Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thick and Creamy New England Clam Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thick and Creamy New England Clam Chowder

    Average Rating:

    191 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 191

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2011

      I like to cook from scratch too, but I thought it made a lot of sense to use cream of celery soup as a base for this clam chowder. I bought fresh minced clams (in their juice) and used half and half. After I browned 4 slices of Oscar Mayer bacon and a whole vidalia onion (chopped); I added two cans of cream of celery soup, two cans of half and half and all of the clam juice to make a broth. Separately, I boiled potatoes, and acknowledging the other reviews, I only peeled and cut up two potatoes so as not to make it too potato-ey. I reserved the fresh minced clams until the end so that they would not get overcooked and rubbery (thanks for that tip too!). The stock seemed a little thin, so I added two tablespoons of Idahoan instant buttery potato, sprinkling it in the broth and letting it dissolve. It thickened the broth and the taste was wonderful--flavor from the soup stock, half and half and clam juice--plus richness from the instant potatoes. I added half a stick of butter to the bacon when it was cooked before I put the onions in too. Now, the chowder is just simmering under a boil--stirring so it doesn't stick to the bottom of the Le Creuset pot--adding the clams last and letting them heat through for flavor but not overcooking them is the last step. Coarse pepper ground on top. I bought two pumpernickel bagels at the farmer's market and will toast them and spread cream cheese on top to go with this hearty chowder for our supper by the New England coast. Thanks for all the tips and observations as you can see they helped me to fine-tune this recipe. It is DELICIOUS, just the right consistency and flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      FANTASTIC CHOWDER!!! I hesitated somewhat to try this recipe because of the use of canned soup (total scratch cook here). However, because of the amazing reviews, I gave it a try - oh thank heavens I did! Hands down this is the best I have ever made, and probably had at any restaurant (chefs/restauranteurs in the family)! Also shocked how something this good could be that easy to make - other recipes require much more time, ingredients, etc. Only changes/additions: Sauteed a diced rib of celery w/ the onions; used 1/2 & 1/2 because that is what I had on hand; added more dill - preference; and added the clams about 5 minutes before the end of cooking (experienced them becoming tough/chewy if overcooked). After I tasted this, I ended up taking 1/2 to another chowder lover (ex-chef) - rave reviews, and felt the same as I in that it is one of the best he's ever tasted. Thank you Teen for sharing this awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      I am from the Great Plains, so I admit that I am not a Clam Chowder expert. My only exposure to clam chowder was while visting in Maine and New Hampshire during the winter one year. The chowder I enjoyed the most was thick, creamy and had a fair amount of potatoes. So that is why I started with this recipe. I read other reviews and incorporated some of their suggestions.

      I doubled the amount of canned clams. I was concerned that the extra amount of clam juice would make the soup to thin, but that was not the case. It really brought out a nice clam flavor.

      I added two stalks of chopped celery to add little more texture variation. I also added a couple of cloves of garlic.

      But the thing I added that really topped off my variation was 8oz of cream cheese. Of course, I'm sure that clam chowder purists abhore the idea of canned cream of celery soup, canned clams and cream cheese, but it works really, really well. I have made numerous fans by sharing my recipe variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      I made a half batch of this for my DH. Since I don't like clam chowder this review is based on his opinion. I think I must have used larger potatoes than intended because I used three and he said that it was a little bland as I made it and it needed salt and pepper. I think I'll make this again and add salt, pepper, double the clams (he said the clam flavor wasn't very strong) and use fewer potatoes. There wasn't enough clam juice to boil the potatoes so I had to add water, and I think that is where the blandness came from. Unfortunately, I couldn't taste as I went so I'll have to use trial and error, but I think this one is one that I'll be able to modify to work for him. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      As one of the the most recent reviews stated. For me, the two cans of cream of celery soup completely over powered the taste of the chowder. The second time I made this recipe, I substituted the 2 cans of cream of celery soup for cream of potato and use a few stalks of fresh chopped celery instead. This tasted much more like the clam chowder I expected. I think the next time I'm going to go full on heavy cream in place of the cream of potato soup and use diced potatos for the potatos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      This was just excellent!!!! I did add some celery and an extra can of chopped clams. My husband raved about it . I will make this a regular part of my menu.
      Update: I have made this about 10 times...just a fantastic recipe. I am adding seafood tonight. One of our favorites!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      I'm a teenager who just graduated from High School and currently living with a friend at an apartment. Our usual breakfast, lunch, and dinner usually includes ramen one way or another...and maybe eggs if we get fancy. I never really cooked before and decided to try this recipe since I LOVE clam chowder. This is extremely easy to make and I followed the instructions down to the letters, except I added more clams since my roommate and I love clams. This turned out PERFECT for me and my roommate also agrees that it's the best clam chowder ever! Thank you for this great recipe! Took me about an hour and a half total!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      My kid recently informed me that she loves clam chowder. A friend's mom made it for her and she came home raving about it. So tonight she had a craving for it and I thought "why not." This caught my eye, I had just a little bacon in the fridge, we made a quick trip to the store and wahhlaaa! It turned out deliciously. I will say I always amend recipes just a tad and this was no different. I used 3 strips of bacon, half a large onion and 4 cans of chopped clams. Additionally I only had 4 potatoes. So I rendered the bacon, threw in the onions (with 2 T butter), once they were translucent I drained all 4 cans of clams and added the clam juice to the potatoes. I also added one cup of water since it just didn't seem like enough liquid. Simmered that for 10 minutes until the potatoes were tender and then added the celery soup, clams, 1 cup half-n-half and pepper. I only just heated it through and served it and my little family declared it a success! My daughter loves it and was overjoyed that I learned a new recipe and made it for her! Even hubby approved and that is rare indeed for a soup! Thanks for an easy, delicious, adaptable recipe! It has gone into the family recipe album!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2012

      I've tried this recipe twice, and it's very rich, creamy, chunky, and tasty. My only negative would be that the flavor of the clams (juice) isn't very prevelant. I would suggest adding some additional claim juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      This clam chowder was really great! I made it almost exactly how it is posted :0) I added some celery and used the whole package of bacon (can you have too much bacon??) I thought the dill weed added a good flavor. Served this at the beach, with fresh crab, and crusty bread! Perfect beach food! We will be using this as our chowder recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      The chowder was really great tasting, but it didn't taste like clam chowder to me, and I even used extra clams. I think maybe the dill weed may have affected what I thought about this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Excellent Chowder! I have another recipe I have used for years and this one has just repaced it. It is such a simple recipe but with great results. I only made a couple of changes I seasoned it with cayenne pepper and celery salt and had to use half and half instead of heavy cream and milk and I used more clams and didn't add the dill weed. It is so flavorfull and has a wonderful consistancy. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Absolutely delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      DELICIOUS!! (and I didn't use bacon). This recipe is also easy which means I'll be able to make it again without using the recipe! I added garlic close to when the onions were translucent and used a variety of clams (baby, minced, chopped). I also added a can of corn towards the end because, well, I always want corn in my clam chowder. this turned out great and I'm so glad I made a big pot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      This was amazing clam chowder. Unfortunately I couldn't get any Cream of Celery Soup in Cape Town so used Cream of Mushroom Soup instead. Couldn't have been perfect but it still tasted amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Very easy and very good. Perfect dinner for cold weather!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      This is a tasty potato and celery soup....but a very sad clam chowder. The soup just overpowers any taste suggestion this is a clam chowder. But if you have hypertention or high blood pressure the two cans of commercial condensed soup adds nearly 2000mg of sodum, thats not a heart healthy solution to cooking for many, many people. I do love a good clam chowder, its just that this recipe should be renamed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      This really is excellent!!! I am one of those cooks that can't follow a receipe exactlly so I took some liberties with this one as well. I am a garlic fool, so I took one readers advice and added a bunch of garlic along with some celery and carrots to the onions and let that all simmer for a while. I also added the paparika, salt and pepper. Definately add the dill, it really brought the flavor out! One of the best Clam Chowderse I have had!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      There are not enough stars to highlight here! This is the most awesome clam chowder! We love and it freezes well too. My husband gets to take it to work and enjoy it there. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! I even add a can of corn into it too for some color. DELICIOUS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      We live in Australia & my husband (who is American) mentioned that he missed our lunches at Ivar's (WA). This afternoon, I found this recipe here, and decided we'd have it tonight. This is the best EVER clam chowder we have ever tasted. This is definately a keeper!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you. It's nice to be able to give my husband a little bit of home! %u2665

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thick and Creamy New England Clam Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (471 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 753.5
     
    Calories from Fat 361
    48%
    Total Fat 40.2 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 20.6 g
    103%
    Cholesterol 144.5 mg
    48%
    Sodium 1414.0 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 76.2 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    22%
    Protein 24.3 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites