14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, this was really good and easy too! I cut the recipe in half because I was just making it for my 1 daughter. I heated 1.25c of milk, added .25c of half and half, then added the other .25 of half and half to the half of dry ingredients. I used my dutch process cocoa, which I'm sure helped with the nice rich flavor. I like this recipe because it uses cocoa powder vs. chocolate. I always have the ingredients on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three January 24, 2015

Made as a treat for myself when I was not feeling my best and it was so enjoyable. I loved that this is not overly sweet and really gives a punch of chocolate! It was a knock-out for me! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom January 28, 2012

Can get drunk on this stuff, but liquor is quicker. :-) Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng December 28, 2010

Sweet creamy goodness is the best way to describe this tasty hot chocolate. Made cutting it down to a single serving and enjoyed every sip. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl November 27, 2010

I made this to have with my breakfast this morning and it was delicious. It wasn't as sweet as I would have liked but the chocolate flavour was great and the whipping cream gave it that richness which I love. I used dream whip for the whipped cream topping and I really liked that added touch. I don't usually have whipped cream topping with my hot chocolate but I think I will be using it often now! I cut this down to one serving just for myself. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made for Sweet Traditions Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. April 28, 2010

I loved this!! It was just sweet enough and very creamy. I liked that it tasted like an "original" hot chocolate and not heated chocolate milk. Thanks so much!! Will be made again and again.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris January 03, 2010

Mmm...this made a lovely, thick cup of comforting cocoa this morning. It only took 5 minutes to make as I reduced the recipe down to one serving, heated the milk and cream in the microwave, and used canned whipped cream for the topping. After tasting, I added half again more sugar, but that's just personal preference. Thank you student chef for a wonderful recipe, I will definitely be making this again, please see my rating system. Edited to say I've already made this again, it's a true keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 11, 2009

I made this for my son. He said it was like drinking a brownie! He loved it! Made this for Everyday is a Holiday tag game! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom December 06, 2008

Nice and chocolaty but not too sweet. It was good made with milk and could only have been better if I'd had the cream to use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3KillerBs December 06, 2008
The Very Best Hot Chocolate