Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Wedge Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Wedge

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2004

      This salad was excellent. I highly recommend it. I can't wait to make it more during the summer. It is so refreshing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2003

      This was a great salad. Very simple and the dressing was wonderful. No chance of going wrong making this. There's no way this dressing could last more than 2 days at our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      I expected more from all the great reviews. I liked the dressing on the first night but it thinned out and didn't last for long. I ended up throwing the dressing away after the first week. It was thin and needed time to marinate the flavors, But I ended throwing it away because it seperated and thinned out. It was also very expensive to buy the ingredients for the dressing (cheese).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2002

      What a delicious salad! I love the dressing for this salad - the yogurt and the buttermilk make this so rich and creamy. I made this two nights in a row, it was so tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2002

      Super easy, gourmet type salad. BF loved the blue cheese and the scallions, I subbed shredded cheddar for the blue cheese on my portion. Was a super addition to our home grilled steaks. TY chia.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      So good! Everyone loved it. I used lowfat mayo and fat free plain Greek yogurt, just because that's what I had on hand. Nice, thick dressing. If you've never had fresh blue cheese dressing it's light years better than the stuff in a bottle. On chilled iceberg lettuce wedges with fresh summer tomatoes, this was to die for. Would suggest stirring together about an hour before serving, and keeping chilled during that time. After reading the reviews, would also suggest making only the amount you could use in a day or two. Homemade blue cheese dressing does not have the preservatives in commercial varieties. It does not store well and goes off very quickly. That said, I'm pretty sure one of my sons was eating spoonfuls of the dressing, so storage may not be much of an issue:) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Great! Just like the steakhouses. I made just a serving for 2, eyeballed the measurements, used regular milk and rice vinegar b/c it's what I had here and it was great. A nice forgiving recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      Nice salad. A little tart on the dressing. I added more mayo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2007

      I'm so happy I ran across this recipe! These are served at our steakhouses as well, and it is the only thing I will ever eat that contains blue cheese! I thought your version of the dressing was dead on ... absolutely perfect for sure! Thanks for posting this one, it will make the rounds at our house! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      I love this salad and of course it takes me back to way back when . . .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      I made this as a side dish with meatloaf. It turned out really delicious! Just like the wedge at our local steakhouse! DH and I adore blue cheese dressing and this one was wonderful! Thanks-HK

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      I finally got around to making this and DH is very happy that I did. He loves this same salad at our local steakhouse and was surprised when I served it. He said it was very close to Lefty's. I hadn't tried it at the restaurant and so wasn't comparing. The dressing was easy to mix up, and I used gorgonzola cheese rather than regular blue. The flavor is mild and pleasant. We didn't have tomatoes with our wedges since neither of us is a big tomato fan. A good change of pace for salads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2004

      This was very good, better than expected. The dressing is fabulous! The only thing is, the dressing doesn't do well after a day. Oh well!! Make more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Wedge

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.6
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    65%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 20.5 mg
    6%
    Sodium 437.3 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.9 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites