238 Reviews

THIS WAS AMAZING!!! So good! The only thing I did different was before I added the vanilla I added some grated dark chocolate. Not a lot. About 1/4 cup. Just enough to give it a slightly deeper taste. The texture was perfect and it was so easy to make! This is a keeper!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef#465968 February 27, 2009

I use arrowroot and brown sugar and it comes out perfect everytime. A teaspoon of instant coffee is a nice addition. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef# 616082 January 06, 2009

i just had it a minute ago and it was goooood! i used saucepan instead of microwave. even using saucepan, it wasn't at all time consuming. thanks for the very easy recipe! UPDATED: I made this as a filling to my chocolate cake. And then I made another batch, but less thicker. I substituted milk with water and a few tablespoon of milk powder and lessen the amount of cornstarch and pour it on top of the cake. It was gooood, really goood :D Thank you again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gaiia September 08, 2008

This is so simple, and is made with stuff I always have on hand. I like that it is made in the microwave so it doesn't heat up my kitchen. It is a little dense, but I am hoping that cutting back on the cornstarch some, and cooking it a little less time, will fix that up. As it is, I think it would make a great pie filling--it would hold up very nicely.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two March 31, 2008

I tried it, I loved it, and most importantly, the kids LOVED it! I've cut down a bit on the cornstarch so it is not as thick (DH likes it creamy!). When I had my sister over, I doubled the recipe, and hid some banana slices at the bottom... MMMMmmmm! But you do have to watch it while it cooks, espacially of you double the recipe like I did!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittycat_paw February 25, 2008

I made this today and the texture was very clumpy. I cooked it slowly on the stove instead of in the microwave. The taste was okay..nothing out of this world. Kids did not care for it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherismiley August 25, 2007

I made this for my husband last night, It was great, and so easy. a keeper!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebrbetty December 10, 2003

I decided to make this recipe one day. So I did. I read a few reviews, and one said to use the stovetop to cook the pudding instead of microwaving. Thinking the pudding would turn out great, I followed all of the instructions to make the pudding. I tried it, and it was fairly disgusting. There were clumps of cocoa in the pudding that made it taste like dirt. I was not very happy with the way it turned out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canaro02 January 01, 2016

I don't know why this has so many positive reviews, when many people are obviously having the same problem with this recipe. Are we doing something different? The taste of this "pudding" was a bit bitter, so I added in chocolate chunks. It was smooth when it went into the fridge, and lumpy when it came out. I also got that strange rubbery jello texture. My 6-year-old liked the flavor, but no one else seemed to enjoy this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous September 20, 2015

Definitely a chocolate lovers pudding, if you love dark chocolate you'll like this as is. I suspect a lot of people will need to customize this one a bit, though I liked it as is. It wasn't sweet enough for my wife which is why I gave it only 4 stars. Sweet whipped topping, which we didn't use because we ate it hot, would probably have been enough sweetener for her.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Biker Cook June 26, 2014
Thick Chocolate Pudding