Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Woodward Veggie Burger Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Woodward Veggie Burger

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on October 07, 2011

      This is an excellent recipe, thanks Sharon! It appealed to us because of the high nut content, and the rice, and I thought it was much nicer than a bean burger. I found they held together fine and freeze well, so altho' they took a little while to make, we can get the next batch out of the freezer. We had to cut down on the tamari- too much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      This was excellent! I'll definitely be making this again,and often. Followed the recipe as stated, only adding some liquid smoke. Instead of making burgers, I put it all into a baking dish and sprinkled the top with bread crumbs and a little bit of grated Parmesan cheese, and cooked for about 10 minutes at 350. Fabulous, and so healthy for you, too. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      These taste really good, but they are a little crumbly. I thought I had tahini, but when I got to that part, I discovered that I had about 2 Tablespoons left! So I whipped up a batch of Almond Butter - Dairy Free. I would have tried peanut butter as someone else here suggested, but then I knew there would be no way my husband would try them! (He gets weird about me putting peanut butter into unexpected things. The double-edged sword of Recipezaar. Sometimes yummy and different, sometimes weird and very different! lol! anyway...) I baked them as 520780 suggested and I did have to pat a few back together with the spatula after flipping them. I only used about 3 Tablespoons of soy sauce. (If you put in too much, you can't go back!) and I thought that was enough. Topped one with cheddar, tomato, and mustard; and then went back for another! Great taste! Thanks! Recipenapped in the Veg*n Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      We've been making these burgers for awhile now and everyone loves them. I actually started baking them (b/c they do crumble easily)and my hubby and I actually like 'em better that way. We lightly oil a cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 10 mins on each side. (Or until cooked through).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      these were really good. i added the flax egg like another suggested, also added 1/3 cup oatmeal, because it seemed very sticky, and 1/3 cup nutritional yeast, just because, and a shot of liquid smoke. i stuffed one in a pita bread, with some vegennaise. YUM. they did want to break after i removed them from the skillet, just be careful. really good. also used floured hands to shape, that helped too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      I LOVE these burgers. Even my meat eating husband and picky toddlers enjoyed them. They taste excellent. They are very similar to Sunshine Burgers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      Good recipe. Because others had said the burgers weren't holding together, I added a couple of flax eggs (1 T milled flax, 3 T water each) and gave the whole mess a quick spin in the food processor. Turns out beautifully, and really sticks together well. The tahini is a little heavy, so I'll scale that back next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Nice, nutty burger that doesn't stay together perfectly...but who cares? They taste so good! I used a bit less tahini, and pecans instead of cashews. I also brushed them wit a bit of oil and baked them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      The tahini flavor in these was overpowering for me, and I only used half the amount called for. Could hardly taste the basil. I packed the mixture into a 1 cup measure and plopped them out onto the skillet. They held together until they got hot, then some of them crumbled when I turned them. Be sure not to overbrown them or the rice kernels get hard as a rock and you'll break a tooth. Just light browning is sufficient. If I make these again I'll substitute peanut butter for part of the tahini, and maybe that will make them hold together better. These taste like hippie food, right out of the 70's!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2004

      We were surprised at how delicious these burgers were! Since we are trying to keep our bread intake to a minimum, I served these as an entree and made a light mushroom sauce to pour over them. My husband ate three! Since I am watching my sodium, I omitted the tamari sauce and just used some salt substitute and a pinch of cumin. I used a 1/2 cup measure to pack the rice/nut mixture into and then turned them out into my skillet for browning, flattening them just a little bit to allow them to cook easier. Perhaps I didn't pack the mixture into the cup firmly enough, but I had trouble with about 40 percent of the patties holding together. I had a few left over and have stuck them in the freezer to use as sandwich makings one day. Thanks so much Sharon for a good recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Woodward Veggie Burger

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 444.2
     
    Calories from Fat 282
    63%
    Total Fat 31.4 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 781.2 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 13.4 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes