27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the best Italian Bread. I will never buy another loaf in the store. Easy and delicious, thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joe's Chef March 21, 2011

My oh my this is some great bread! I made it to have with some homemade soup for dinner. Great heated in the oven then slathered with butter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluEyedCookette February 20, 2011

I made this last night and it came out AMAZINGLY! I don't have a bread maker so I made it by hand and used quick-rise yeast. I made one loaf of bread with sesame seeds on top (sprinkled on after the egg wash) and then I made breadsticks with the rest! The breadsticks were long and narrow; before cooking I brushed with the egg-wash and sprinkled with kosher salt. Immediately when they came out of the oven, I brushed them again but this time with melted butter - it tasted wonderful! I'll add the pictures.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shalalala September 30, 2010

Very Nice! I used my Kitchen-Aid rather than a bread machine, and slid the loaves onto a hot stone-2 beautiful loaves later-I'm a happy Camper! Lovely flavor, slightly chewy which will also make for great grilled bread! Thanks for Posting, Di ;-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's April 28, 2010

The bread had a really nice crispy crust on it due to the egg wash. I took the suggestion of several other chefs and put the loaves on a cookie sheet sprinkled with cornmeal that way I didn't have to move them to a cookie sheet later on in step 13 (skipping step 11 &12) and it worked out perfectly. Each loaf was slightly less than 1 pound.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon December 21, 2009

OK. I messed up. I was in a hurry and I added the egg into the liquid. :( What to do... I thought for a second then decided to go ahead with the recipe. The dough was a dream to work with even with the extra egg. I decided to make 8 sandwich rolls out of the dough which I might add is the perfect size. I also did everything by hand too. I baked it at 375 for 20 minutes. Wow...Wow...Wow, the rolls came out golden brown, crusty, and the crumb is light and slightly chewy but so soft. What a keeper recipe even with my screw up. This is a keeper recipe for sure. The next time I will do it without the egg to see if there is a difference. Thanks for sharing such a wonder bread recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB December 20, 2009

This is a very good basic bread recipe that is easy to do. I skipped step 5 and just sprinkled the baking sheet with cornmeal. I also made 3 diagonal cuts across the top because I think it is prettier. hehe I also put a pan of water in the oven when the bread was baking. Next time I think I'm going to add some fresh rosemary and cheese the last 15 minutes of baking to change things up a bit. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jencathen December 18, 2009

This bread is awsome. We have made six loaves so far and each one gets better and better. We don't own a bread machine so we took the advice of HeidiSue's review and made our bread that way with our Kitchen Aid.We've made buns with the bread,garlic bread,cin rolls,pepperoni rolls its all been great. WE got to go get some more flour to make some more bread. lol Thank you for the recipe.!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Golfgirl131 September 13, 2009

I have to agree with everyone else, this bread is super delicious! I love the crusty outside and nice tender insides. I made garlic bread to go with our lasagna and it was eaten so fast it was all gone before the end of the meal. It's a good thing it made 2 loaves!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaThurston67 January 31, 2009
The Very Best Italian Bread!