13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This salad was excellent. I highly recommend it. I can't wait to make it more during the summer. It is so refreshing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennifer Brasher February 28, 2004

This was a great salad. Very simple and the dressing was wonderful. No chance of going wrong making this. There's no way this dressing could last more than 2 days at our house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens July 03, 2003

I expected more from all the great reviews. I liked the dressing on the first night but it thinned out and didn't last for long. I ended up throwing the dressing away after the first week. It was thin and needed time to marinate the flavors, But I ended throwing it away because it seperated and thinned out. It was also very expensive to buy the ingredients for the dressing (cheese).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Doyle June 25, 2003

What a delicious salad! I love the dressing for this salad - the yogurt and the buttermilk make this so rich and creamy. I made this two nights in a row, it was so tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather December 26, 2002

Super easy, gourmet type salad. BF loved the blue cheese and the scallions, I subbed shredded cheddar for the blue cheese on my portion. Was a super addition to our home grilled steaks. TY chia.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE December 17, 2002

So good! Everyone loved it. I used lowfat mayo and fat free plain Greek yogurt, just because that's what I had on hand. Nice, thick dressing. If you've never had fresh blue cheese dressing it's light years better than the stuff in a bottle. On chilled iceberg lettuce wedges with fresh summer tomatoes, this was to die for. Would suggest stirring together about an hour before serving, and keeping chilled during that time. After reading the reviews, would also suggest making only the amount you could use in a day or two. Homemade blue cheese dressing does not have the preservatives in commercial varieties. It does not store well and goes off very quickly. That said, I'm pretty sure one of my sons was eating spoonfuls of the dressing, so storage may not be much of an issue:) Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama July 16, 2013

Great! Just like the steakhouses. I made just a serving for 2, eyeballed the measurements, used regular milk and rice vinegar b/c it's what I had here and it was great. A nice forgiving recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clarely June 16, 2010

Nice salad. A little tart on the dressing. I added more mayo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest November 24, 2008

I'm so happy I ran across this recipe! These are served at our steakhouses as well, and it is the only thing I will ever eat that contains blue cheese! I thought your version of the dressing was dead on ... absolutely perfect for sure! Thanks for posting this one, it will make the rounds at our house! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
V.A. March 22, 2007

I love this salad and of course it takes me back to way back when . . .

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manami March 19, 2007
The Wedge