13 Reviews

Very Easy!! I rolled the dough out and cut cookies. I only had to dust flour on the dough and rolling pin - no refrigeration needed. I was done in an hour! And they taste great! I cut rectangles and sandwiched them with Nutella. Little chocolate sandwiches in an hour. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The science lady September 09, 2007

These are the BEST!! I made this recipe for use with Cookie-Crust Lemon Bars instead of refrigerated sugar cookie dough, I made the leftover dough up as cookies and are they ever GOOD!! These will definitely get made again - very good, very easy. I didn't use the almond extract but will probably try it next time. Thanks for posting this Kittencal, it's a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* September 07, 2007

It was 4:00 pm and I wanted a cookie! I had these done and cooling before 5:00. They are crunchy and buttery, just perfect. In used lemon extract instead of almond and rolled them in some colored sugar. My family thinks I have made them a special treat and does not suspect that my motive was completely selfish. Don't tell them!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
martha m May 27, 2007

It's not really news to rate a Kittencalskitchen recipe 5 stars. This just happened to be what I was exactly looking for. I wanted flavorful drop cookies (as opposed to something you roll out and cut into shapes) that has great flavor and texture. I rolled them in red sugar since its February but I doubt that even one of these cookies with see the 14th of the month. It's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ February 03, 2013

Really great taste and chewy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy BC November 16, 2011

Easy and delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos May 01, 2011

The cookies tasted great but mine turned out kind of flat and unappealing. I tried to compensate by making some buttercream frosting and sprinkling sprinkles over them to add a bit more demention. Like I said, they tasted great but it looked funny and not perfect little round cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kawaiiglo December 08, 2007

I find this one hard to rate. Going by exactly what the stars meant, I liked it (3), DH loved it (4). Apart from the nice taste, I had a few problems. As an unexperienced cookie maker, I would have liked better clearer directions. How small do you need these balls to be? I assumed approximately an inch in diameter. Also, how far apart should these be placed from each other? I again assumed an inch. Bad mistake. My first batch (the majority of the cookies) spread out into one big cookie that I had to tear apart. None ended up round because of the crowding. Also, the timing here was given as 8-10 minutes or golden. Mine weren't golden at 10, so I left them in for another minute or so, and when I tasted them, some were way overcooked (they had a hollow center), and others (larger ones) were not as crumbly - these were the one's DH liked most. I actually preferred the texture of the overcooked since it was crumblier. For an impatiet person wanting cookies in a jiffy, even the inexperienced can get this done, but results will vary with skill and background knowledge of making cookies - both of which I don't have in this department, and better instructions would be helpful. Gave a 4 because I heavily took into consideration DH's liking. From me, it's a 3. Overall, thanks for a nice tasting cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AniSarit December 03, 2007

These sugar cookies were good, and cuz they were so easy and quick like a previous comment made I rated them with 4. Not outstanding, but would make a great base to add some spices for spice cookies! Ours are orange pumpkin with chocolate chip faces!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trish Za Dish October 23, 2007
The Ultimate Sugar Cookies