14 Reviews

I have a celiac daughter and I can't believe this has no flour in it. So, this is not a typo? Amazing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom to Many December 20, 2008

I finally found my Aunt Katherine's recipe. This is THE BEST fruitcake ever. It is more like candy than cake. I loved it as a kid and never thought I would have it again. Even though, my aunt has been gone for many years, this taste just like I remember.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terri500 December 15, 2009

My son was just diagnosed with celiacs disease this past fall. He loves fruit cake and I looked for a good recipe....this was it!! He loved it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Prescott Reenie January 07, 2008

Forgot to add that instead of two loaves, I used small muffin tins to make them. Baked them about 30 minutes

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ocann December 28, 2012

I have never cared for the citrus flavors in fruitcake or the ones made with flour. Years ago, I found a fruitcake in Southern Living magazine that had pecans and dates in it with a small amount of candied fruit. To my dismay, I misplaced the recipe over the years. This is the closet recipe to the one I loved. My Husband has raved about this cake ever since the first one I made a couple of weeks before Christmas. (Says it's the best fruitcake he has ever eaten). Let me tell you, he has eaten a lot of fruitcake over the years. So glad I found this recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizD4U December 28, 2010

This recipe was all it was said to be and more! Just don't chop the nuts too fine or they become lost. The appearance is impressive and the taste is exceptional.Five stars all the way.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hardcase January 14, 2007

This was SUPER easy to make...I think I should have left them to bake 5 minutes more BUT they are gooey divine morsels of all thats good in this world.JUST Yum!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in Montreal December 10, 2006

I love making fruitcakes and this is truly the best fruitcake I've ever made. I've receive rave reviews from friends and from "don't like fruitcake" nuts too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ncokie Forsythe January 05, 2015

My 80 year old motherinlaw loves fruitcake and buys it each year, well this year I decided to make fruitcake and chose this recipe. I did not have pecans in the house and replaced them with walnuts. This recipe is fabulous, loved the use of coconut in the recpe. It was delicious, and my wife who normally does not eat fruitcake asked for seconds, and so I would recommend this fruitcake recipe as a great recipe and one to try, especially if you like coconut.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
r2cook January 28, 2012

My wife brought 2 slices of this home one day and I had to have some more. I still have the hand-written recipe. It was called Billy Martin's Fruit cake. I've been making it myself for 18 years now. Once you share this with family and friends they'll start before Thanksgiving asking if you're making it again this year.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hal e tosis December 20, 2011
The World's Best Fruitcake