Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / They Won't Know Raspberry Coffee Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    They Won't Know Raspberry Coffee Cake

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2010

      This is HEAVENLY! I was looking for just something like this for fresh raspberries from my CSA box. Wow! Just a perfect recipe--really. I did put the glaze on, but you really didn't need it. I didn't have almonds, though. Also, my yogurt was fat free and it seemed to be fine! It came out of the pan, it sliced just beautifully! This is a keeper keeper!! 9/13/2010--I have made this coffee cake almost every week, since trying it. Last week my CSA box didn't quite have 1 cup of raspberries, so I made up the difference with some frozen blueberries! One time I didn't have plain yogurt, and I substituted Lime yogurt--it was great. This week, I had some peaches from a farm that were a little on the dry mushy side--I skinned them, chopped and measured out 1 cup, added a sprinkle of cinnamon and YUM! This is one very versatile recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      I love that this is low fat and so simple to make. I made two little cakes and they were so pretty. Omitted the almonds since I didn't have any, and I substituted the plain yogurt with strawberry yogurt and sour cream (about 1/4 C of each). I used frozen raspberries and it turned out great. This is a keeper, thx so much Amber!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Wonderful! I loved the texture and perfect sweetness of this dish. It went together so quickly, keeping me happy that I didn't have to fuss with beaters and several bowls. I used fresh-picked raspberries and fat free plain yogurt. My husband thought this would be great with rhubarb too. Next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

      I thought it was good, my husband thought it was fantastic. I made it w/blackberries and lite sourcream. He asked that I make it next time w/strawberries or peaches. I think any type of fruit would work fine. My batter was real thick and it barely covered a 9 inch pie plate but it turned out just fine. It was a tad too sweet so next time I will cut down on the white sugar. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      Giving this five stars because it really is hard to believe that it's low fat! I doubled the batter after reading other reviews and was glad I did. Also added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon with the raspberries. Everyone says the glaze isn't necessary, but I found that with the almonds to be the crowning touch. Very good, and better the next day!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2010

      This is excellent and so easy to make. The only change I made was to use sour cream and not yogurt. This is great even without the glaze. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      This was good. I skipped the glaze as it was sweet enough as is

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2007

      This is an OK cake. It's a very small dough, cake didn't rise up much. But, I do like the right amount of sugar in it. Most of the recipes that I found, I find it overly sweet and has to reduce the amount. It's a good cake for breakfast with tea or high tea, I would say. For bigger family members, you have to double the ingredients. My cake turned out a little bit hard, not fluffy or moist. Not bad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I had to double the dough recipe because I had so little dough to work with. Even after that, I had very little dough to make a second layer. Other than that, this cake was very good. A little dry, but that could be from me playing around with it too much trying to get it to spread out more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2007

      This is delicious. I did not use the glaze and the cake was great without it. My batter was too thick to make the top layer, so I just spread it around as best as I could -- it turned out fine anyway. I used coconut oil instead of butter and I used defrosted, drained raspberries. Thanks for sharing AZ Amber.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2004

      This is so delicious! I made a couple minor substitutions- I used whole wheat pastry flour for the white, subbed half buttermilk and half sour cream for the yogurt (I didn't have any on-hand), and subbed the melted butter with canola oil. This is a very pretty cake, especially with the lovely glaze. But the flavor is terrific- it's a very basic recipe, so I didn't expect too much from it, but its delicious- I think the almond slices sprinkled on top does a lot for the flavor and texture and also the appearance. I think I may have used a 9" cake pan, so I had a little difficulty spreading the batter over the berries. The brown sugar ensures that the berries take on a lovely sweet flavor and are not too tart like raspberries can sometimes be. I used frozen raspberries, unthawed as recommended. I was very impressed that the ingredients and consistancy of the batter are more like that of a muffin recipe, but this truly has a more cake-like than bread-like texture. I was sceptical, but now I know, you can't argue with the title "They Won't Know!!!" This is delicious; thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      This cake is excellent.I made it last week and it was a hit. I am making it again tonight but i will be using sour cream as that is what I have on hand. Hopefully it will be just as good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      This raspberry coffee cake is the cat's pajamas, man. The bee's-freakin-knees. This came out so wonderful, so light and fluffy. It made the house smell heavenly. I made no substitutions or adjustments to the recipe as posted - and don't omit the glaze - it makes it perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      Nice cake

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Just made this last night for my family. Really loved it, instead of almonds I used walnuts and it was very good. This is a very good side with some coffee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      This is a wonderful recipe for any time of year. My family loves eating it for breakfast or dessert. The recipe is so simple, and I have substituted the raspberries for fresh/frozen: blueberries, strawberries, peaches, and mangoes. I have never made the glaze because the sweetness from the fruit and dough is enough. It has always turned out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      I was dappling through recipes & can across this one... it sounds great and, for a cake, it's lower in fat/sugar etc. I have a raspberry bush in our yard & I'm always looking for good recipes to use them. It's early in the season so I'll hang onto this one till my berries are nice & ripe for the pickin' & cookin'. Thanks for sharing, Amber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      AWESOME! This is a great coffee cake. I use blackberries instead of raspberries, but its great either way. My kids love it and ask me to make it all the time. They can't tell that its lowfat and I usually make a double batch...it doesn't last long! Thanks for the yummy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      wicked easy and quite tasty. I too skipped the glaze (didn't have any icing sugar on hand), and used rough chopped frozen strawberries instead of raspberries. Another keeper for my arsenal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      This cake was delicious. I liked how it was easy to make and didn't even require an electric mixer. My glaze didn't taste good so I didn't use it. (I think it may have tasted bad due to the imitation vanilla extract that I used). I used frozen raspberries because they were $3 for 12 oz. compared to $4 for 6 oz. of fresh raspberries. Now I still have 1/2 bag left to use for another recipe, so if money is a concern I'd recommend getting frozen raspberries. I also left out the almonds, making this recipe cheap to make. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for They Won't Know Raspberry Coffee Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (607 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 181.7
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    21%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 31.8 mg
    10%
    Sodium 182.0 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 18.9 g
    75%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites