Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake

    Average Rating:

    229 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 229

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2010

    • on December 30, 2009

      OMGosh! The best Strawberry Shortcake ever in my life, and it's so easy! Will be using again in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      AMAZING! I LOVE this! I have made this several times now! One little extra thing I do- I mash half of the strawberries into a syrup! YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

    • on October 13, 2009

      Lovely! The only thing I did differently was to add 1 TBL Grand Marnier (orange liqueur) to the strawberries and slice them thinly so that they stretched a bit further. We found this a bit on the sweet side, but that was probably due to the pre-made angel food cake. Next time I will only use 1/2 cup 10x sugar. This "shortcake" method would also be excellent with peaches and cinnamon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      I made this for my family this week. They loved the taste of the shortcake with the strawberries. Great variation on the theme. Love the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      What else is there to say??? Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2009

      Great tasting, easy to make! I didn't have frozen whipped topping, but the stuff in the can worked just as well. Also, I used Splenda and it was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      WOW!!!!!!! We loved this I made it for the 4th and it was a big hit.I think next time I'll use a smaller pan as I like my cake a little thicker.Thanx for sharing!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2009

      This is by far the best recipe I've used for strawberry shortcake! It is pretty rich, so even though my family loved it there was some left over the next morning for me to take to work. Score! It's nice to have such a wonderful non-cooking summer dessert recipe. I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Luscious. After reading every (yes every 171 of them!) reviews this is what I did. I pretty much stayed to the recipe; my changes were minor. I only found a 12 oz angel food cake so there was less cake to cream mixture which worked out just fine. I added another 2 cups of strawberries and kept the same amount of sugar; my strawberries were local and extremely sweet. I thought the amount of strawberries was just about perfect; it could have used maybe even a cup more. I used the creamy cool whip. I ripped my cake up in large chunks. When I make it again I'll add a few more strawberries & keep everything else the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      this is my new favorite summer recipe. Made this for a cookout this weekend and everyone raved. I did change a couple little things. As another reviewer suggested, I added the cheesecake flavored pudding into the mix, and I used 2 cool whip containers, one regular, one french vanilla. Thisones a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Excellent and easy! I took the comments and went one step further. Not only did I not mix the cake in the whipped topping mixture, but since I knew there was no way that my husband and I could eat the whole cake in one evening (and I wanted the cake to stay not-soggy), I spread the whipped topping only on individual pieces of the cake before I topped it with the sweetened strawberries. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      This was very good! I took a page from others and left the cake whole and covered it in the cream cheese/whipped topping mixture. Came out great! I waited until right before serving to top with strawberries so that it did not turn mushy. Next time, I may add an envelope of sugar free white chocolate pudding to the cream cheese/whipped topping mixture. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      I thought this was pretty good. I made it as stated combining cubes of angel food with the cream cheese filling. I used light cream cheese and cool whip. Friends and DH really liked it. I thought the consistency was a little odd. I wanted to layer it, but I cooked my AF cake in a round pan, and served in 9x13 so I had to cut it up. It wasn't very pretty and the juicy strawberries started to make it look nasty very quickly. Next time I will layer incredients, probably keeping the cake whole and add some vanilla to the cream cheese mixture. I thought it needed a little something. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Wow, there's no kidding about the title of this recipe-this is the BEST strawberry shortcake my husband and I have ever had! Because of some of the prior comments on presentation, I also left the angel food cake whole (instead of cutting it into cubes) and spread the topping over it. The end result was lovely and made for such a delicious dessert! The cream cheese/powdered sugar/Cool Whip topping is unbelievable and it pairs so well with the sweet strawberries and light-as-air cake. I can't wait to make this one again-I'm sure it'll be on a pretty regular rotation around here! =) Thank you for the terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I made this for my Mother on Valentine's Day. I used a sugar sub., fat free cream cheese and a sugar free angel food cake - I didn't know they made it. My Mother loved as did our company. I will be making this again. It just sort of melted in your mouth. Thanks for the great recipe....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      This was good- a different change of pace from regular shortcake. Everyone in the family really enjoyed it and we will make it again. Changes: Next time I'll use less sugar on the strawberries, maby only 1/4 cup. I layerd sliced strawberries. I layered sliced strawberries (w/o sugar on them) between two layers. I think more of the cake mixture would be nicer next time. Oh- and we used strawberry cool whip which went great with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2008

      Great recipe! I didn't like how tall it was (about an inch high) once you spread it in the pan) and my husband said the cake mixture reminded him of someone chewing it up and spitting it out. So the next time I just made a regular buttered pound cake (the light & fluffy boxed kind) I baked it in a regular cake pan. When it was cooled I spread the layer of cream cheese mixture on top and topped with the fresh strawberries. It came out much prettier and neater. This is the best strawberry shortcake recipe by far. The flavors are excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      DEEEEEEEEElicious! I made on old fashioned biscuits that I had left over. We just adored this Yum-O dessert! It's headed to my favorites right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Ultimate Strawberry Shortcake

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 296.8
     
    Calories from Fat 103
    35%
    Total Fat 11.5 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 20.8 mg
    6%
    Sodium 235.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 35.5 g
    142%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites