and these blew all of my other recipes out of the water. One of the things I love - aside from the perfectly soft texture and richness - is that these are easily doubled, can freeze well, and store as good as fresh for days in an air-tight container. I did not have any of the little issues that were mentioned in the recipe comments, and I was not nearly as careful as she recommended...as I am lazy!!! These are GREAT. Period. Thanks!!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pawsfurthought June 02, 2010

I have tried several different recipes for chocolate chip cookies. They're all good. I stumbled on this one a couple of weeks ago and made a batch. They were eaten that same day. Since then I have put two batches in the freezer and two rolls of the dough in the fridge. This is a great recipe. It is so easy to slice a few and bake them for a treat. If you are pressed for time and need something to send with kids for their lunch box, they will love them. I experimented with some of the dough and pressed it into a 8x8 pan and baked them. While still warm I cut into squares and put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top of each square. Terrific. This will easily be my "go to" recipe for chocolate chip cookies. Thank you very much Marg.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikado April 23, 2012

These cookies are awesome! After trying a bunch of different recipes I finally found THE ONE! Finally a cookie that doesn't end up spreading on me. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shani Banani January 16, 2012

Fantastic tasting and easy to make. I made these cookies for a Christmas gathering. I followed the recipe exactly except the size. To accommodate the children, I made smaller cookies in addition to the larger size. I used a cookie scoop that was approximately 1 T. I baked them for 6 minutes and let them cool on the tray for 3-4 min. They turned out perfectly...soft on the inside and slightly crisp on the outside. Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V. Shaw January 15, 2012
Thick, Soft, and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies