Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Very Best Italian Bread! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Very Best Italian Bread!

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 21, 2011

      This is the best Italian Bread. I will never buy another loaf in the store. Easy and delicious, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      My oh my this is some great bread! I made it to have with some homemade soup for dinner. Great heated in the oven then slathered with butter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      I made this last night and it came out AMAZINGLY! I don't have a bread maker so I made it by hand and used quick-rise yeast. I made one loaf of bread with sesame seeds on top (sprinkled on after the egg wash) and then I made breadsticks with the rest! The breadsticks were long and narrow; before cooking I brushed with the egg-wash and sprinkled with kosher salt. Immediately when they came out of the oven, I brushed them again but this time with melted butter - it tasted wonderful! I'll add the pictures.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

    • on April 28, 2010

      Very Nice! I used my Kitchen-Aid rather than a bread machine, and slid the loaves onto a hot stone-2 beautiful loaves later-I'm a happy Camper! Lovely flavor, slightly chewy which will also make for great grilled bread! Thanks for Posting, Di ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      The bread had a really nice crispy crust on it due to the egg wash. I took the suggestion of several other chefs and put the loaves on a cookie sheet sprinkled with cornmeal that way I didn't have to move them to a cookie sheet later on in step 13 (skipping step 11 &12) and it worked out perfectly. Each loaf was slightly less than 1 pound.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      OK. I messed up. I was in a hurry and I added the egg into the liquid. :( What to do... I thought for a second then decided to go ahead with the recipe. The dough was a dream to work with even with the extra egg. I decided to make 8 sandwich rolls out of the dough which I might add is the perfect size. I also did everything by hand too. I baked it at 375 for 20 minutes. Wow...Wow...Wow, the rolls came out golden brown, crusty, and the crumb is light and slightly chewy but so soft. What a keeper recipe even with my screw up. This is a keeper recipe for sure. The next time I will do it without the egg to see if there is a difference. Thanks for sharing such a wonder bread recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      This is a very good basic bread recipe that is easy to do. I skipped step 5 and just sprinkled the baking sheet with cornmeal. I also made 3 diagonal cuts across the top because I think it is prettier. hehe I also put a pan of water in the oven when the bread was baking. Next time I think I'm going to add some fresh rosemary and cheese the last 15 minutes of baking to change things up a bit. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This bread is awsome. We have made six loaves so far and each one gets better and better. We don't own a bread machine so we took the advice of HeidiSue's review and made our bread that way with our Kitchen Aid.We've made buns with the bread,garlic bread,cin rolls,pepperoni rolls its all been great. WE got to go get some more flour to make some more bread. lol Thank you for the recipe.!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I have to agree with everyone else, this bread is super delicious! I love the crusty outside and nice tender insides. I made garlic bread to go with our lasagna and it was eaten so fast it was all gone before the end of the meal. It's a good thing it made 2 loaves!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2009

      I've been experimenting with bread making, and nothing has ever been good enough until now. Most bread I've made always has a "yeasty" taste, or is never the right texture. But this recipe enabled me to make a very good loaf (I cut the recipe in half). It had a great taste and texture. Thank you. I will make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      This was my first time making bread, I was THRILLED with the results. The directions were clear and easy to follow. I did make a couple of changes. First I didn't have any cornmeal, so used a little bit of cooking spray on bottom of the pan. I also didn't have any olive oil, so I used regular vegetable oil instead. Neither of these changes seemed to make any difference as the consistancy was perfect, as was the crust. I also forgot the egg wash, still came out great. I divided the loaves and added about 6 cloves of garlic and a handful of basil to one of them, topped with some shredded cheese, My BF raved, and told me that if he made bread that good he would be bragging...and that he was gonna brag about my making it too! The kids both ate all of their bread, which almost made me faint, because they NEVER eat the crust on anything. I would probably make only one loaf next time, as we are big bread eaters and the loaves were a little on the small side, at least for me. Definitely double if expecting company. All in all a superb recipe, thank you so much KC_Cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Such good bread. I made this to add to my DD's Italian Gift Basket that I have been getting together to give to her for her birthday today. She is going to love this bread. I had a piece from the other loaf warm out of the oven, and it couldn't have been better! Thanks KC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      Since I'm not a good baker, I decided to try making this bread two times before I reviewed it. The first time it came out very dense and dry and hard to eat. The second time, it came out pretty dense, but was better, so I'm sure that it's probably just me. Overall, we liked it, but it was a little too hard on the top and bottom for our tastes (maybe the egg wash?) and was still too dense for us. But, again, it was probably just my poor baking skills that made it turn out the way it did! I'll probably try again and see if it improves and I'll let you know! It was very easy to make, though, and the instructions were clear and easy to follow, so thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2007

      KC, oh my, this bread is absolutely wonderful, the best. My husband said I could stop looking because this is it! I think I am in trouble because he will want this everyday. I even messed up and added twice the amount of oil, I guess I would do it again considering how great it turned out. I used roasted garlic olive oil. I also wanted to add some parmesean cheese, but forgot. I am glad I forgot because I thankful to have it just how it is and now I can experiment a little (not that it needs it at all). Thank you so much - I am keeping my eye on all of your posts for bread! **I meant to add that I used my kitchenaid mixer and here's what I did...I mixed the yeast and warm water together and let sit for 5 or so minutes, until it became foamy. Then I added the brown sugar, oil and salt and mixed that up. Then I added 2 cups of the flour and mixed and then I changed to the dough hook and mixed in the rest of the flour a 1/4 cup at a time. Then I kneaded in the mixer for 8 minutes. Then I continued with your instructions starting in step 3. I also did, like someone else said and just did the second rise directly on the baking pan and I skip the cornmeal. Thanks again for this delicious bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2006

      This is an exceptional tasting bread. It is very easy to make. Will continue using this recipe very often. Edith

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      Excellent bread. I followed the bread instructions exactly with the exception that I did not use the egg wash, just sprayed with Pam for a safter crust. Easy and there was none left after dinner. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      Delicious! The first time, I followed the recipe and didn't have any leftover to share with a friend. :) I made it again last night, substituting one cup whole wheat flour for the white and baked one big loaf in a loaf pan... It turned out GREAT... I will quit my search for a good sandwich bread recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2005

      This was wonderful! I don't have a bread machine so I just mixed it togetherand kneaded it for about 10 minutes before letting it rise the first time. I also just placed my formed loaves onto my baking sheet, eliminating a step. They turned out fantastic--I like that it was sort of dense and had a chewy crust. This is a new staple for my house! I bet this would make great french toast as well!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      KC I made this using my KA mixer. I was trying to come up with a clone of this fantastic asiago bread a local bakery chain carries. Man, this recipe is fabulous...I added 1 1/2 cups of grated asiago cheese and 1/4 tsp of garlic powder to the dough. Just before baking and after doing the egg wash and cut, I topped both loaves with grated asiago cheese....of course I had to bake them in my newly acquired chicgo metallic nonstick perforated french loaf pan :-) When DH tasted it he said...what Pandera bakery? This is better! Thanks for sharing...great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Very Best Italian Bread!

    Serving Size: 1 (933 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1033.2
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    46%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 1790.5 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 204.0 g
    68%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 7.5 g
    30%
    Protein 30.0 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites