Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on May 31, 2009

      I make this for every guest at our B&B. They always love them and usually ask for the recipe. I make sure to cream the butter and sugars until they turn light in color. Sometimes the batter is thicker, probably due to less humidity or cool weather. If it seems to gooey (before I add the chocolate chips), I add a lit more flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      I love these, and had it posted until recently discovered as a duplicate. It looks like the flour differs from the original, as well as the egg. The original recipe is 2 cups 2 Tbps flour, and it has 1 large whole egg, and 1 large egg yolk. Great cookies!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      This is MY favorite recipe for CCC. Everyone in the family seems to like different one's best, but this is perfect for me. I use ghiradelli 60% cocoa chocolate chips- they are the best for baking! I also chill the dough sometimes even overnight if I can because I think the bake perfectly like that. The dough is obviously firm from being cold, but I don't find the fresh dough stiff like many reviewers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      I have baked these cookies three times now and learnt a valuable lesson the second time. Pay particular attention to not over mixing the dough!!!I I cannot stress this enough! Overmixing will result in a strange gooey textured cookie that just will not cook in the centre, and it will be an absolute waste of your time and ingredients.
      Overall I found these cookies quite good, but not the best cookie I have ever had. They sure are chewy though! However, the outside of mine were crunchy, but I did not over-bake them because the centres were done perfectly. The cookie tastes nice and sweet. However, the first time I baked these they were very thin and flat, no matter how high the dough balls are when they go into the oven! I personally prefer chunkier cookies. However, the third time I made them they were chunky! So no idea what went differently!
      I used 1 cup of chopped up chocolate, and have tried variations with the chocolate. I have tried 1/2c Whittakers white chocolate and 1/2c Whittakers 50% chocolate. I have also tried 1 cup M&Ms. I am yet to try white, milk and dark chocolate!
      Overall, I would recommend this recipe if you are sick of cookie recipes never working out like I was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      Very nice. They're cooling now. I made them large, only 2 dozen. I had "odd" flours on hand, so I used 1 c. whole wheat, 1 c. brown rice flour, and 1/4 c. almond meal. And 2 tsp. baking powder since I'm out of baking soda. I lightly browned the butter on purpose and cut the sugar by about a 1/4 c. All is fine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      This is perfection in a cookie <3. Thick, Chewy, Gorgeous looking and tasty. I've tried tons of recipes and this is my favorite for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Aloha Chef! I'm not sure if it's the showery weather we are having here today, the fact that I only had XL Eggs or just the recipe itself, but for me the cookie dough was very stiff and sticky and difficult to work with. That said, if you follow the 'reshaping' instructions, you will get an incredible looking cookie! I made some that way and left others shaped like the round scoop. These are sweet and chewy -- I also used a combination of Bitter/Semi-Sweet and Milk Chocolate Chips plus 1 cup of finely chopped Walnuts. Made for PAC Spring 2010 ... mahalo for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      These are the best choc o chippies I have made. I did use half whole wheat flour, since I do that with all our cookies. I didn't even do the futzy step in shaping the cookies, just used a tablespoon measure and they were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Good cookies. Easy to make and tasty. The dough was rather stiff but workable. I used light brown sugar and the full amount of chocolate chips. Did not use the fancy way of shaping them, just scooped them with large tablespoons. The cookies do not spread very much and mine baked for 15 minutes. I got 22 cookies, ate one when it just cooled off and it was crispy on the edges, soft and chewy in the middle. When the cookies had cooled off completely they were a tad harder in the center. All in all a good cookie, well worth making. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      If you are looking for the perfect chocolate chip cookie - Look no Further! This is it! Crispy on the bottom, and soft and chewy all in one bite! I just used my cookie scoop and got 31 perfectly shaped beautiful cookies. Thank you SO much!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      I made this recipe a year ago and Oh Em Gee, it is AMAZING! Tastes like fresh from a bakery and they were even chewy the next day (I just put the leftovers in some tupperware)! Amazing cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2009

      Really good chocolate chips - I've tried a lot of recipes for thick chocolate chip cookies and they usually taste very dry. These were not dry at all - great with a cup of coffee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      These are the best chocolate chip cookies ever! Crisp outside, and soft and chewy inside. mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      The kids LOVED these. A friend had made some crispy cookies my hubby liked more but the kids said these were a lot better - thick and chewy! So if you like thick and chewy, this is the cookie for you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      These are exactly as the name stated, thick and chewy. They remind me of the cookies sold in gourmet shops and cookies stores. Keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      I had to force myself to stop eating them or else I woulda downed the whole lot! They're THAT yummy :) I added a tablespoon of cocoa powder to the dry mix and because I dont have the patience to make into little cookies I put the whole mix into a slice tray and made a single slice and cut it into fingers. I recommend this recipe to all

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Wow! These cookies are fantastic! I normally don't have luck with chocolate chip cookies; they usually fall. But these were perfect. Puffy and chewey and not too sweet. This will be my go-to cookie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      I made these last night and they were oh so good! My husband ate about half a dozen and I almost caught up, LOL! I brought some to work today (against my husband's wishes) and everyone thought they were super delicious! Thank you for sharing an easy and yummy recipe! I used one 12 oz. bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips...perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Much better than Toll House, with less butter! 13 minutes was perfect for baking. I added a few pecan chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      We love chewy cookies in our house and these fit the bill! I added mocha flavored chips to mine and they turned out great! That is a good, good cookie...as my youngest son says!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (968 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.3
     
    Calories from Fat 99
    41%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 39.8 mg
    13%
    Sodium 172.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 22.6 g
    90%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites