12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made these twice now. They have a wonderful flavor. I did cut the sugars and increase the vanilla. The first time they turned out a bit delicate and broke easily. The second time I made them thicker - that helped. This is one of the few that I'm baking to put in cookie boxes to give as presents. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marisk December 22, 2009

My first time making these. TIPS...chill the dough if you have time... roll out the 50 balls ahead so you can adjust the size...50 makes the perfect size to fit 12 per pan without touching. I did bake them 3 extra minutes. Recipe is pretty good as is, nice and crunchy, with a mild flavour. If I make again, I will add more vanilla and some spices, cinnamon and more pecans,.....Just a personal preference, I will reduce the oil by 1/2C, the sugar by 1/2 C.and use a hint less salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WOWbaker June 04, 2013

Worked all my life as a nurse, bought package cookies. I've had several months off on leave decided to try my hand at baking. Hands Down!!! The absolute best cookie I ever made and I think almost best I ever ate! Even my husband was amazed, ED staff actually called them Cookies, instead of Kookies. I'm so excited! I did change one thing, I dipped dough in sugar before putting it on cookie sheet. Wow, I can bake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
medibon May 30, 2013

These are great!! I needed a lot of cookies for a fundraising event and Hokies Lady recommended these to me. They taste great!! A few tips I found that helped after my first batch turned out more like a giant thin sheet cookie(!): 1) don't make them too big, 2) don't put them too close together. Don't do more than 12 on a cookie sheet or they will moosh together. 3) if your batter seems runny or you live somewhere like I do where it is reaching 100 degrees today, it helps to chill the batter a bit before putting on the cookie sheets. I would pop it back into the fridge when I wasn't putting it onto the sheet and that helped a lot. Thanks KelBel for a great recipe! I'm sure the bike riders at the Habitat ride this weekend will enjoy these and I know I'll be making them again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeniseBC June 24, 2010

I made these after tasting KelBel's fabulous Guinness Stout Brownies. I wanted to see if her cookies were up to that standard. There were delicious. I made them for a work group meeting and everyone snatched them up. I dipped one side in melted white chocolate, but they really didnt need anything extra. Try them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GranyKaren March 19, 2009

These were ok..would not make again. Did not take note of the amount,so have a few...but hubby the cookie monster is eating them, he likes. Tip..They really spread, so space.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dolores in paradise February 27, 2009

I came on here to write this review and now I want to get up and get another cookie! These are slightly chewy but with a crispness from the cornflakes. I love that there is a nice hint of saltyness too. I ate some of the dough raw and it was awesome, leave out the egg and use for cookie dough ice cream :) Made for I recommend tag game feb 09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean February 15, 2009

Kelly these are a great little cookie. They are crispy and have a nice flavor. I did only make 1/2 a recipe as I don't know what I'd do if I had 8 dozen of these lying around. :) Nice mixture of ingredients - I would have never though of using corn flakes in a cookie. Great dunking cookie for sure! Made in honor of your dear hubby!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom February 13, 2009

Very nice, crispy cookies.I only made 1/4 of the recipe and I'm sure that I'll be making them again. Made for KelBel's Cook-a-thon In Memory of Her Husband.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mami J January 28, 2009

Crispy cookies! They turned out very nice. This recipe makes alot of cookies Ive stored some in the freezer for later. Mine baked in 12 minutes exactly. I got 72 cookies. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe one I will be making again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee January 17, 2009
The World's Best Cookies