Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thick & Chunky Tomato Sauce With Veggies (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thick & Chunky Tomato Sauce With Veggies (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 25, 2011

      I love, love, love this! I have made it twice this month from fresh tomatoes and other CSA goodies: the first time I made it as written, and the second with a few little tweaks. Both times I got enough for three meals, and my freezer is now full of healthful and delicious sauce that my kids gobbled without a second thought. The first time I added cooked lentils before serving for a vegetarian delight, and the second I added a small amount of ground turkey to please the carnivore crowd. I also added a few splashes of red wine and some balsamic vinegar the second time, and I dissolved a chunk of parmesan cheese in the sauce both times. Thanks so much, Rita! Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      Such a nice sauce! Have made this twice now, first time made exactly as written and left the sauce nice and chunky. Just made it again this evening adding a good teaspoon of crushed red pepper, this time using my immersion blender to smooth the sauce out after cooking for 4 hours and then letting cook for another hour. Used for spaghetti tonight and lasagna in a few days, with another container full in the freezer for something else! I think I actually like the blended sauce better, really helps the flavors blend into a complex, rich taste. A great use for my CSA veggies and love how nutritious this is! Thanks so much for posting, love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Rita I made this sauce yesterday to start using up some frozen veggies from the summer harvest. I added in some shredded zuchinni and yellow squash. I used the sauce to make penne pasta bake. Wonderful!! I made a huge batch so I can use the sauce today to make chicken caccitore for today's dinner. The sauce has kayers of flavor and it really tastes lovely. Thank you for a simple to put together recipe and in the crockpot to boot! How simple can it be.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      Excellent! I can't get over how all these vegetables combine to make a thick, rich and (dare I say) meaty sauce. It's so healthy too! And it freezes beautifully. Rita, this is a miracle sauce! I can't wait to make it again and start to play with it--adding various bits and bobs. Great stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      i made this sauce today for a different approach to pasta! it was delicious. the texture was that of a meat sauce, but of course, without the meat! i tweaked the recipe a bit by only using 1/4 eggplant, and 2 cans tomato, one crushed, one diced. i also served it with whole wheat penne rigatte.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I asked on the freezer forum about freezing eggplant. I have a bunch in the garden and am new to the vegetable, which I really like. Tish suggested this recipe. I had everything except the portabella so I threw in an extra eggplant. I expected it to be OK but Rita, it is really wonderful. I am a full flegged meat eater and couldn't believe how much we enjoyed this over spaghetti with garlic bread and a glass of wine. Thank you very much. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      This is a wonderful basic recipe! I didn't have the eggplant, so I substituted another portabello. I also didn't have the third can of crushed tomatoes so I put in 1 can of tomato sauce. I also diced a mix of red, yellow, and orange peppers into the sauce to total 1 pepper (what I had) I cooked it on low overnight to total 12 hours. This went straight to the freezer for an OAMC session but I tasted it and it was fantastic! Thanks for a new addition to my OAMC recipes :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      This is one great sauce.I almost didn't make it because I had no eggplant but took a chance.It turned out thick and tasty.I admit I added about 1 cup of basil(frost is around the corner here).I also added some frozen cooked meatballs the last hour.Another winner;thank you. Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2006

      I really like this sauce! The poster is right that it can be used SO many ways and it makes a LOT! My husband uses it as salsa and I will puree it for enchilada sauce even! It smells SO good cooking all day to! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2006

      I agree with Pets, this is a great crockpot recipe...the sauce is rich and flavorful. This will be made often, thanks Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      This recipe turned out great. I followed the directions as given. This makes a lot of sauce. Plenty for a dinner of pasta with vegi meat balls. We then froze the rest for future meals. Thank you so much for this easy, healthy, and tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2004

      This is a great crockpot recipe! I did not completely stick to the amount of ingredients, I just filled up the pot as much as I could. My crockpot is a 3 liter/quart probably considered as a small one. I left it cooking for 12 hours on low during the night. I did taste the sauce and after it cooled frozen it for future use. Good smooth but full flavor..I did not add the fresh basil, will do that when I reheat the sauce to use over pasta..there are so many uses for this recipe and you can vary the ingredients!! Thanks Rita!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thick & Chunky Tomato Sauce With Veggies (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.4
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    30%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 278.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian herb seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes