Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The World's Easiest Basic Enchilada Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The World's Easiest Basic Enchilada Sauce

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2009

      This was very good and simple to make obviously. I made homemade enchiladas out of some left over carnitas and cheese and decided to try this and we were not disappointed. It is a fabulous dip! I kept sampling with some tortilla chips while I was waiting for the rice to finish cooking. I would make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Great Enchilada Sauce! Excellent with Beef,Cheese,Chicken, and Bean Home made Enchiladas! Couldn't be easier or tastier! Thanks for sharing! Katie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      Looked too easy to be true. It's definitely easy. But it tastes too much like, grin, chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Made this today to top some chicken and cheese enchiladas -- definitely waaay easier to make than my usual enchilada sauce recipe (no risk of any lard bursting into flames here, LOL, don't ask). Really good flavor, too, which I was a bit skeptical of when I saw that one of the ingredients was canned chili. Okay, I have to admit, I went with the medium picante sauce instead of the mild (extra spice was a must if I had any hope of getting DH to eat the finished enchiladas). Yeah, I know, I'm not good at following directions, and sometimes I run with scissors, too. LOL Thanks for posting this delicious and precious time-saving recipe :)! Made for ZWT5 Zingo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      I prepared this sauce to top Chiles Rellenos and it worked out incredibly well. Nice flavor (truly better than any canned enchilada sauce I've tried) and you certainly couldn't ask for easier. I followed the VERY EMPHATIC instructions ever so closely....which I must say was difficult for me, as 1) I NEVER go with 'mild' anything when there is a 'hot' choice to be had and 2) I'm a serial label reader and, unless I'm not paying attention, always pass on products with MSG or high fructose corn syrup (the Hormel Chili contains MSG). But due to the INSTRUCTIONS I felt committed to following this one to the 'T'!! So...if I make it again, I'm going to have to buck the system and go with the Hot Pace Picante and another brand of canned chili without the 'flavor enhancer'! Thank you for posting. I agree with NELady...pretty darned ingenius! Made for the Zingo round of ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      What an ingenius little recipe! Loved it! I made beef enchiladas and used this as the sauce - not only is it the world's easiest enchilada sauce, it also one of the tastiest. I served my enchiladas alongside Spicy Beans Tex-Mex (Crock Pot) for a spicy little Mexican meal. Yummy. I threw both cans (the chili & the organic medium pace picante) into my blender and whizzed it until it was smooth - oh la la, scrumptious! Made for the Groovy GastroGnomes of ZWT5, Zingo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      Muy bueno y facil. (Very good and so easy.) I made Barbacoa and put this sauce under and atop my tortillas! Also, served with Bajan Beans (and mixed extra corn into that) as a wonderful side and Light Pineapple Mousse all for an outstanding meal. Thank you Pot Scrubber for sharing. Made during ZWT5 for the Chow Hounds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      You know what? When I saw this recipe I thought, 'yeah right...no way this could be that good.' Well, it is. I used it on loaded nachos, with some tamales on the side. Thanks for a very easy to whip up from the pantry recipe, Potsie. Made for ZWT5, Hell's Kitchen Angels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      We really enjoyed this sauce!!!!!!!!! Was starting to worry that I wouldn't have enough for my enchiladas, cuz we were eating it out of the pan with tortilla chips!!! It made for a great dip, too! ;) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      I just had to try this because it seemed to good to be true. But sure enough, this blends together into a good thick sauce that tastes better than "homemade". I used this as the sauce over Ground Beef and Texas Bean Enchiladas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2005

      Wow! So easy, and the flavor! Has that "from scratch" taste. What a time saver. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The World's Easiest Basic Enchilada Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (879 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 156.3
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    44%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 22.3 mg
    7%
    Sodium 1099.3 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 9.7 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites