238 Reviews

This is delicious and chocolatey, like a good hot chocolate. Very quick and easy. And I love that it's not too sweet. The first time I made this (in the microwave), I did encounter some lumps. I only needed 2 minutes in step 4 for an 1100 watt microwave. The second time I made this, I used the stove, and had no lump problems. I also decided to turn it into a mocha pudding - which was awesome! I added two tablespoons of instant coffee, plus one extra tablespoon of sugar.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito September 14, 2010

This reminded me of my mother's chocolate pudding she made us when we were young! My teens devoured it. Use the stovetop not microwave. Anyone used it to make a chocolate pie? That sounds so good!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas Crazy 4 Cooking Gal August 23, 2010

Tweaked a bit by using whole milk instead of skim, and 3 Tbsp. flour instead of cornstarch. Also made on the stove top, stirring constantly with a wire whisk for about 15 minutes. Refrigerated for two hours. Delicious. I disagree with other reviewers that say this isn't sweet enough as is. I would add slightly more vanilla, but only b/c vanilla makes everything better!! Thanks for posting.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 July 10, 2010

My husband and I really enjoyed this. Because he is a diabetic, I made it with Splenda. This doubles nicely. I added 1/4 c. choc. chips as I always do with the packaged mixes. I will not be buying them anymore now thanks to your wonderful recipe! Thanks so much! BTW, I made this on top of the stove by first sifting dry ingredients into the pan, then slowly adding milk to make a smooth paste before adding all the milk. I brought it to a boil and then removed it from the heat after 30 seconds or so.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debaylady November 15, 2009

Ok, a summary of things people have done:
adding instant coffee; adding some chocolate chips; stirring in a large tbsp of PB until blended;
changing up for other types of milk, including almond and soy; varying the amount of vanilla; subbing splenda and sucanant etc for sugar; cooking on stove -- bring milk to warm and then whisk in all of the other ingredients that have been pre-mixed together; make sure and cook to a full boil with cornstarch to remove the starch taste; adding coconut, roasted nuts, serve with whipped cream on top,.... Lots of variation to have with this great recipe. Prepackage it so it is ready for kids to do instead of purchased packages. ENJOY!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moopseemort August 11, 2012

I don't normally leave negative reviews, but I'm making an exception in this case. I followed this recipe to the LETTER last night. I am accustomed to making pie fillings and puddings in the microwave- have been doing this for years. (The only way to do it, IMO.) I was skeptical about the recipe not including eggs, but with as many great reviews that it recieved, I thought it would be okay to try it. BUT, I see now what the addition of eggs does for a pudding. That smoothy, creamy texture and rich flavor was totally lacking in this recipe. It pretty much tasted like chocolatey cornstarch "glop". Today, after sitting in the fridge overnight, the texture is almost like gelatin! Bleh. I am very disappointed in this recipe and next time I need a chocolate fix, will RUN back to my old recipe. (BTW- For those afraid of using eggs due to having egg "lumps", a simple run through a strainer before cooking can easily catch those lumps. The eggs have it!) Sorry. :( Two thumbs down.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharsuz July 27, 2011

Very quick and tasty. Cooked this on the stove with whole milk and added a touch of cinnamon. I severed this with a side of fresh whipped cream then topped it with crushed ginger snaps and heath bar pieces. Yummy!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IndyEater May 01, 2011

This is a really good chocolate pudding. However, after making it several times, I find that using a hand held electric mixer makes a big difference (as opposed to a whisk). This will probably take care of the consistency issues some mentioned in their review :). Thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tinebean21 March 29, 2011

very good and very easy! i did mine stove top (i've just never been a fan of microwaves lol) took a bit longer but it was worth it ^_^ it was very rich, much better then any thing you could get at the store! my daughter gobbled it down in a heart beat so it has the 5 year olds seal of approval lol thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gamer Gal May 27, 2010

Lovely pudding! I found the thickness and sweetness to be perfect. I made it on the stove top as my microwave is a little unreliable and doubled the amount. It made 8 small bowls. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Perfectionist cook October 14, 2010
Thick Chocolate Pudding