Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thick, Soft, and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thick, Soft, and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    145 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 145

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2011

      amazingly soft, even the day after. for anyone who doesnt have/like shortening... i used all butter (1 cup) instead of half shortening and they turned out great. i also made them a little smaller than 2 tbsp which i found corresponded better to the baking time of 10 minutes (though i did about 12). the best soft cookie recipe ive tried!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      I have been searching for just the right recipe that makes a soft chewy crispy chocolate chip cookie & this is it!! They came out so perfect & my family loved them! Not too flat, not too crisp, but just right! You will not be disappointed soft chewy & delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      I don't give five stars for ANYTHING. My boyfriend and I love trying new recipes and when we decided to make cookies we started with a Rachel Ray recipe and a Bobby Flay. Neither of them were even half as good as these. The description on these is perfect and the directions are too. Wouldn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Very tasty cookie with a rich flavor from using all brown sugar. Mine were between 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick, dense & chewy, and soft (but not puffy or cake-like). The chewy- & moist-ness is retained for several days if stored in a sealed container/bag. The dough is nice to work with & freezes well for later use. These were greatly enjoyed by my fam & me, thanks for posting Marg! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Ok, if I could I would give this one 20 stars!!!!! I am a very picky chocolate chip cookie eater, and these blew all of my other recipes out of the water. One of the things I love - aside from the perfectly soft texture and richness - is that these are easily doubled, can freeze well, and store as good as fresh for days in an air-tight container. I did not have any of the little issues that were mentioned in the recipe comments, and I was not nearly as careful as she recommended...as I am lazy!!! These are GREAT. Period. Thanks!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2008

      This was not a bad recipe. The first time I made it, I did it exactly as the recipe called for. They were good, but there was room for improvement. The second time, I did 3/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening, and swapped out one or two tablespoons brown sugar for white granulated. I thought there was too much of a hint of molasses with all brown sugar. Other than that, great recipe and a delicious treat. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2012

      I have tried several different recipes for chocolate chip cookies. They're all good. I stumbled on this one a couple of weeks ago and made a batch. They were eaten that same day. Since then I have put two batches in the freezer and two rolls of the dough in the fridge. This is a great recipe. It is so easy to slice a few and bake them for a treat. If you are pressed for time and need something to send with kids for their lunch box, they will love them. I experimented with some of the dough and pressed it into a 8x8 pan and baked them. While still warm I cut into squares and put a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top of each square. Terrific. This will easily be my "go to" recipe for chocolate chip cookies. Thank you very much Marg.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      These cookies are awesome! After trying a bunch of different recipes I finally found THE ONE! Finally a cookie that doesn't end up spreading on me. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Fantastic tasting and easy to make. I made these cookies for a Christmas gathering. I followed the recipe exactly except the size. To accommodate the children, I made smaller cookies in addition to the larger size. I used a cookie scoop that was approximately 1 T. I baked them for 6 minutes and let them cool on the tray for 3-4 min. They turned out perfectly...soft on the inside and slightly crisp on the outside. Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      These Cookies are AWESOME. My family LOVES them, and will only eat these cookies now. They stay nice and soft even to the next day, if they last that long. In my oven I have to bake them at 350 for 9 minutes, but it varies from oven to oven and baking sheet to baking sheet. Thanks for a great cookie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Just as advertised! Thick, soft and chewy! What more could you want in your chocolate chip cookie? This will now be my go to recipe for CCC! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      Simply the best. I like to makes these with baking chocolate chopped into chunks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      I have tried quite a few recipes looking for a chocolate chip cookie that tastes delicious and stays thick after cooked. These are our winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      Great recipe! They were soft and chewy as claimed. Mine went a little thin on me though. Maybe it's because the butter melted on me due to the warm weather experienced here. I'll try refrigerating the dough before baking next time round. Definitely making these cookies again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      Perfect cookie! The best I have ever made....This is my favorite recipe for chocolate chip cookies....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Great CCC recipe!! Taste was great! Texture was great! They were perfectly soft and chewy. You had stated to add a little less shortening and a little more butter in order to have them be less crispy. That's what I did...3/4 c butter and 1/4 c shortening. I also turned my oven down to 350 after the first batch at 375 were a little crispy. They were great!!! Thanks for the recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I thought the dough was going to spread to much because it looked a little wet but I put them in the oven and they turned out terrific. I think that they turn out fine without smushing them down- I made a batch each way and my DH and I agreed that not smushing was the best. I will definitely be using this recipe from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Oh my goodness, are these cookies delightful! I love the texture and the thickness of the cookie. I followed the recipe exactly and even read through the intro twice to make sure I didn't screw anything up and they turned out excellent. The batter was not the least bit dry and held together fine. The cookies looked just like your photo. I pressed down on them just a bit before I put them in the oven and they did not spread much at all. I am surprised how different all the reviews are but maybe others didn't follow the directions EXACTLY. My daughter had three friends over after school and between them and my son they ate at least four cookies each along with their hot chocolate. I wonder if any of those kids ate their dinner lastnight! Thx for sharing this recipe Marg!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Absolutely the BEST cookie. The four men in my family insisted I make them again after only devouring a few. They did not last long! I followed the recipe exact. Thank-You So much for making me look like Queen, I don't usually bake too well. lol Today I will be baking with confidence.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

      Very tasty! I substituted 1/4 cup of the crisco for 1/4 cup more butter. Very good and soft!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thick, Soft, and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 36

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.2
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    47%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 17.1 mg
    5%
    Sodium 97.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes